Ender Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 if take up nus high offer, and qualify for rjc through points, can swap? This cannot be done. Once take up DSA CO, the student is committed to NUSH for it's programme. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 Once accepted via DSA by a secondary school, no changing of school allowed even if actual scores are better or worse. BTW, RJC doesn't exist anymore. It's now called Raffles Institution (same name as the secondary school). thanks This cannot be done. Once take up DSA CO, the student is committed to NUSH for it's programme. i c i c... .looks like a bit of gambling is required then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 @karoon, since cannot change school already, just tell your... nephew to make the most of it. NUS high is not a bad school and may even allow your nephew to get into the desired course in NUS next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 (edited) my... ermmm... nephew already got nus high thru dsa... now dad thinks he may not like it as its too academic (and nearly all the olympiad trophies on display have chinaboy names) wishes he go rjc instead... more holistic but for some reason din qualify for rjc through DSA if take up nus high offer, and qualify for rjc through points, can swap? or if give up nus high but din excel for psle, then miss out on nus high,and rjc... might not be a bad thing, but also not good... tomorrow must decide. NUSH is really for the cream in academic, if he can tahan the stress, sld go. But they dont do "O" and "A" levels, they do a diploma at the end of the 6th year, so if cannot make it is all time wasted. Highest qualification become PSLE. But then again, I have not heard of any drop outs, and tiagong that 100% make it to NUS. This one is tiagong not I gong. Edited November 2, 2017 by Tianmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 Maybe those have spoilt the market.. I could see how disappointed and in disbelief my wife and kid were. Told them just use his ability in PSLE loh. Crossing fingers at month end.. sometimes may be a good thing, it could be fated that he doesnt go via DSA, his result mayb so good that DSA become a wrong move. Who knows, this ancient may fire him up to prove the school wrong in not granting him DSA admission. Believe in your child!!! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 Wah.....reading all the atas school you all apply for yiur children is jin stress! Not necessarily.... Some people are just more academically inclined. Know a few people who went to top JCs. No stress. And they are not secretly mugging kind.... Just last minute studying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 @karoon, since cannot change school already, just tell your... nephew to make the most of it. NUS high is not a bad school and may even allow your nephew to get into the desired course in NUS next time. this one is an understatement bro!!! It is 100% DSA, even you score 270 in PSLE also need to appeal if you want to study there after PSLE release. I tiagong 100% got a place in NUS after they completed the 6 years course there. Not a bad school? It is a farking good school. But seem like they dont produce politicians, want join politics better go to RI. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 this one is an understatement bro!!! It is 100% DSA, even you score 270 in PSLE also need to appeal if you want to study there after PSLE release. I tiagong 100% got a place in NUS after they completed the 6 years course there. Not a bad school? It is a farking good school. But seem like they dont produce politicians, want join politics better go to RI. How to tell if they produce politicians or not when they are so new? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 NUSH is really for the cream in academic, if he can tahan the stress, sld go. But they dont do "O" and "A" levels, they do a diploma at the end of the 6th year, so if cannot make it is all time wasted. Highest qualification become PSLE. But then again, I have not heard of any drop outs, and tiagong that 100% make it to NUS. This one is tiagong not I gong. That is one reason, I recommend parents and sutdent go to open house. Put those tiagong one into real answers by asking hard questions to the principal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 How to tell if they produce politicians or not when they are so new? yah, true also, only 12 years old school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 this one is an understatement bro!!! It is 100% DSA, even you score 270 in PSLE also need to appeal if you want to study there after PSLE release. I tiagong 100% got a place in NUS after they completed the 6 years course there. Not a bad school? It is a farking good school. But seem like they dont produce politicians, want join politics better go to RI. bff, your son dsa there is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 this one is an understatement bro!!! It is 100% DSA, even you score 270 in PSLE also need to appeal if you want to study there after PSLE release. I tiagong 100% got a place in NUS after they completed the 6 years course there. Not a bad school? It is a farking good school. But seem like they dont produce politicians, want join politics better go to RI. haha yes i got support from you bro! your tiagong kangtao makes NUS High sound so good. then should be happy that the nephew got a place there 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 bff, your son dsa there is it? no lor, I applied for him to take the test, he go tell his classmates that his father is crazy to ask him try NUS High. But he still went for the test, didnt make it to stage 2 tho. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 no lor, I applied for him to take the test, he go tell his classmates that his father is crazy to ask him try NUS High. But he still went for the test, didnt make it to stage 2 tho. Heard that NUS high is math centric?Are they adequate in other areas? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 Not necessarily.... Some people are just more academically inclined. Know a few people who went to top JCs. No stress. And they are not secretly mugging kind.... Just last minute studying i dont mean the students....but as a parent.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 this one is an understatement bro!!! It is 100% DSA, even you score 270 in PSLE also need to appeal if you want to study there after PSLE release. I tiagong 100% got a place in NUS after they completed the 6 years course there. Not a bad school? It is a farking good school. But seem like they dont produce politicians, want join politics better go to RI. Maybe academics don't play political games Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 Heard that NUS high is math centric? Are they adequate in other areas? The full name is "NUS high, school of math & science". Very math and science focus, but they do humans, music and arts also, but very math and science focus. I think students who end up there are very bright and fast learners, have no worries about the humans and arts subjects. I think the more concern is can the child take the pace and pressure there. Even before he knew his test result, my son and his 2 classmates already decided even if can get in also pass, they didnt like it there. End up only one make it to stage 2. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 2, 2017 Share November 2, 2017 Maybe academics don't play political games ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...