Soya Supersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 Slam the rear door of the X-Trail and I was surprised at how hollow it sounded ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 More importantly is does the car score well on crash testing. All other things are difficult to assess. The shell of a body if u ever seen it color coded is really a myraid of steel parts (normal, high strength, extra high strength). Always buy a car that is tested by IIHS or Euro NCAP. Not those only JDM or Asean models only. Anyway if those say korean steel is very tok gong one. If it's their own company division selling to other divisions of their own company. If really got manufacturing cheating, there is no one to uncover lor. All same company. All big corporations are sama sama one lah. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged October 12, 2017 Author Share October 12, 2017 Test also how siao one lah... They can mfg one fleet of tanks for testing... Then after approval, they produce paper planes for sale. Kobe Beef good, Kobe Steel not so good Dun like Kobe or marbelled beef... Too buttery taste... Yucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 Test also how siao one lah... They can mfg one fleet of tanks for testing... Then after approval, they produce paper planes for sale. Dun like Kobe or marbelled beef... Too buttery taste... Yucks. of course. but if the car is manufactured in large numbers in the Europe/USA, then u will get some sorta feedback or recall EVENTUALLY just like takata airbags (of course cold comfort to those who suffered). And if there's crash test results by independent body, then if there's suddenly like a spate of fuel tanks catching fire or catastrophic failure of a panel resulting in many deaths, it's much easier to isolate an issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 Lesser chance of being affected if jap brand cars made in Thailand? haha i hope my car isn't affected. Though i already got one recall letter for some small thing liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 I have mentioned this story before ... a bmw 3 series jabbed my friend's cateye elantra in the back but only the license plate fell off. whereas the bmw front was damaged quite bad. this actually goes to show that metal is in abundance in Korea and k-cars are damn strong compared to other makers who import their steel. ....and naturally k-cars are heavier too. Very true! Saw a Merc rear-end a Matrix once. Matrix like boh tai chi! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 Very true! Saw a Merc rear-end a Matrix once. Matrix like boh tai chi! yah, matrix look like a paper weight as well... haha i hope my car isn't affected. Though i already got one recall letter for some small thing liao. now u better drive with more care... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 prease, no more anecdotal, this car hit that car, this car damage less/more than that car. front hit back is NOT comparable at all, unless u swap positions (front car now be back car, back car be front car) and hit one more time under the same conditions (speed/braking force/etc) than compare again. apples to apples, pple! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skchiu 2nd Gear October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 new gen of jappie are damn lazy, no ethics, only think of their own promotion not coy reputation 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 I wonder where r those bunch of jokers who always say bad things abt korean car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 Very true! Saw a Merc rear-end a Matrix once. Matrix like boh tai chi! For normal car, backend is more strong than front. Front is built with crumple zone to be crushed upon impact. So not fair to compare which car is strong based on extent of damage, order is important. prease, no more anecdotal, this car hit that car, this car damage less/more than that car. front hit back is NOT comparable at all, unless u swap positions (front car now be back car, back car be front car) and hit one more time under the same conditions (speed/braking force/etc) than compare again. apples to apples, pple! I posted before reading your comment. Spot on. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 More importantly is does the car score well on crash testing. All other things are difficult to assess. The shell of a body if u ever seen it color coded is really a myraid of steel parts (normal, high strength, extra high strength). Always buy a car that is tested by IIHS or Euro NCAP. Not those only JDM or Asean models only. Anyway if those say korean steel is very tok gong one. If it's their own company division selling to other divisions of their own company. If really got manufacturing cheating, there is no one to uncover lor. All same company. All big corporations are sama sama one lah. Problem is that the test is only for one car. If the non-spec steel is used in a different batch, it won't show as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 Kobe Steel scandal hits Boeing, Toyota and Nissan ...... Other companies affected by the Kobe Steel scandal include Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Kawasaki Heavy Industries, IHI, Honda, Mazda and Subaru. Kobe Steel said it had no evidence of any safety concerns as a result of the fraudulent certification. GOOGLE OR SEARCH FOR "KOBE STEEL SCANDAL" Hmmm, good thing our SMRT is using China steel eh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 Problem is that the test is only for one car. If the non-spec steel is used in a different batch, it won't show as well. haha they can't be selling u a pre-sale crash tested car yeah lah when the component maker/manufacturer does outright cheating/fabrication, very hard to find out until stuff like takata happens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged October 12, 2017 Author Share October 12, 2017 Hmmm, good thing our SMRT is using China steel eh? why you so concerned ... you don't take mrt also right ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skchiu 2nd Gear October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 Hmmm, good thing our SMRT is using China steel eh? think 1st batch of SMRT trains were from Jappieland, kawasaki or sumthin' like that 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 why you so concerned ... you don't take mrt also right ?? Huh? I take mrt home after work everyday. You want to take my mrt card to verify? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic October 12, 2017 Share October 12, 2017 More importantly is does the car score well on crash testing. All other things are difficult to assess. The shell of a body if u ever seen it color coded is really a myraid of steel parts (normal, high strength, extra high strength). Always buy a car that is tested by IIHS or Euro NCAP. Not those only JDM or Asean models only. Anyway if those say korean steel is very tok gong one. If it's their own company division selling to other divisions of their own company. If really got manufacturing cheating, there is no one to uncover lor. All same company. All big corporations are sama sama one lah. Hmmm...If those cars tested in IIHS or EURO NCAP with the ratings, will the safety standards be the same for the same car but manufactured in other regions? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...