Lala81 Hypersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 (edited) Hi, sure The most important step to nice loh bak is the cut of the meat, too lean cannot, too fat not nice, the thickness is important too Choose a nice cut, see this pic Marinate with wu xiang fen and salt overnight, add rock sugar, sugar and dark soya sauce, cinnamon sticks, cloves, star anise, galangal, ginger Put in pressure cooker and braised I dont usually cook with measurements, all agar agar de how much dark soya sauce agar u put. oh u blanched before u put inside pressure cooker. i will sear before i put inside. But maybe it affects the taste penetration of the braising. Mine is combined with some techniques from western stew making. Edited October 26, 2017 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 How come not discussed if marrying for love or lust? Love can (unfortunately) draw wool over the beholder's eyes at that moment in time. If marrying for lust, don't waste time. During my schooling days, remembered a psychologist gave a talk to my group. To know if it's love or lust, lock the couple in a room together for 3 days. If can abstain from sex for that period of time, then it is love. Not sure if he was full of shit. So many men complain no sex after marriage so it must be love. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 Better get one who knows how to converse and write in English and have academic qualification that Singapore govt recognise or else the most she will ever get is a social visit pass and never a PR/c'ship. Many S'porean men with foreign wives cannot get pass this hurdle. Cannot get bto flat, cannot this cannot that. Even the almighty MP also cannot help these group of ppl. Even if the foreign wife give birth to a boy who will eventually serve NS also dun auto qualify her with a PR/c'ship. I thought this is some kinda issue that TV has talked about? Better think it thru first.Add on...If wife run road with your child back to their village you don't has custody over your child. She can still file for divorce with our stupid woman charter and entitle to half your asset. To top it up..husband in spore still need to pay monthly maintenance for the kid. My take...want to drink foreign milk just go over to that country. Why want to bring the cow over back to singapore. Get marriage in that country. Has babies there. A house there. Monthly just fly over for a short get away. Back in Singapore still can surf Jason thread. Hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 wow ... you must be psychic !! like this also can guess i am hainanese descent ?? anyway, it was 菜篮 or something - the food critic that said in a tv program that hainanese chicken rice originated form Singapore ! Hainan is famous for the wenchang chicken, hele crab, dongshan mutton and jiaji duck - nothing about rice. but if anyone were to think that the streets will be full of the above, then think again ... it all depends on your budget. when i went there, when i had the opportunity, i went to KFC and the cafes there for a steak - damn worth it !! No lah. There was a discussion on Hainan Island thread previously. I remember some of you mah. I know @uncle2 and @picnic06-biante15 are hainanese too. I'm not 100% sure about Jman888, Ender or meanmachine I think they are too. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 No lah. There was a discussion on Hainan Island thread previously. I remember some of you mah. I know @uncle2 and @picnic06-biante15 are hainanese too. I'm not 100% sure about Jman888, Ender or meanmachine I think they are too. i am 100% pure hainanese from both hainanese parents 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 i am 100% pure hainanese from both hainanese parents Hainan Ah Kor .... morning .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 Hainan Ah Kor .... morning .. morning! just had breakfast at purvist street coffee shop and speak to the owner in hainanese, long time never practice finally get to speak once in a while when in come here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 morning! just had breakfast at purvist street coffee shop and speak to the owner in hainanese, long time never practice finally get to speak once in a while when in come here you don't have a hainanese nose though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 Add on... If wife run road with your child back to their village you don't has custody over your child. She can still file for divorce with our stupid woman charter and entitle to half your asset. To top it up..husband in spore still need to pay monthly maintenance for the kid. My take...want to drink foreign milk just go over to that country. Why want to bring the cow over back to singapore. Get marriage in that country. Has babies there. A house there. Monthly just fly over for a short get away. Back in Singapore still can surf Jason thread. Hahahaha So it's considered as marriage in another country? Is the Singaporean going to be implicated by the tax laws there if he/she gets the foreign marriage certificate? i am 100% pure hainanese from both hainanese parents Rare breed for those Singaporean Hainanese who can still speak Hainanese. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 You sure they are looking for a husband ? .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 You sure they are looking for a husband ? .. T&C ......1.... 2.... 109. Preference will be given if own an airline. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 Actually many years ago I did volunteer work in borneo. Life was peaceful there. Thought of just settling there except during the haze months. Might visit there again. The girls there are homely but yeah no flirting. It's conservative there. Considered Burmese but there is language barrier. At least for indonesia I know a bit of bahasa Indonesia. At least won't starve to death. Burma i can just die on the streets.... Think visiting on a trip versus staying there on a longer-term really different de 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 Rare breed for those Singaporean Hainanese who can still speak Hainanese. me too ! me too ! but note that SG spoken Hainanese is quite different from spoken Hainan island hainanese. here, the language is already rojak ... in Hainan, its still rooted in Chinese. was a bit of a culture shock for me too when they could not understand me fully there. i am 100% pure hainanese from both hainanese parents my son is too .... what about you ?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 me too ! me too ! but note that SG spoken Hainanese is quite different from spoken Hainan island hainanese. here, the language is already rojak ... in Hainan, its still rooted in Chinese. was a bit of a culture shock for me too when they could not understand me fully there. my son is too .... what about you ?! hard lah, come to our generation very difficult to have same dialect group marriage liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 I'm thinking practical - their motive to marry local ? Willing to share weak n woe ? Marry them = marry entire family? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 (edited) I know of one guy who married ah tiong bu . . . every few months both go back china eat dog meat. Edited October 26, 2017 by Count-Bracula 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged October 26, 2017 Share October 26, 2017 Hainanese language in China was derived from Hokkien, in Singapore like other dialects we are mixed up with other Chinese dialects + English, Malay dialects and Indian dialects. I think only Teochew in Swatow is more similar to Singapore Teochew, because the ratio of Singapore migrant workers from the city was very high, and they've brought back influences. Some words like roti they understand. I dunno about hokkien ...any purebloods here ?? I asked my colleagues here ... how do they say "sun" in hokkien ? they will say "jit tao" literally translated to mandarin is "日头“? but in mandarin, its "tai yang 太阳". in Hainan its "tai yang" also ... but here in SG my family says "jit tao" also. Cantonese is similar "tai yong". ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...