currypuff 5th Gear November 5, 2017 Share November 5, 2017 Just saw a doc... Part of the medication he prescribed was leftose = $7.49 for 10tabs. Before that i went guardian and bought it at $6plus for 30 tabs. Walau eh... 300% mark up sia... And thats excluding consulation fees... If i know I would had told him no need that medicine. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 5, 2017 Share November 5, 2017 (edited) LoL...this kinda thread also can post. I think our life haven't reach this stage of boring yet. Thanks but no thanks. Keep this to yourself. Same thing when you eat out. You might as well go home and do the cooking yourself and save all that you can save. The whining is never ending. Edited November 5, 2017 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleAtas Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Less den $10 also wallet hurts? Wah lau. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Just saw a doc... Part of the medication he prescribed was leftose = $7.49 for 10tabs. Before that i went guardian and bought it at $6plus for 30 tabs. Walau eh... 300% mark up sia... And thats excluding consulation fees... If i know I would had told him no need that medicine. Claim from office? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
golden_eagle 2nd Gear December 2, 2017 Share December 2, 2017 Learn to reduce living cost. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
racergem 1st Gear December 9, 2017 Share December 9, 2017 That sucks man. Better start eating organic produce. That can help a lot with minimizing doctor's visit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WoShiXiaoLe January 13, 2018 Share January 13, 2018 how much? wallet hurts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 13, 2018 Share January 13, 2018 Doctors should only prescribe and pharmacies should dispense. No conflict of interest for doctors to sells you drugs you don't need or same meds at a higher price. Will also stop medical reps camping at clinics pushing drugs we don't need. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 (edited) Doctors should only prescribe and pharmacies should dispense. No conflict of interest for doctors to sells you drugs you don't need or same meds at a higher price. Will also stop medical reps camping at clinics pushing drugs we don't need. No conflict of interest but things may not be cheaper. A doctor may choose to earn less for consultation because he knows he will earn from sale of medicine. In your scenario, a doctor may charge more for consultation cos he needs to earn a specific amount and then the pharmacist will also charge more for the required profit. But yeah there will be no conflict of interest and the doctor will have no incentive to push expensive meds to you. But might not be cheaper. @uncleatas, some people lose 10 cents also wallet pain. Edited January 15, 2018 by Philipkee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 No conflict of interest but things may not be cheaper. A doctor may choose to earn less for consultation because he knows he will earn from sale of medicine. In your scenario, a doctor may charge more for consultation cos he needs to earn a specific amount and then the pharmacist will also charge more for the required profit. But yeah there will be no conflict of interest and the doctor will have no incentive to push expensive meds to you. But might not be cheaper. @uncleatas, some people lose 10 cents also wallet pain. I will be happy to pay more for consultation if the doctor is not pushiing me meds I don't need especially antibiotics. But that's just me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 (edited) I will be happy to pay more for consultation if the doctor is not pushiing me meds I don't need especially antibiotics. But that's just me. once i had some rashes ... went to see the GP at my place ... Dr prescribed some antibiotics .... $180 !! i told him to just issue me the prescription and i will find the meds myself. my sis who works at hospital got it for me at staff price for about $20+ !! Edited January 15, 2018 by Ysc3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 This is the US model lor. Not cheap. UK models also like that. Consultation free... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 UK models also like that. Consultation free... liddat UK is better than MY liow ... coz MY polyclinic is $1 for consultation ... but their meds are also cheap lah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 liddat UK is better than MY liow ... coz MY polyclinic is $1 for consultation ... but their meds are also cheap lah ... UK spend alot of their national health care. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic January 15, 2018 Share January 15, 2018 Why you didn't go to the doctor that is covered by the company expenses? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged January 16, 2018 Share January 16, 2018 Why you didn't go to the doctor that is covered by the company expenses? my company champion !! no matter what dr you see, max can claim is $35 !! my last visit to the polyclinic ... after collecting my diabetes and HBP meds .... $128 ... same, claim $35 only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 16, 2018 Share January 16, 2018 my company champion !! no matter what dr you see, max can claim is $35 !! my last visit to the polyclinic ... after collecting my diabetes and HBP meds .... $128 ... same, claim $35 only. some company even lower, and a capped amount for whole year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged January 16, 2018 Share January 16, 2018 (edited) Many years back i was in hdb and went to pte clinic all the time. More convenient but wallet pain. Then i moved and discovered a nearby polyclinic. With online appointment its very convenient and efficient, and much cheaper. As i'm usually just there for the meds it didnt really bother me to be seen by fresh grads, pinoys etc. Wallet painkiller. Edited January 16, 2018 by Karoon ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...