High Mileage cars worth renewing COE?

Happyrider

Auto trans cooler is about $200 fitted

and that protects your box even more

especially if want to keep for 20 years.

Maybe can change oil at 20k

and use the savings for a trans cooler?

Edited by Jamesc

wow 450k milleage and still going strong ! [thumbsup]

if you treat the car as a workhorse ... dont change

all owner change car mainly because itchy backside [laugh]

my friend's Stream oso over 300k km liao! Traverse from jb to cbd and vise-versa on weekdays everday. Engine still sound as good as just bought but change many many wear and tear parts. Coming to 10 yrs and he also aiming to renew coe. Gd workhorse.

One last point engine oil has a break in period

so the new oil protects less than oil after driving

for 2 - 3k. I am not so sure about auto box oil.

If the same applies then changing too often has

less protection and letting it break in and running

it longer.

@mockingbird may not agree with you

:XD:

E36/46 i think still ok ...

try E90 coe car ... [laugh]

anything pass the E36/46 era ... not built to last

same goes with mar-see-lee

Maybe I kiasu...but an extra $28.50 every service really wouldn't kill...and it has proven to have kept my gearbox in good condition.

Furthermore, sometimes visual inspection of the drained oil wouldn't be able to tell u much about the lubricating properties of the ATF. Unlike engine oil where some carbon deposits get mixed with the drained EO, thus resulting color change in the oil, in ATF is simply a mechanical lubricant and lubricating properties usually go down over time and usage.

Yes I really Wana renew 10 years for my stream. I still enjoy driving my car very much...and I sorry I will regret if I change to another a car . When in ten years time my youngest child can take bus liao...i can go back to riding bike if car ownership becomes too unaffordable for me.

Sorry I disagree with atf color not being able to tell oil condition. It can.

On the other hand it's engine oil that you cannot. Especially for Diesel engine oil.

Edited by Mkl22

E36/46 i think still ok ...

try E90 coe car ... [laugh]

anything pass the E36/46 era ... not built to last

same goes with mar-see-lee

If build to last

who buy new car?

Edited by Davidtch

If build to last

who buy new car?

the problem is cross 3 years only smlj issues start to surface liao

conti car maker sibei tok kong to time their malfunctions

the problem is cross 3 years only smlj issues start to surface liao

conti car maker sibei tok kong to time their malfunctions

That's why don't buy lor.

These are LJ car

that's why i am planning to jump back to sushi

if CX5 comes in 2L turbo ... it would have been an easy decision for me

That's why don't buy lor.

These are LJ car

12k is really extreme.

I would change every 35k and with the money saved

put in a an auto box cooler.

I also think 12k change ATF a little overkill, maybe 30k would be a cost effective interval. Most importantly is to use the correct specification of fluid.

Add AT cooler is good idea. My current car 23months old and mounted with Engine Oil and Transmission cooler when car is 6 months old.

Edited by Chucky2007

stream is a super workhorse. but only those who took care of cars themselves since day 1 can renew. those who did not, have to rehaul many things to renew. actually air con is one of the main problem for honda cars, did you have to fix yours yet?

I also think 12k change ATF a little overkill, maybe 30k would be a cost effective interval. Most importantly is to use the correct specification of fluid.

Add AT cooler is good idea. My current car 23months old and mounted with Engine Oil and Transmission cooler when car is 6 months old.

You are absolute right.

If I bought an auto car the first I would add engine wise is

an auto cooler.

Hi guys,

I drive a 2007 Honda stream RSZ. First owner from new. Current mileage at 435700km. Coe ending nov17.

I have kept up with all servicing and major parts replacement at all major service milestones. So far had replaced all 4 suspension 3 times, alternator once, radiator once, air-conditioning compressor once, air conditioning internal cooling coil once, steering rack once, drive shaft 2 times, linkages replaced every 120k I'm, ATF changed with engine oil every 12k.

Currently using the car to drive Uber/grab for the last 2 years liao.

Thought of changing to carens diesel but find the 3rd row really very squeeze and dun like the drive....but must admit the diesel torque is really impressive.

Had already send the car for a color change respray in feb17 and also rewrap the interior leathers...

What are your thoughts?

What is your avg fuel consumption, km/l?

Full tank pump 58l travel abt 520km be reserve lights come on. Then can go another abt 45km. So abt 9.8km/l. On 18" 245/40/raid tyres

A car at 435k km should be scrapped, simply because the risk of breaking down of every part small and large, is too high.  Engine block, gear box, steering, key chamber, door, brakes, electrical components, aircon, seals, suspension and mounts, not to mention the safety risk and inconveniences.

Edited by Ingenius

Full tank pump 58l travel abt 520km be reserve lights come on. Then can go another abt 45km. So abt 9.8km/l. On 18" 245/40/raid tyres

Think it's those 245 tyres may need to be ditched for 225 or 235 tyres if your rims are around 8-8.5j wide