COE Bidding – 2nd Round of September 2017

Carbon82

The frog feels the well which it is living in is the entire world ð¤

Much like a typical Singaporean

10 year old car should not drive anymore as risk of implosion is high

Smell of new car (VOC gas actually) is heavenly

Our government is always capable and everything they do is correct. Everything opposition does is wrong.

70% loan is affordable as long as ones pay can cover installment every month

Wow, a piece of permit for 10 years is now 36,000? So cheap! Let's Chiong down to the dealer NOW!

Attitude problem? The issue is that those who blame gahmen and others for their inability to secure COE or buy car are not self-aware that they have an attitude problem.

My attitude towards them is blunt and harsh, yes. But consider it a lite intervention.

I see no one is blaming u. For nothing u use blunt and harsh words against almost everyone here. U don't think is a problem?

What is going to happen if everyone start to be blunt n harsh to each other like u? If u really love the gahmen so much pls do your part to help unite the people.

Edited by ALTK

Seriously, are u working in the banking/finance sector? Have you seen the amount of shits the local have to clear once these so call Professional leaves??

if you read the earlier posts......he is working, part-owner or the boss of a 'finance' company and he is actually dissing his own customers!

You would rather listen to the car salesmen, and dealers lurking in this forum? What is their vested interest?

You rather listen to the clowns here who are mediocre at work but take high car loan and then blame gahmen for everything that goes wrong in their life?

Refreshing for someone to tell you how to save money, right?

can share how much you charge interest? Thinking of renewing coe or changing car nx year! Singapore lang if no loan very sianz one.......need that oomph to challenge ourself!

I think the thing about Singaporeans is that we are not streetwise. We may be competent but we do not know how to get ourselves heard.

We either

1) keep quiet

2) go the other end and bang table and end up getting sacked

3) end up playing politics.

We don't know how to get ourselves heard and not offend anyone. We then complain about govt and all that cos it's our outlet.

I am aware that many unqualified foreigners are coming in to work. Papers aside, they know how and what to say during interviews. Yes there is element of biasness because people hire their own countrymen so to speak but the same point remains. We don't know how to stand up for ourselves without getting ourselves into trouble. We then vent it out on social media and take it out on public servants who are just doing their jobs which end up further reinforcing the idea that it is better to higher "compliant" foreigners.

@Cscbb has some points though I don't agree with everything he/she/it says. By the way, a lot of us are actually frogs in the well. Cos here a lot of things is just go with the flow, don't challenge status quo and a lot of things can't be helped. Things are not like this round the world. Like it was said, if we think the professional is not good, why not make it an issue instead of complaining about the shit left behind after he leaves? Cos we are not streetwise enough.

Of cos, who made the environment like that? The government. Who keep voting them in? Us.

One very last point. I read that we are all promoted to the point of failure. What does it mean? If we are good workers we get promoted to supervisor. If we are good supervisors we are promoted to let's say manager. Then we are just OK in that role so no more promotion. What happens is that this might be the reason why we lack confidence in voicing out.

Peace.

Edited by Philipkee

I think the thing about Singaporeans is that we are not streetwise. We may be competent but we do not know how to get ourselves heard.

We either

1) keep quiet

2) go the other end and bang table and end up getting sacked

3) end up playing politics.

We don't know how to get ourselves heard and not offend anyone. We then complain about govt and all that cos it's our outlet.

I am aware that many unqualified foreigners are coming in to work. Papers aside, they know how and what to say during interviews. Yes there is element of biasness because people hire their own countrymen so to speak but the same point remains. We don't know how to stand up for ourselves without getting ourselves into trouble. We then vent it out on social media and take it out on public servants who are just doing their jobs which end up further reinforcing the idea that it is better to higher "compliant" foreigners.

@Cscbb has some points though I don't agree with everything he/she/it says. By the way, a lot of us are actually frogs in the well. Cos here a lot of things is just go with the flow, don't challenge status quo and a lot of things can't be helped. Things are not like this round the world. Like it was said, if we think the professional is not good, why not make it an issue instead of complaining about the shit left behind after he leaves? Cos we are not streetwise enough.

Of cos, who made the environment like that? The government. Who keep voting them in? Us.

One very last point. I read that we are all promoted to the point of failure. What does it mean? If we are good workers we get promoted to supervisor. If we are good supervisors we are promoted to let's say manager. Then we are just OK in that role so no more promotion. What happens is that this might be the reason why we lack confidence in voicing out.

Peace.

yes....true that! But isnt it due to the very practice of carrot or cane. Once you voiced out you are deemed against them and i have been to meetings that the first thing the supervisors and seniors say is to keep quiet and i have been at the other end of the stick. So now i go meeting....i sit one corner, smile and say everything ok when question with aob.

I have this story to tell.....it really happened! Foreigner was an electrian and wanted to teach the male staff in the office how to change light bulb because every other day he need to change those that blew! That time no led or energy saving bulbs and the lights were always on 24/7. He even called the tech, assistant and engineers somewhat stupid for not being able to change the light bulb on their own! Different culture at work!

Why don't you challenge yourself to save the amount you need? Then you come out stronger willpower, determination and no car loan. Double bonus to yourself.

To continue paying monthly for a loan is no challenge, don't delude yourself.

want to gibe you business you dont want! Chey!

can share how much you charge interest? Thinking of renewing coe or changing car nx year! Singapore lang if no loan very sianz one.......need that oomph to challenge ourself!

Bro you paid full cash leh ..... why now ......... kind to give some small business

re: who made the environment like that?...

You are playing the victim. How many of us have legitimate grouses that affect all communities, AND have rational solution to solve those issues? And bother to approach MP during meet people sessions? Most NATO or likely they themselves admit their grouse is trivial and inconsequential.

Or like LKY said: Criticism is cheap and cowardly. Easy to complain but few are able to see the issue to effective delivery of workable solution. Most of us never get down to start work on a viable solution either.

The burden of being a MP or minister is far heavier than any of us can imagine. They give up personal privacy and successful careers to work for clowns like us. They run risk of getting retrenched every 4 years. Every meet-people-session have to listen to unreasonable complaints from clowns.

Most of us are average at work and unwilling or unable to contribute to make the country better for others, yet choose to call gahmen "incompetent".

Well, I do agree with your points but I do feedback to ministry issues what I see, but mainly suggestions of coe (I posted some in this forum, they were actually also emailed to LTA with reply received from them) and about prehospital emergency care (again there is a thread or two here in this forum) cos I am a driver and a nurse.

So not all NATO. But I think education system here makes people unwilling to challenge the system. My dad was trained by the british army so he had a different style of doing things (and again i did post a thread on this in this forum also) and I learned from him.

Edited by Philipkee

Have the willpower to change the status quo. Gahmen is not forcing you to take car loan. Gahmen is not forcing you to change new car. Challenge yourself to save that amount.

The fact that you admit you still take car loan means you are not a positive role model for newbies. Talk less, listen and improve yourself.

yes master....i will try to save to buy that conti car cash even if i my hair all turned white with age.........thank you for your kind input!

Nvr nvr nvr have the mindset of convincing oneself that taking loan will help oneself to strive harder. Especially if it is a negative asset. I have seen people and companies taking loans and buying buildings, then telling themselves they need to take more projects so that they can substain themselves and grow. Yrs later, bankrupt. Once committed to a big loan, one can never predict whats going to happen next. Maybe some will say no risk no gain...just dont end up worst then at starting point... If cant afford chicken, just temporary buy ikan billis until one can afford chicken again...

You are complacent and timid because of your car loan. You scared for your own salary. Having heavy loan does blunt personal development and achievement.

Once you learn willpower and determination, you can even look to build a business to compete against your company.

my business very big! Headed by a well-known figure and they dont have competitors! Thats my life......no need to get in too deep!

You playing victim again. Education system here never limit students' curiosity. Books and newspapers from around the world available at library. We have high speed internet access earlier than most in Asia. No blocking of information sites.

It's not the lack of information but the culture of not questioning teachers in the schools that play a part and it follows when the person grows up. If he is authorative figure will not allow anyone to question him. If he is subordinate will not question superior.

Things are changing now, though.

You playing victim again. Education system here never limit students' curiosity. Books and newspapers from around the world available at library. We have high speed internet access earlier than most in Asia. No blocking of information sites.

It's not the lack of information but the culture of not questioning teachers in the schools that play a part and it follows when the person grows up. If he is authorative figure will not allow anyone to question him. If he is subordinate will not question superior.

Things are changing now, though.

ns made it worse.....cant even challenge an order and thats what male Singaporean have to go through!

Edited by Eviilusion

I remembered during my ns, we had a fuel camp. During a fall in parade, one mate was slow because he had to pack some of his items. To avoid punishment, all the other recruits didn't dare to help him and rushed to fall in. I went to help this poor mate and in the end received punishment for being late. The sergeant saw me helping him and this is what we get for comradeship. Do we dare to challenge the sergeant?

thats why most singaporean guys who had served ns especially the army fear to go against the leadership. 18 is the age where life lessons are learnt and ingrained into the mind. At that age where those around the world go against the establishment with their version of life......we got thrown into the fire, cant say no to an order, somebody else's mistake became ours, punished for just not being to task......all these make us into the man we are now. Good or bad, its how one perceive it......i still remembered having to book out late after the sargeant accused me of answering with a bombastic language. I oni said i was engrossed with what was commanded.....kns....sargeant said 1st bookout 3 hrs later! Dont say defaulters or confinement ....i kana until desensitize liao...and all because of the others...knn! Edited by Eviilusion