Game Over: LTA cuts vehicle growth rate to 0

flashbang

No matter how much higher the cost of car ownership ia gonna be, Singaporean will still buy. The only time they will give up car ownership is when economy is real bad, as seen in the early 2000s. Those time, my house multi storey carpark was so empty. Can do without bread, cannot do without cars... New cars i mean

Actually disagree. Cos only once or twice the quota was greater than the number of bids iirc.

So even if car park is empty cannot be used to say no buyers for car. Only time we can say that is when quota is greater than the number of bidders for at least two consecutive bids.

Two cents.

this will never happen already

we got 5.6M population now and still growing

and we only got 600K+ cars

even SARS come Lehman come ... there are enough buyer to fill the quota every month

Actually disagree. Cos only once or twice the quota was greater than the number of bids iirc.

So even if car park is empty cannot be used to say no buyers for car. Only time we can say that is when quota is greater than the number of bidders for at least two consecutive bids.

Two cents.

Wanted to praise but dunno why I clicked reply

Mods can you help to delete this post? Paiseh paiseh

Look at the edits and give yourself another point of view.

I don't disagree with you that population growth cannot be zero. However it has to be controlled and be sustainable and not for the sake of making up numbers. Given the advancing technologies these days, technologies should be used to generate more income to support the poor, and should be used to take care of the elderly with the ease of technology. We cannot forever just depend on the next generation and burden their lives further to take care of the elderly, without using technologies to ease their burdens to generate more income and ease their tasks to take care of the older generations.

Is adding more people in the next generations going to work? How competitive will their job market like if there are too many of them and competing jobs with the newer era of technologies and AI? How much less they are going to enjoy in life as compared to our generations and even the previous generations have enjoyed, given that the planet will not expand in mass even if the global population continues to grow?

And if you have read about the trends of population growth for the past 200 years, you will know that even as recent as this decade, the global population growth doesn't really just depend on birth rates.

Overpopulation is a big problem.

Longevity is a curse.

High birth rates is a curse.

A planet that has a finite mass is also a curse.

Other species are also living here and yet we ignore.

If a greying population is really a big problem for our country, instead of burdening the next generation to pay more to take care of the greying population in the coming decades, why don't we slash the ministers' salaries by a million every year and contribute more money for them to their savings and medical accounts? These taxpayers' monies can really put into better use for more important problems like this.

Edited by Theoldjaffa

Bro, mark my this reply.

Reduce growth rate will not necessarily mean less traffic on the road or less jam, mainly because of these 2 reasons:

1) There are going to more PHV and car sharing, so the number of car on the road will be higher than before.

2) Government had said that they are going to reduce the % of land used for road, from current 12% to about 10% a couple of times in the recent years.

So net net, we shall see similar traffic conditions even with the growth rate in -ve region. Else government will loose a big chunk of revenue from ERP leh... Mark my word please.

1. Depends. Now the govt is complaining PHV is actually causing more congestion and pollution instead.

2. I will be happier if they decide to build roads underground and elevated with the past taxes we pay for cars for the past decades. Better than keep on adding lanes.

With possibly up to $100K COEs ... are you sure the same people will want to pay so much, to just renew their COEs to extend their 10-year old cars?

If COE goes up to above 100K, I will sell my small little car, use the money as down payment for a used Merc, and go back to paying installment. You mark my words.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Come on la guys.. MIW are just doing their job to maintain "The MOST EXPENSIVE CITY TO LIVE" for many good years to come.

When the time comes, just make sure u put your cross in the right box. :D

But but but ... to 70%, the right box will continue to be the right box leh!

Don't think so negatively lah....our govt won't kill our dreams of car-ownership. Why? Remember when COE went to $90K + in 2012, they sense that something is not right and started to restrict loan amount and tenure and COE went back to more realistic levels. Of cos there are other factors like slow property market, oil price crash etc that make our COE come down......however do bear in mind that with rising incomes, it is highly unlikely that we will ever see the COE crash......but our govt has spent so much $ to build the CCL, DTL, TEL MRT lines which until today still CMI.......so who is going to pay for it? Of cos the car owners are going to pay for even higher petrol, parking, parking fines, distance base billing etc....in short the costs of owning a car will 99.99% rise.....so let us pray that Singapore can keep our throne of being the most expensive place to own a car for decades to come (which only China can dethrone us of this title).....good luck!

If COE goes up to above 100K, I will sell my small little car, use the money as down payment for a used Merc, and go back to paying installment. You mark my words.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Considering that for the next car too.

Maybe 190E or W124 200E or R129 280SL. 

Yah, zero growth in new cars, means still selling new cars, and if you put all those used cars parked in that 5 level at mega mart on the road, you tell me got no more traffic jam?

We are only talking of 1 location of used cars hor.

What about those uber cars parked at big box? Put all those on the road and no more traffic jam?

Sld be NO MORE SHORT TRAFFIC JAMS, because the jams will be worse. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Used car dealers no stupid one!

When COE rises to $100K, their ex-stock used cars will also ask for higher price, with same magnitude margin increase hor

Considering that for the next car too.

Maybe 190E or W124 200E or R129 280SL. 

190E I own before liao, W124 200E I scare spare parts headache. I go for something a little not so retro better.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

190E good?

I lau nang in a few decades.

Lau nang hua lau chia.  :D

good point. must charge ABSD to dealer for not selling cars within 6 months ... property land banking ... dealer car banking and now waiting for coe to cheong [mad]

190E good?

I lau nang in a few decades.

Lau nang hua lau chia.  :D

you step it no go, but highway not bad. I personally wont take it again.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]