Wildfaye29 Turbocharged September 22, 2017 Share September 22, 2017 So good. Can sell to me? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 22, 2017 Author Share September 22, 2017 ya i agree. surprised no top overhaul. his head gasket last so long meh? also no air con condenser? at 500k injectors are also worn. brake master cylinder still good? Actually good suggestion on the master cylinder...maybe will include in the next service for replacement..thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 22, 2017 Share September 22, 2017 Thanks for yr concern... if engine still running smooth n loss of compression no white smoke need to overhaul meh When there is loss of compression and white smoke means parts inside the engine have already failed. Too late already. Preventive maintenance vs corrective maintenance is entirely up to you. Just that I see you replace so many stuff but neglected the engine itself. Just to let you know only. Entirely up to you. If it were me, I would at least do a top overhaul if renew COE. If it were me, I would at least do a top overhaul if renew COE. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 22, 2017 Author Share September 22, 2017 (edited) When there is loss of compression and white smoke means parts inside the engine have already failed. Too late already. Preventive maintenance vs corrective maintenance is entirely up to you. Just that I see you replace so many stuff but neglected the engine itself. Just to let you know only. Entirely up to you. If it were me, I would at least do a top overhaul if renew COE. If it were me, I would at least do a top overhaul if renew COE. U brought up a good point...thanks i will consider that as an option... Just curious...is it normal to do a top overhaul as a preventive maintenance? I always have the opinion that if engine ok dun go and touch...touch liao wait problem many many...maybe thats not correct? Edited September 22, 2017 by Happyrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 22, 2017 Author Share September 22, 2017 (edited) thanks for the list. can share where you got the aircon compressor replaced?I go markcool at woodlands...look only for ah huat I bought the brand new compressor at stockist b4 going down Edited September 22, 2017 by Happyrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 22, 2017 Author Share September 22, 2017 So good. Can sell to me?I strike toto grp1 i change car...den sell u my stream..haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic September 22, 2017 Share September 22, 2017 U brought up a good point...thanks i will consider that as an option... Just curious...is it normal to do a top overhaul as a preventive maintenance? I always have the opinion that if engine ok dun go and touch...touch liao wait problem many many...maybe thats not correct? Yes. Top overhaul is preventive maintenance. Basically take out the parts and measure to ensure within spec as per workshop manual. Used to drive a car with timing belt. Need to change every 100k km. If you dont change it, it snaps. Then ho sey liao. I used to drive a 15 year old honda civic gl. Even the engine sump drain plug also gave me problems!!! The coolant hoses also cracked and sprang a leak while I was driving on AYE right lane. Had to make a pit stop at one of the HDB carpark. After this car, I will never touch a COE car again. Once bitten twice shy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 22, 2017 Author Share September 22, 2017 (edited) Yes. Top overhaul is preventive maintenance. Basically take out the parts and measure to ensure within spec as per workshop manual. Used to drive a car with timing belt. Need to change every 100k km. If you dont change it, it snaps. Then ho sey liao. I used to drive a 15 year old honda civic gl. Even the engine sump drain plug also gave me problems!!! The coolant hoses also cracked and sprang a leak while I was driving on AYE right lane. Had to make a pit stop at one of the HDB carpark. After this car, I will never touch a COE car again. Once bitten twice shy. I think 2006 civics onwards along with stream and accord all using timing chain liao. Timing chain typically does not have a stipulated replacement interval. So if top gaskets are still ok with no oil leaks is there still a need to do top overhaul preventively? The part about taking the top off and make sure its still within specs u taking about valve clearance? Edited September 22, 2017 by Happyrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 22, 2017 Share September 22, 2017 Yes. Top overhaul is preventive maintenance. Basically take out the parts and measure to ensure within spec as per workshop manual. Used to drive a car with timing belt. Need to change every 100k km. If you dont change it, it snaps. Then ho sey liao. I used to drive a 15 year old honda civic gl. Even the engine sump drain plug also gave me problems!!! The coolant hoses also cracked and sprang a leak while I was driving on AYE right lane. Had to make a pit stop at one of the HDB carpark. After this car, I will never touch a COE car again. Once bitten twice shy. never heard of any local shops doing top overhaul and measuring for wear. top overhaul is usually only ever done if the head gasket leaks. i seriously doubt any workshop will measure unless its an expensive car or you are paying top dollar. A honda stream is a bread and butter model. more likely if the engine goes. another engine will be sourced and put in its place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 22, 2017 Share September 22, 2017 I don't see a problem with renewing the COE. I renewed mine as well. People tend to mix up "replacement of wear and tear parts" and "repair". Some keep thinking only cars in Singapore will split into 2 after the 10th year. True. Many cars in Malaysia and Indonesia are more than 30years old. They are still doing alright. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged September 22, 2017 Share September 22, 2017 True. Many cars in Malaysia and Indonesia are more than 30years old. They are still doing alright. These 2 Countries,no need Inspection,as long as can move can already,not the same...usually these very old cars used in Countryside or Kampong,nobody cares. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 22, 2017 Share September 22, 2017 These 2 Countries,no need Inspection,as long as can move can already,not the same...usually these very old cars used in Countryside or Kampong,nobody cares.Not really countryside and kampong. Can still see Datsun 120y on North-South high way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 23, 2017 Author Share September 23, 2017 anyone in the same situation as me with a high mileage car but wishes to renew or has already renewed COE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged September 23, 2017 Share September 23, 2017 (edited) anyone in the same situation as me with a high mileage car but wishes to renew or has already renewed COE?Actually 400++k km of mileage would probably qualify as a very high mileage, not just high, when compared with the average Singaporean driver. Most in your situation are likely to get a new car since the car is already a major expense. Mathematically, renewing such a car just doesn't make economic sense and you can probably estimate that too, especially when you are likely to double that mileage over the next 10 years. I do agree with some have said here that only a vintage car may be more worthwhile to go through such time, effort and trouble. Most of us just prefer to pay a bit more and be problem free. Downtime is still money. Just not quantified perhaps. We have tried hard to share why it can actually be cheaper and fuss free when u get a new car too but you have mentioned that there's an emotional factor so we can't really argue on that. Edited September 23, 2017 by Invigorated 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happyrider 3rd Gear September 23, 2017 Author Share September 23, 2017 Actually 400++k km of mileage would probably qualify as a very high mileage, not just high, when compared with the average Singaporean driver. Most in your situation are likely to get a new car since the car is already a major expense. Mathematically, renewing such a car just doesn't make economic sense and you can probably estimate that too, especially when you are likely to double that mileage over the next 10 years. I do agree with some have said here that only a vintage car may be more worthwhile to go through such time, effort and trouble. Most of us just prefer to pay a bit more and be problem free. Downtime is still money. Just not quantified perhaps. We have tried hard to share why it can actually be cheaper and fuss free when u get a new car too but you have mentioned that there's an emotional factor so we can't really argue on that. Hi Invigorated, Thank you for your kind advise. TBH, besides the emotional factor, the more important thing is that currently my stream still runs very well. It will be quite weird to change smtin that has being serving me so well when there are no hints of major problems at all. Yes i must admit that my usage is very high thus resulting in the high mileage, but from the list that i have posted earlier, i think its clear that i dun cringe and save on essential maintenance. Unfortunately i dont have a good reference as to how long the engine and gearbox can last with the kind of servicing regime that i have as not many drivers clock this kind of high mileage. My guess is the gearbox is more likely to give issues rather than the engine first. If spending 2 to 3k to rebuild the gearbox the car will still have a lot of service life after that, Smtin other alternatives is quite unlikely to fulfil for the same cost. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged September 23, 2017 Share September 23, 2017 The clutch n bands will wear despite the oil changes. There's only so much fresh atf can do. How much is the cost of servicing that? Maybe you can run a compression test to check too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toeknee_33 Turbocharged September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 (edited) anyone in the same situation as me with a high mileage car but wishes to renew or has already renewed COE?TS ar TS, you don't need to keep asking for opinions or support from brothers here to justify your decision liao. Many have given you advice against it. But when you throw in emotional and sentimental elements, there is no argument, really. Just go ahead and renew the COE. The fact is that your car is already gone way past its useful life and things will just fail, one by one. It's gonna be a never ending misery of trying to put things right, I can assure you. Be prepared to give up, throw away the car within a few years and lose the Parf value. And the substantial amounts you have spent trying to put things right. Go research on something called Damage Fatigue Cycle. Edited September 24, 2017 by Toeknee_33 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AnnaHo 1st Gear September 24, 2017 Share September 24, 2017 Happyrider Which insurance company did you insure your car with and what's your premium? Does the mileage affect premium? Shouldn't hor..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...