Game Over: LTA cuts vehicle growth rate to 0

flashbang

Check your notice board. See what time your MP deciding to grace your RC and see if you can get an audience with him/her lor.

LOL

Or you can come meet me and I buy you a nice cup of kopi/teh and we talk about cars.

My wife actually suggest we go see MP. But I ask if it is necessary for 350 dollars. Anyway......reported police for almost 3 years liao.

Just that I am always away and I can understand one. 2 weeks ago. My new car also kena hit and run again. This time got no cam around except car cam. See how I responded in the Lexus thread.

I am really patient liao. I know when to make noise and when not to.....but after all these. I really cannot see eye to eye with someone that cannot realise his problem.......our Gahmen need to wake up and do better. No need for me to take on them. Cos if they continue. I still live my life. But for others and those badly affect. They will see the swing next round. I am stating fact. Maybe speaking here is nothing but if no one admit, it will spread. Speaking from the heart of many. No prejudice.

Bro Terrylmt, if ever we have time and I am in town. I am pro SGP and a proud one. I speak facts and no biase. It will be good. I into cameras, fishing, not too much about cars and also not watches like bro throttle :b......we will meet someday. Cheers

Will do. Be safe, be well, and take care.

My watches pics all from internet, i toapow one lah. Paiseh paiseh

Wah,here we go again. Like that if continue. We got no say or cannot voice out liao. I keep saying they must be faster, if not what are the milloins paid for but just no reply leh. Really there are some flaws or quite a fair bit of them. But no admission or what so ever.......just like my car being hit in the MSCP with all the cams.....no response. Ask them le, Is it bcos no one die. They keep quiet.....how to expect us not to grumble and complain? But so far I just highlight....these guys are lagging. Some more tell us to be patience. Wanna till we kena overtake meh?

try this. Email the authority with the same report number and CC the coordinating minister.

Works for me and very prompt reply.

Problem with what you are experiencing is something like the no man's land syndrome.

You compliant on Car noisy to LTA, LTA re direct you to NEA. in between it falls off the gap. When they actually look at it, everything already over. And you have a serious after the fact issue.

I was approached by the neighbourhood post station. This one true story.

And they call my handphone. My initial impression is Scam. But they say they will write me an email as well as made a validation call to confirm who they say they are.

All well and good. So I ask what is this all about. The SO mention that they need to get my car / video feed. 

I ask, why? The response is we cannot share with you the infor.

I say fine. But if you need to pick the video cam, you need to see me in person in uniform and give me a receipt .

They say sure.

When they arrived, I ask again what is this all about.?

They mention 2 weeks ago there was an incident and need my recording.

Obviously, the card may have being overwritten liao. I told them, but they still say need the card. 

I supposed its the tick in the box syndrome. Nike Just do it - is not meant to be use that way. Its to get people from procrastination

After 2 weeks you look for me ?

isnt it like after the fact ????

This kind of merry go round is quite unhealthy.

try this. Email the authority with the same report number and CC the coordinating minister.

Problem with what you are experiencing is something like the no man's land syndrome.

You compliant on Car noisy to LTA, LTA re direct you to NEA. in between it falls off the gap. When they actually look at it, everything already over. And you have a serious after the fact issue.

And they call my handphone. My initial impression is Scam. But they say they will write me an email as well as made a validation call to confirm who they say they are.

All well and good. So I ask what is this all about. The SO mention that they need to get my car / video feed. 

I say fine. But if you need to pick the video cam, you need to see me in person in uniform and give me a receipt .

They say sure.

Obviously, the card may have being overwritten liao. I told them, but they still say need the card. 

I supposed its the tick in the box syndrome. Nike Just do it - is not meant to be use that way. Its to get people from procrastination

Give them any old SD card lor.

They say sure.

Thanks Bro, Like I say, this has been years and I am not going after it anymore. I got police pushing me to go to town council get video and town council telling me without TP's investigating officer's request and so on and so on.

And I had deleted those photos for 2 years already. I just wanna highlight that things are not as before and things are getting from bad to worse. People should not be accepting inefficiency as we accepted the high salary not by choice. I move around from US to Europe and Asia countries and see a lot more. People are catching up and as a Singaporean with proud identity. I think I should voice up.

Here MCF are also part of tok kok and sharing and thus no holds on what's said. If need to voice up officially, I even sent official letter to STB and others. Mostly no reply is my disappointment as a concern proud Singaporean.

Thanks Bro, Like I say, this has been years and I am not going after it anymore. I got police pushing me to go to town council get video and town council telling me without TP's investigating officer's request and so on and so on.

And I had deleted those photos for 2 years already. I just wanna highlight that things are not as before and things are getting from bad to worse. People should not be accepting inefficiency as we accepted the high salary not by choice. I move around from US to Europe and Asia countries and see a lot more. People are catching up and as a Singaporean with proud identity. I think I should voice up.

Here MCF are also part of tok kok and sharing and thus no holds on what's said. If need to voice up officially, I even sent official letter to STB and others. Mostly no reply is my disappointment as a concern proud Singaporean.

China is fast catching up now.

If our civil servants hasn't wake up yet, jialat liao.

Do you mind starting your own thread to focus on that one topic you are trying to cultivate and to embed into average middle-aged chinese hypocrite complainers? Your theme is being repeated ad nauseam everywhere and most forumers are getting tired of it. I am sure you realize it as well, especially when many have started threads to redirect your energies. Please.... we are here to chill, not to listen to your incessant nagging (not saying you are wrong but it surely is an overdose), which many of us are getting free of charge from our wifey 24/7.

Giving you 5 dislikes for repeated OT.

@voodooman

just curious, do you also give 5 dislikes to all those posters that complain/blame  the 70% in almost every thread before cscbb turned up?

China is fast catching up now.

If our civil servants hasn't wake up yet, jialat liao.

It is not just China alone and China is coming up at a very fast pace. I think you are in Beijing and you can see that. I not only in Beijing alone. I move around in different provinces.

No doubt China will have it's flaws on certain things, but the question is we were ahead. How do we stay ahead to cope all these. From cost, quality and speed and better policies. Of cos not all polices are being made satisfied. But if it is an unpopular and good one. I will still support and spread the good words.

Car is always a want & not a need in Singapore.

If ppl is other more expensive city can live without car, why Singapore cannot?

Going out with a baby or children requires through planning on timing and things required.

In Singapore, a lot of ppl treat children like pets.  Most of the time children is raised by maids.

With the artificially inflated exorbitant cost of living in Singapore, most parents really do not have a choice. Cannot afford to have the mother stay at home to look after the children. 

I know of a couple who chose to hire a maid instead of placing their children in childcare as both work long hours and could not afford to leave the office at 6pm to fetch their children.

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/singapore-ranked-worlds-most-expensive-city-for-expats-for-4th-straight-year

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/parliament/zero-vehicle-growth-rate-will-not-affect-coe-prices-9378338?cid=FBcna

The decision to curb the car and motorcycle population in Singapore will not affect Certificate of Entitlement (COE) prices “significantly”, Senior Minister of State for Transport Lam Pin Min told Parliament on Monday
Read more at http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/parliament/zero-vehicle-growth-rate-will-not-affect-coe-prices-9378338

we shall see

Interesting read. Is a cash cow for the Gov, they wont scrap it away even it lost is initial meaning of having it in the 1st place.

The COE scheme was an old-world solution in the pre-digital age, even before Electronic Road Pricing was introduced.

It was revolutionary and daring at the time - a first in the world then. But it is now showing its age, like a vintage Volkswagen Beetle in the company of electric BMW i3s. There are many other solutions available today making use of the latest technology and business practices of the new economy which can offer commuters a wider range of choices.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/time-to-trade-in-coe-scheme-for-a-newer-model

Interesting read. Is a cash cow for the Gov, they wont scrap it away even it lost is initial meaning of having it in the 1st place.

The COE scheme was an old-world solution in the pre-digital age, even before Electronic Road Pricing was introduced.

It was revolutionary and daring at the time - a first in the world then. But it is now showing its age, like a vintage Volkswagen Beetle in the company of electric BMW i3s. There are many other solutions available today making use of the latest technology and business practices of the new economy which can offer commuters a wider range of choices.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/time-to-trade-in-coe-scheme-for-a-newer-model

you very selective leh

in the same article

Singapore should strive to be among the leading cities preparing for these changes. For example, it should encourage and promote companies developing car-sharing technologies here. This should include services like Uber and Grab and associated delivery services such as UberEATS and foodpanda.

Some of these changes will severely disrupt traditional taxi services and the livelihood of taxi drivers. But better to anticipate and prepare them for the transformation than to try to prevent the inevitable.

The taxi industry is in the dilemma all incumbents face when a disruptive competitor threatens - hold on to the old business for as long as possible or embrace the new technology now?

isn't this what the govt is allowing now?

What does it say ? To me, the manager or supervisor is not interested in solving the customer's problem, he blamed it on the postman who went on ICT. The postman had to come back from ICT to solve the problem himself. One can say this is just an isolated incident, but I say it reflects deeply much of the attitude of many such organization, and has nothing to do with high tech or not high tech.

Nothing new. Just look at how the Transport Minister pins the blame on SMRT when the floodgates at Bishan station opened  [laugh]

With the artificially inflated exorbitant cost of living in Singapore, most parents really do not have a choice. Cannot afford to have the mother stay at home to look after the children. 

I know of a couple who chose to hire a maid instead of placing their children in childcare as both work long hours and could not afford to leave the office at 6pm to fetch their children.

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/singapore-ranked-worlds-most-expensive-city-for-expats-for-4th-straight-year

Since everybody are grumbling about inflated exorbitant cost of living in Singapore, why do 1 choose this lifestyle?

Unlike pets, children needs parental guidance since young.

If 1 can't give this lifetime commitment, juz be DINK lo.

Nobody forces you to have kids what.

http://www.straitstimes.com/politics/parliament-zero-growth-for-car-and-motorcycle-population-will-not-majorly-affect-coe-prices

Parliament: Zero growth for car and motorcycle population will not majorly affect COE prices

SINGAPORE - The plan to reduce the growth rate of the car and motorcycle populations to zero from February (2018) is not expected to significantly impact the Certificate of Entitlement (COE) supply and its prices, said Senior Minister of State for Transport Lam Pin Min on Monday (Nov 6) in Parliament.

Besides the allowable vehicle growth rate, COE quota is calculated based on factors such as the number of vehicles that are scrapped, and adjustments to account for past over-projections, among other considerations.

Dr Lam said the quota, which is revised on a quarterly basis, is largely determined by the number of vehicles that are scrapped, or de-registered.

In general, COE supply goes up when more vehicles are de-registered, and goes down when fewer vehicles are de-registered.

MP Saktiandi Supaat (Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC) had asked about the impact of the move to reduce growth rate to zero, including whether the public transport system can handle the increased passenger load.

Dr Lam said the Government has made heavy investments to beef up bus and train services, and will continue to do so.

Eighty new bus routes and 1,000 new buses will be added to the roads by the end of this year, Dr Lam said, through the Bus Service Enhancement Programme which started in 2012, and subsequently the Bus Contracting Model, which took effect last year.

"There will be less need to own a car," he added.

Last month, the Government announced that the growth rate for three COE categories will be reduced from the current 0.25 per cent annually to zero, with effect from February 2018.

These are for categories A and B, which are used to purchase small and large cars respectively, and for category D, for motorcycles.

During Monday's sitting, MP Desmond Choo also asked how the Government will ensure that the changes in the vehicle population growth rates does not adversely impact e-commerce businesses.

Dr Lam said the Government has maintained the existing 0.25 per cent growth rate for commercial vehicles. This will last till the first quarter of 2021.

"This is to provide businesses with more time to improve the efficiency of their operations," he said.