13177 Hypersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 I had 2 ex-colleagues in my first job almost 10 years ago, both of them worked in that company for more than 10 years when I joined. Then the company had a restructure done last year and in came an AMDL She set such stupid and ridiculous rules that my 2 ex-colleagues both quit within 3 months of the AMDL's arrival. Some ridiculous things I heard include, but not limited to: 1. Cannot talk loudly in office 2. Cannot use other languages except for English 3. Cannot laugh in office So the saying which I now firmly believe is true: People stay in companies because of their direct bosses, and not the company itself. It is true that people stay in companies because of the bosses. If their boss allow them to talk loudly, laugh loudly and treat the office like their own house, confirmed these people would retire in the company. I have also worked in such company before, those people who have worked in the company for over 10 years, think they are very senior in the company, and people dont dare to offend them and even boss also like scare them, and there talked, laughed and joked loudly in the office as if there are no other people around. And nobody dare to tell them off. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 It is true that people stay in companies because of the bosses. If their boss allow them to talk loudly, laugh loudly and treat the office like their own house, confirmed these people would retire in the company. I have also worked in such company before, those people who have worked in the company for over 10 years, think they are very senior in the company, and people dont dare to offend them and even boss also like scare them, and there talked, laughed and joked loudly in the office as if there are no other people around. And nobody dare to tell them off. At least 20% of my colleagues work for more than 20 years and 15% work for more than 10 years because my company here has no special rules. LOL. Some of the female staff wear shorts and slippers to work - I find it very unprofessional. Surprisingly, the male staff are more welly dressed - in polo and jeans or polo and pants. So far none of the guy wear slippers or bermuda to work. The only rules they imposed is that no surfing of net during office hours. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 No VPL is too strict. I would add no underwear. I can see you are really concerned about improving productivity - the staff would spend less time putting on, taking off, thus toilet breaks cut down by 20 seconds each time, and probably save significant air con costs too! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 At least 20% of my colleagues work for more than 20 years and 15% work for more than 10 years because my company here has no special rules. LOL. Some of the female staff wear shorts and slippers to work - I find it very unprofessional. Surprisingly, the male staff are more welly dressed - in polo and jeans or polo and pants. So far none of the guy wear slippers or bermuda to work. The only rules they imposed is that no surfing of net during office hours. Haha. Rules don't apply to you right? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 At least 20% of my colleagues work for more than 20 years and 15% work for more than 10 years because my company here has no special rules. LOL. Some of the female staff wear shorts and slippers to work - I find it very unprofessional. Surprisingly, the male staff are more welly dressed - in polo and jeans or polo and pants. So far none of the guy wear slippers or bermuda to work. The only rules they imposed is that no surfing of net during office hours. Your company bosses and HR never say anything on female staff wearing shorts and slippers to work? Anyway, working in company with many staff who have work at least 10 years or more, usually high chance is the female staff who behave like king in the office. Speaking from personal experience which i have worked in such company before. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 Commando!Can.. but must go for 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 (edited) ........ Edited September 19, 2017 by Freeder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 Your company bosses and HR never say anything on female staff wearing shorts and slippers to work? Anyway, working in company with many staff who have work at least 10 years or more, usually high chance is the female staff who behave like king in the office. Speaking from personal experience which i have worked in such company before. Lol.Depends on how those female colleagues look like lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 Haha. Rules don't apply to you right? Wahahaha.... tat's why my boss doesn't like me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 Your company bosses and HR never say anything on female staff wearing shorts and slippers to work? Anyway, working in company with many staff who have work at least 10 years or more, usually high chance is the female staff who behave like king in the office. Speaking from personal experience which i have worked in such company before. Lol. No leh, HR never say. Our cleaner wears nicer than our admin staff (she always wear t-shirts with shorts or tights) LOL. Not all but one female staff does behave like what you said, she always shouted at me until one day I cannot tahan shouted at her back and we didn't talk to each other since (for many years liao). [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 Mine is no dress code, as in no dress you know. No need dress up dress down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 Mine is no dress code, as in no dress you know. No need dress up dress down. yours is no dress......PERIOD 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 No leh, HR never say. Our cleaner wears nicer than our admin staff (she always wear t-shirts with shorts or tights) LOL. Not all but one female staff does behave like what you said, she always shouted at me until one day I cannot tahan shouted at her back and we didn't talk to each other since (for many years liao). [laugh] Maybe this could be the reason why those people can behave like king in the office and yet on one dare to tell them off. Cause they dont want like you ended up "enemies'' in the office. Lol. So other people in the office always sway towards these people and become ''good friends'' with them, rather than offend them. In the end, these people even acted more like king and talk as loud as they like, say whatever things they like and do whatever things they like. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 No idea, but as you can see, my ex-colleagues resigned within 3 months after the AMDL took over. Obviously they can't stand her at all. When I was working with them for 2 years+, they are very tolerant and patient people. I can't imagine what the AMDL did to them that they have to resign without looking for new jobs. Luckily now both of them are working again. If break these rules how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 In some organizations, whoever speaks louder wins. those that need to protect their rice bowl tends to keep a low profile thus loose out. but my experiences tell me. the loud ones will not last but no issue, they got what they want and move on to find another opportunity. real loosers are the organization this one different. the loudest stay there for very long time. the HR lady n her other ladies kakis hv been there from the beginning. the quiet ones trying to protect rice bowl like me are the ones who left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 Wahahaha.... tat's why my boss doesn't like me.U not the boss meh? Haaa Yup as they say "You join cos of an organization BUT you leave cos of the boss" I'm glad all my bosses are 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 I will take it that you are referring to those who abuse the leeway given. But for my ex-colleagues, no. They work when there is work to be done, and they definitely are not the ones you described. It is true that people stay in companies because of the bosses. If their boss allow them to talk loudly, laugh loudly and treat the office like their own house, confirmed these people would retire in the company. I have also worked in such company before, those people who have worked in the company for over 10 years, think they are very senior in the company, and people dont dare to offend them and even boss also like scare them, and there talked, laughed and joked loudly in the office as if there are no other people around. And nobody dare to tell them off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged September 19, 2017 Share September 19, 2017 (edited) Last time, I brought in an extra monitor because I find it easier to have extended desktop People laugh at me say I Kiang loh hold, mai geh Kiang, laugh at me :( Knn now boss also cannot see, bring 2 kong size monitor put in office somemore for Monitor arm, they say whoa! Boss! You so high tech ah! I also want to learn from you Knn, tomorrow I bring my 49" Dian see kee put in office, 4 split screen in one, see these porn lam pahs say what I have been using my own monitor for over 10 years already...A 19" LCD which I bought on the second hand market. I am also using my own speaker phone and I brought in my own table fan and bar fridge and microwave oven too ! I used to have my own mouse also but now just use the company one. Edited September 19, 2017 by Ysc3 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...