Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 I really don't think the car is gonna fail at the next 450000km of normal driving unless it's driving aggressively Everyday or most of the time. the taxi in Singapore, during their 7 years cycle clocked easily 500k-700k mileage and the cabbies wack it over Everyday. Stream is relatively mechanical car, some parts failures have been replaced and there is nothing that workshop cannot fix or replace. Unless chassis is failing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 If TS is comparison on the option of renewing the stream for another 10 years vs getting a brand new car, then of course aside from sentimental value for the old car, nothing Beats getting a new car... But if comparing on the option of getting another used car that is 6-7year old and dealer declare it's mileage somewhere below 120k.. I would stick with the same old car I have been driving for past 10 years and knowing it inside out 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 24, 2017 Author Share September 24, 2017 (edited) I really don't think the car is gonna fail at the next 450000km of normal driving unless it's driving aggressively Everyday or most of the time. the taxi in Singapore, during their 7 years cycle clocked easily 500k-700k mileage and the cabbies wack it over Everyday. Stream is relatively mechanical car, some parts failures have been replaced and there is nothing that workshop cannot fix or replace. Unless chassis is failing. Spot on bro!! =) Actually..the sentimental value is abt 30% of the reason...another 30% is cost reason...the main thing is i believe if u are thrown a problem...u fix the problem rather than running away from it...similar to how i face the many challenges that life has thrown at me. Unless honda owner manual say their car must throw away after 400k km mileage.. =p TS ar TS, you don't need to keep asking for opinions or support from brothers here to justify your decision liao. Many have given you advice against it. But when you throw in emotional and sentimental elements, there is no argument, really. Just go ahead and renew the COE. The fact is that your car is already gone way past its useful life and things will just fail, one by one. It's gonna be a never ending misery of trying to put things right, I can assure you. Be prepared to give up, throw away the car within a few years and lose the Parf value. And the substantial amounts you have spent trying to put things right. Go research on something called Damage Fatigue Cycle. For discussion sake, can anyone define useful life ( mileage) of a car? Happyrider Which insurance company did you insure your car with and what's your premium? Does the mileage affect premium? Shouldn't hor..... I am with ECICS for commercial cover for UG. $1288 with 0% ncd. Mileage does nt affect premium Edited September 24, 2017 by Happyrider 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AnnaHo 1st Gear September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Spot on bro!! =) Actually..the sentimental value is abt 30% of the reason...another 30% is cost reason...the main thing is i believe if u are thrown a problem...u fix the problem rather than running away from it...similar to how i face the many challenges that life has thrown at me. Unless honda owner manual say their car must throw away after 400k km mileage.. =p For discussion sake, can anyone define useful life ( mileage) of a car? I am with ECICS for commercial cover for UG. $1288 with 0% ncd. Mileage does nt affect premium Tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Overhaul??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kzone 3rd Gear September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Unless honda owner manual say their car must throw away after 400k km mileage.. =p Did u get the Singapore edition? Check out page 276, paragraph 10 : "Thou shall not drive any car in Singapore past 400,000 km" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 actually its very misleading for car owner to go overhaul engine when doing coe renew. even if TS car very high mileage. as long as every servicing got do. engine oil got change. engine never overheat before. there is no need to over haul. esp some normal driver , 10 years barely hit 200k, 'i see them do overhaul cos workshop say renew must do', the rest of the parts , after u renew just carry on driving like normal , watever fail then change. starter fail change starter, alternator fail change alternator if after u renew your car u want change every thing as a precaution . then wat is the point of renewing?? might as well go change new car. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 25, 2017 Author Share September 25, 2017 actually its very misleading for car owner to go overhaul engine when doing coe renew. even if TS car very high mileage. as long as every servicing got do. engine oil got change. engine never overheat before. there is no need to over haul. esp some normal driver , 10 years barely hit 200k, 'i see them do overhaul cos workshop say renew must do', the rest of the parts , after u renew just carry on driving like normal , watever fail then change. starter fail change starter, alternator fail change alternator if after u renew your car u want change every thing as a precaution . then wat is the point of renewing?? might as well go change new car. U took the words right out of my mouth... =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 25, 2017 Author Share September 25, 2017 (edited) Did u get the Singapore edition? Check out page 276, paragraph 10 : "Thou shall not drive any car in Singapore past 400,000 km" I only read happyrider version, "Thou shall drive my car until 山盟海誓海枯石烂...or 1,000,000km...whichever comes first..." Haha... Edited September 25, 2017 by Happyrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 25, 2017 Author Share September 25, 2017 I only read happyrider version, "Thou shall drive my car until 山盟海誓海枯石烂...or 1,000,000km...whichever comes first..." Haha... Just pom pom xiao bai... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
andrewyewkc 5th Gear September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 I personally wouldn't renew as after calculation, there are just so many other costs that add up, especially when. The car is already 400k. 1) loss of parf (more than $10k) 2) extra road tax of 10% every year till 5th year at 50% and then extra 50% all the way to 10 years. (=xiong) 3) no resale value except for paper value. If for any reason need to sell, will lose some of the parf left 4) no warranty if major parts fail at the same time, can already add up to the depreciation. This is unlikely for newer cars but can happen for older ones. (=$$$) 5) newer cars are likely to be more fuel efficient too, so if your mileage is 400k over 10 years, I can only imagine how much u can save with a fuel efficient car like a freed hybrid that runs at 20+km/l instead of 10km/l. That's about than $40-50k just on fuel savings alone over 10 years! 6) annual inspection for old car 7) new car factor like more airbags, sound insulation, new Aircon just for the bit more. So I guess that's y your friend is persuading u to change I guess. Good summary. I have also gone through this exercise and calculation. Basically the cost of renewing the COE of a car are: A. PAPER, TAXES and ADMIN COST B. OPERATIONAL COST C. REPAIR COST vs NEW CAR A. PAPER, TAXES and ADMIN COST COE (PQP vs Fresh COE) Parf Rebate Additional Road Tax (110%, 120%, 130%, 140%, 150% etc) B. OPERATIONAL Efficiency Maintenance Additional Vehicle Inspection (Annual) Time to do inspection C. REPAIR COST vs NEW CAR New car features (e.g. keyless, push-start, memory seat, gps, sound system, etc) New Tyres, Batteries, Filters, Lubricant, fluids, rubber parts New coat of paint, New Warranty and Free Maintenance Period Minor Repairs (dents, rims, etc) Estimated Major Repairs needed (transmission, overhaul, engine mount, air-con, etc) Time to do repairs Loss of use of car This cost will vary with each car and as some has already advised, it will be more attractive to renew the COE of a smaller car. The cost will increase with a bigger car and for me to continue driving my current car (2.5L , V6, continental), the estimated additional marginal cost is over $100,000 compared to a new and more efficient 2.0 car. Of course a new car has its disadvantages and costs as well, (GST, Excise Duty, Tiered ARF, CEVS/VES/ Registration Fee, Seller's profit, etc). But being less knowledgeable about car maintenance and upkeep than most people in this forum here, problems with cars will give me more stress so trouble-free motoring is also an huge consideration for me. Hope this will give some help. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Overhaul??? only 2 valves? simi ancient engine is this? :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 lau pok chia lo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Good summary. I have also gone through this exercise and calculation. Basically the cost of renewing the COE of a car are: A. PAPER, TAXES and ADMIN COST B. OPERATIONAL COST C. REPAIR COST vs NEW CAR A. PAPER, TAXES and ADMIN COST COE (PQP vs Fresh COE) Parf Rebate Additional Road Tax (110%, 120%, 130%, 140%, 150% etc) B. OPERATIONALEfficiency Maintenance Additional Vehicle Inspection (Annual) Time to do inspection C. REPAIR COST vs NEW CARNew car features (e.g. keyless, push-start, memory seat, gps, sound system, etc) New Tyres, Batteries, Filters, Lubricant, fluids, rubber parts New coat of paint, New Warranty and Free Maintenance Period Minor Repairs (dents, rims, etc) Estimated Major Repairs needed (transmission, overhaul, engine mount, air-con, etc) Time to do repairs Loss of use of car This cost will vary with each car and as some has already advised, it will be more attractive to renew the COE of a smaller car. The cost will increase with a bigger car and for me to continue driving my current car (2.5L , V6, continental), the estimated additional marginal cost is over $100,000 compared to a new and more efficient 2.0 car. Of course a new car has its disadvantages and costs as well, (GST, Excise Duty, Tiered ARF, CEVS/VES/ Registration Fee, Seller's profit, etc). But being less knowledgeable about car maintenance and upkeep than most people in this forum here, problems with cars will give me more stress so trouble-free motoring is also an huge consideration for me. Hope this will give some help.Well tabled and thought of. I guess you have already covered all angles already. An old car may cost almost as much or even more than a new car if one considers a high mileage, especially after factoring potential fuel savings from new technology. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
andrewyewkc 5th Gear September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 Well tabled and thought of. I guess you have already covered all angles already. An old car may cost almost as much or even more than a new car if one considers a high mileage, especially after factoring potential fuel savings from new technology. For me the biggest worry is the unknown. But if one is quite an expert on car matters and know where to source for parts and labour, the risk of a very old car may be quite tolerable. Frequently when I used to travel many parts of Indonesia, a 10 year old Kijang is considered a "new" car as they will fix it until it run till 30 years. My greatest worry is the transmission and all the modern electronics. So a simple old car may be more reliable than a complex new car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cmcex 4th Gear September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 only 2 valves? simi ancient engine is this? :) Old MB lor, 8 valves engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged September 25, 2017 Share September 25, 2017 only 2 valves? simi ancient engine is this? :) Mercedes Benz M-102[4 Cyls],M-103[6 Cyls],are well known for its smoothness.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MotoristMel 1st Gear September 27, 2017 Share September 27, 2017 actually its very misleading for car owner to go overhaul engine when doing coe renew. even if TS car very high mileage. as long as every servicing got do. engine oil got change. engine never overheat before. there is no need to over haul. esp some normal driver , 10 years barely hit 200k, 'i see them do overhaul cos workshop say renew must do', the rest of the parts , after u renew just carry on driving like normal , watever fail then change. starter fail change starter, alternator fail change alternator if after u renew your car u want change every thing as a precaution . then wat is the point of renewing?? might as well go change new car. Totally agree with you bro! Mileage is a guideline, but if you are the only owner, and you know that the car has been well-maintained, there is generally no need to do a major overhaul like what Beregond said. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...