Your japanese car might not be as strong as you thought !

Ysc3

Sometimes i go into the korean threads, and everyone keep saying korean steel jin tok gong whatever ...

FACT:

The Forte/Elantra prior to this current 2016 model was never a top safety pick at IIHS. It could only get Average for small overlap. NO DIFFERENCE from the much maligned Altis/corolla or other sushi brands.

Mz3 was the first jap/korean B&B sedan car that got top safety pick.

Anyway Asia played catchup to the Europeans in terms of safety, and most of their best models have done so.

I would say nowadays, there's probably only a small difference at best in terms of crash testing difference.

Ppl often make the mistake of comparing what is done in a controlled environment vs out on the road type of accidents.

Sure anot?

Kia k3 kerb weight 1295kg.

Altis kerb weight 1280kg.

Both cars weight almost same leh?

Think he referring to Honda City. kerb weight 1096kg. Almost 200kg lighter and I supposed the strength of the steel was compared relative to weight?

Edited by Buadongdong

jialat liao...

Should amend the title of this thread to:

Your japanese car and Boeing Jet might not be as strong as you thought !

http://www.straitstimes.com/world/united-states/boeing-passenger-jets-used-falsely-certified-kobe-steel-products-source

Boeing passenger jets used falsely-certified Kobe Steel products: Source

TOKYO (REUTERS) - Boeing Co, the world's biggest maker of passenger jets, has used Kobe Steel products that include those falsely certified by the Japanese company, a source with knowledge of the matter told Reuters.

Boeing does not as yet consider the issue a safety problem, the source stressed, but the revelation may raise compensation costs for the Japanese company, which is embroiled in a widening scandal over the false certification of the strength and durability of components supplied to hundreds of companies.

The US airline maker is carrying out a survey of aircraft to ascertain the extent and type of Kobe Steel components in its planes and will share the results with airline customers, said the source who has knowledge of the investigation.

The source asked not to be named because of the sensitivity of the issue.

Even if the falsely certified parts do not affect safety, given the intense public scrutiny that airlines operate under they may opt to replace suspect parts rather than face any backlash over concerns about safety.

Any large-scale program to remove those components, even during scheduled aircraft maintenance, could prove costly for Kobe Steel if it has to foot the bill.

Kobe Steel's CEO, Hiroya Kawasaki, on Thursday (Oct 12) said his company's credibility was at "zero." The company, he said, is examining possible data falsification going back 10 years, but does not expect to see recalls of cars or airplanes for now. .

Also in the US, General Motors said it is checking whether its cars contain falsely certified components from Kobe Steel, joining Toyota Motor Corp and around 200 other firms that have received falsely certified parts from the company.

Boeing does not buy products such as aluminium composites, used in aircraft because of their light weight, directly from Kobe Steel. Its key Japanese suppliers, including Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Kawasaki Heavy Industries and Subaru Corp, however, do.

These Japanese companies are key parts of Boeing's global supply chain, building one fifth of its 777 jetliner and 35 percent of its carbon composite 787 Dreamliner.

"Boeing has been working closely and continuously with our suppliers since being notified of the issue to ensure timely and appropriate action," Boeing said in a statement earlier this week after Kobe Steel's bombshell announcement over the weekend.

"Nothing in our review to date leads us to conclude that this issue presents a safety concern," it added.

Work for the US planemaker employs around 22,000 Japanese engineers, or 40 per cent employed in the nation's aerospace business.

Sometimes i go into the korean threads, and everyone keep saying korean steel jin tok gong whatever ...

FACT:

The Forte/Elantra prior to this current 2016 model was never a top safety pick at IIHS. It could only get Average for small overlap. NO DIFFERENCE from the much maligned Altis/corolla or other sushi brands.

Mz3 was the first jap/korean B&B sedan car that got top safety pick.

Anyway Asia played catchup to the Europeans in terms of safety, and most of their best models have done so.

I would say nowadays, there's probably only a small difference at best in terms of crash testing difference.

But we can all agree that Mercedes damn solid... As proven by the guy who caused the accident in Tuas? And walked away from the mangled car?

Sure anot?

Kia k3 kerb weight 1295kg.

Altis kerb weight 1280kg.

Both cars weight almost same leh?

Altis thailand car mah!  [:p]

Relax, just joking

i would expect Kia7200 and cscbb to come in and comment soon..

Dont frame me hor.. just want to bring out a light side of humour..

I already commented before u.

Why link me with cscbb?

Altis thailand car mah! [:p]

Relax, just joking

U cannot say anything negative abt that car even its a fact. U will get dislike from those jokers

But we can all agree that Mercedes damn solid... As proven by the guy who caused the accident in Tuas? And walked away from the mangled car?

Mercedes Benz no one can really fight la.  [thumbsup]  [laugh]

Tensile strength is not a test by weight lah. Can y'all stop comparing the cars' weight?

When a batch of steel or aluminium comes freshly baked from the steel mill a small random piece is picked to do the tensile test.

It will be put through a machine like this...

pneumatic-wedge-for-steel-cord_image-1.j

Where it will be stretched vertically to the breaking point or failure.

maxresdefault.jpg

ah ! something like this ? 

Altis thailand car mah!  [:p]

Relax, just joking

Hahaha,no problem.

Anyway,i don't drive altis.Friend driving.Not bad.

He trash his car.Go hump never slow down at all,never wash car, just let rain wash.

So far still strong.I m quite surprise.

jialat liao...

Should amend the title of this thread to:

Your japanese car and Boeing Jet might not be as strong as you thought !

I think you might be the only one here that owns a Boeing jet.

Agreed. When is japanese car ever strong one? The body is so thin to begin with.

I think old Honda Accord is quite heavy.... The door is much heavier than my old lancer ex.

This one?

honda-civic-1980-12.jpg

Lol. Think this one has even thicker body than most of the current jap cars. The term milo tin is in fact stronger i feel. Some of the jap cars u can practically depressed in the door metal sheet with your bare thumb and body weight. But disclaimer, I am driving jap.

I think old Honda Accord is quite heavy.... The door is much heavier than my old lancer ex.

The older generation seems to be ok. The newer generations all scrap on thwir metal to achieve bettet efficiencies. Even the plastics are so flimsy nowadays.

Lol. Think this one has even thicker body than most of the current jap cars. The term milo tin is in fact stronger i feel. Some of the jap cars u can practically depressed in the door metal sheet with your bare thumb and body weight. But disclaimer, I am driving jap.

The older generation seems to be ok. The newer generations all scrap on thwir metal to achieve bettet efficiencies. Even the plastics are so flimsy nowadays.

The Vios range has never impressed me in terms of their durability since their pop-star (Britney) launch in 2003.