inlinesix Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Bro, I ever live in Tianjin for one year lah. I know how it is like. Worse when I go to Chengde. Cold till balls drop. Drink some Bai jiu is good. haha. It is not cold until you do road cycling in Winter. Going down mountain at 50+ km/h. That's fxxxing cold. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Lac lac lac... mai hot... 7 early 8 early only... today is a nice chilly (by Singapore standards) morning... JUst order your kopi si siew dai with your toast and lepak a bit... When i sibei sian, i will be hardworking here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 When are things in Singapore got free 1? Maybe in my dream. All garmen provided re-chargining infrastructure definitely need to pay 1. Somemore electric car will be penalised under new emission scheme BECAUSE OF POLLUTING POWER STATION. Your diesel analogy is wrong. If 1 drive more than 20k km per annum, the saving is more than enough to replace particulate filters. Somemore, not all particulate filters need to be replaced. GET YOUR FACTS CORRECT BEFORE TALK. you are right, If you drive the distance, particulate filters will not choke up and need replacement. There's also an indicator to chime you to run the engine to clear the filter. But not all cars are build the same. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 alamak ... i am a Frog ... how to jump out from the pot? lol stay there. i love frog leg porridge. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 It is not cold until you do road cycling in Winter. Going down mountain at 50+ km/h. That's fxxxing cold.Wahaha.....I not going to do that. Like I say. I beeter be dry swimming. I got gym too. So I think life no need to have that kind of suffering. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Wahaha.....I not going to do that. Like I say. I beeter be dry swimming. I got gym too. So I think life no need to have that kind of suffering. @davidtch is cycling enthusiast ma... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr8445r 5th Gear November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 ya no best world solution but when you say extend to 20 years, COE will go up , people will keep car longer, etc.. it was like the only world solution lol mai vote me lar, 1m not enough to forgo my privacy.... go ktv kang kor, or pi sai in car tio stomp, urgent want urine on grass patch also cannot.. damn cham leh Do u believe that those cheap cars e.g. Hyundai Avente which is bought at $40k+ , and is still around now, will be scrapped at 5 or 10 years if coe life has extended to 20 years instead? I believed they will still continue to drive after 10 years. What is the consequence on coe quota if these owners couldn't afford to pay for the current coe price to change car? By giving them opportunity in delaying on returning (scrap) their coe back to the coe quota pool, what will happen next? Lesser coe quota pool> price increase due storage of coe supply> resultant more ppls will hold on to their drive......and repeat the cycle which driven back on further reduction in coe quota pool...... It is a chain effect Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 re: ...definitely need to pay... Because singapore need to pay for the CNG to fire up the power plants, right? And it's not "penalised". You pay less tax because it pollute less, but you still use space on the roads. And if you buy luxury electric car brand, it's only fair to charge you more to hao lian, right? re: ...not all particulate filters need to be replaced... No, it's a case of which car distributor is withholding the truth. They don't say that all filters get less efficient very soon. Why defend car dealers when they are trying to steal more of your money? I say the LTA is right to tax more the early users of luxury electric cars. No sympathy for them because they are richies anyway. It is PNG and LNG that are powering Singapore power plants. I think what he meant by electric car will be penalised under new emission scheme BECAUSE OF POLLUTING POWER STATION is that LTA is "charging EVs all the way back to the power generation, while not doing the same for petrol vehicles." See link. It is an interesting argument. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/lta-fixes-emission-factor-for-electric-and-plug-in-hybrid-cars-8991738 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Author Share November 7, 2017 Unlike in corporation, I don't think ministers in singapore have bought their positions or attained their post through old-boys club. And they don't coast in their job. Unlike in corporations, their policies have to account for the betterment of multi-ethnic groups, while watching for signals being sent to other nations. I don't doubt they are always trying to improve singapore's opportunities, and not their own pocket. Besides, PSC, Admin Service and PMO don't just approach any dud. This is the hardest for the haters in this forum to swallow: the fact that the senior politicians were excellent in top schools and in their careers (and social/community work) before being asked to consider being a politician. I just got no respect for folks who are only average in their white-collar job and then make uninformed comments and find fault with ministers. How many of us senior workers can claim that everyday they have really made another's life better. For narrow scope of one's own family only, maybe. For the "luck" aspect, I don't see ministers cherry-picking issues to solve or policies which keep benefiting the rich only. Guess you're the top of the class elite guy who is qualified to come here to scold everyone else who are average performing peasants.... Even if politicians were excellent in their schools and jobs, if they cannot perform in their new job, then they have to go. Past performance is no excuse for present incompetence. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 You are making assumptions that extending COE to 20 years means it gets cheaper for those who keep the car longer. Whether this is your expectation or aspiration or imagination, sure it's one way for you think of it. Keeping a functional car in the market instead of turning it into scrap metal, doesn't mean it has to stay with one owner forever. Of course, if nothing else change and only extending COE tenure, this could happen. Fortunately we don't have an inflexible gahmen, it will be getting more expensive to put a car on the road as we will be progressing toward pay-per-use (ERP 2.0) rather than a fixed COE. I respect your right to hate the current gahmen policy, but this is the long term direction set by MOT and seems to make sense. Every policy has to balance many factors, and some may be achievable, some may be not and we have to look at both the positive and negative. Now how it will be executed in practice, that leaves for another discussion. Car warranty has never been anything to do with how long the car will lasts. 10-year warranty is very common in competitive markets like the US and China, but rarely offered in Singapore, 3 to 5 year is more common here. Is it because cars here are of inferior quality such that they can only last 3-5 years ? Will pay as you use work while the govt continues to extract 200-300% tax (including COE) on new private cars? I thought they have abandoned the usage model, hence they are capping quota. A while back, LTA installed a $2 ERP gantry near my place, traffic improved for like 3-4 months, then the jams returned, now they raised the ERP to $3, the traffic did not improve as the incremental is $1... Road pricing is not exactly working when car depreciation is $10-20k per year. Frog porridge, anyone? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Guess you're the top of the class elite guy who is qualified to come here to scold everyone else who are average performing peasants.... Even if politicians were excellent in their schools and jobs, if they cannot perform in their new job, then they have to go. Past performance is no excuse for present incompetence. Bro they are doing well, who say not doing well? Don't be unsatisfied and complain. I given up to response le. I give up. I really don't see a future if I meet another same type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 re: ...definitely need to pay... Because singapore need to pay for the CNG to fire up the power plants, right? And it's not "penalised". You pay less tax because it pollute less, but you still use space on the roads. And if you buy luxury electric car brand, it's only fair to charge you more to hao lian, right? re: ...not all particulate filters need to be replaced... No, it's a case of which car distributor is withholding the truth. They don't say that all filters get less efficient very soon. Why defend car dealers when they are trying to steal more of your money? I say the LTA is right to tax more the early users of luxury electric cars. No sympathy for them because they are richies anyway. If you check the new emission tax to be implemented, electric car pay more tax unfront. Not less. Users of electric vehicle is being penalised for govt using dirty power plant. If you gonna penalised early adopter, who gonna adopt & implement new things? If you say car dealers trying to steal more of your $$, go & self-import. See whether you are paying less or not Should be similar to snowboarding or skiing ? Must wear the right gear. Cycling is more complicated than snowboarding or skiing. If wear too many layers, going up mountain sibei hot. If wear too little layers, going down mountain sibei cold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 lesson i learn from many years working in asia conglomerate (note not american mnc) that even the govt in any asia country operate the same way (evil word is culture). there is always a top person/management or shareholders that decide everything, if you want change make your way to the top cos nothing will change if you cannot convince the top. Many of us in management thought we have achieve something in our career because we made changes that seem to be successful and think we can do the same in any place. The fact is how you manage the top and how in line your idea/suggestion/action plan with their agenda. Some try to propose 100 but only 1 get approve, even that is a success already. end of the day i want to say is whatever you do is just a matter of what the top what you to do. Same thing goes to the govt, everyone thought their idea can help the country, it doesn't matter as long as you are not in the team. All are just noise even you are a nobel prize winner. The top dun need the smartest people, they need someone who are in line with their culture. Want to make changes, first you need to be in that team, second you try for 10 years or even more to get your idea across, dun give up, then slowly you have the younger (same minded team) replace the outgoing old team. How long will it take, a generation or two. Before that happen, everyone kpkb on how to improve this or that remain as noise cos nothing will change to suit you. totally agree. this is where we get to see the ppl in management and the ppl in "management'. Every boss has a boss, even the Big boss report to the board. From some point of views, not difficult to see who are the the real life management and who are the text book management. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Lai Liao, lai liao.....Bro Tianmo not here leh. I speak my point liao, better to ignore. I live my happy go lucky life. so, what do you want from me? I am here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Nike Pro quite good. Very thin, breathable and keeps you warm. That's not enough if temp go below 10 deg. This is a good piece from Nike. https://www.nike.com/t/therma-sphere-element-mens-long-sleeve-running-top-ywZoOg/857827-375 For cycling, it is different lah. https://www.bicycling.com/bikes-gear/reviews/10-winter-cycling-gear-essentials-to-keep-you-warm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 OK, I don't cycle. But I wore Nike Pro under -20C. Nike Pro is compression wear. It is very expensive compared to more established brand. For sub zero, you only need: https://www.nike.com/t/therma-mens-running-hoodie-JXWK9N & Sleeveless vest https://www.runnersworld.com/for-beginners-only/the-newbie-guide-to-running-when-its-cold 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 (edited) Unlike in corporation, I don't think ministers in singapore have bought their positions or attained their post through old-boys club. And they don't coast in their job. Unlike in corporations, their policies have to account for the betterment of multi-ethnic groups, while watching for signals being sent to other nations. I don't doubt they are always trying to improve singapore's opportunities, and not their own pocket. Besides, PSC, Admin Service and PMO don't just approach any dud. This is the hardest for the haters in this forum to swallow: the fact that the senior politicians were excellent in top schools and in their careers (and social/community work) before being asked to consider being a politician. I just got no respect for folks who are only average in their white-collar job and then make uninformed comments and find fault with ministers. How many of us senior workers can claim that everyday they have really made another's life better. For narrow scope of one's own family only, maybe. For the "luck" aspect, I don't see ministers cherry-picking issues to solve or policies which keep benefiting the rich only. Muayhahahahahahaha you damn Joker, lah! You on your own, Senior Worker. Edited November 7, 2017 by Throttle2 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr8445r 5th Gear November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 (edited) You are making assumptions that extending COE to 20 years means it gets cheaper for those who keep the car longer. Whether this is your expectation or aspiration or imagination, sure it's one way for you think of it. Keeping a functional car in the market instead of turning it into scrap metal, doesn't mean it has to stay with one owner forever. Of course, if nothing else change and only extending COE tenure, this could happen. Fortunately we don't have an inflexible gahmen, it will be getting more expensive to put a car on the road as we will be progressing toward pay-per-use (ERP 2.0) rather than a fixed COE. I respect your right to hate the current gahmen policy, but this is the long term direction set by MOT and seems to make sense. Every policy has to balance many factors, and some may be achievable, some may be not and we have to look at both the positive and negative. Now how it will be executed in practice, that leaves for another discussion. Car warranty has never been anything to do with how long the car will lasts. 10-year warranty is very common in competitive markets like the US and China, but rarely offered in Singapore, 3 to 5 year is more common here. Is it because cars here are of inferior quality such that they can only last 3-5 years ? The 10 years relability guarantee is not referring to warranty given by AD or the automaker. If you are a supplier in an automotive industry, you will know what i meant. We base on this to conduct our assessment and qualification of automotive part. If the part is use for more than 10 years, failure is at the consumer own accord. Even the quality records, we only required to store for 10 years, in case there is issue happen within this period for failure analysis study. After 10 years, can dispose the records. Btw, when there is a deviation, our risk assessment is base on accelerated stress test (to simulated 10 years equivalent) . If it passed the test, the deviated from spec product will still be used. Lastly, i dont hate gov policy hor. Later someone will come and lecture me on how great our leader is. Edited November 7, 2017 by Lotr8445r ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...