10 days self drive in Hokkaido

Victor68

This price look quite attractive for 8 days.  Budget rental book under ToCoo.

But I still prefer to look for SUV like  Forester,  RAV 4 or Harrier. 

RAV 4 or Harrier for 8 days from Toyota Rental will cost around 170k Yen before add on. 😰

Screenshot_20240225_101234_Chrome.jpg

Edited by Tohto

On 2/25/2024 at 10:15 AM, Tohto said:

This price look quite attractive for 8 days.  Budget rental book under ToCoo.

But I still prefer to look for SUV like  Forester,  RAV 4 or Harrier. 

RAV 4 or Harrier for 8 days from Toyota Rental will cost around 170k Yen before add on. 😰

Screenshot_20240225_101234_Chrome.jpg

For Hokkaido even in the city, driving large SUVs still ok... but not in other large cities on Honshu island though...

Been to all the usual places?

Already done Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Nara etc

Here is something different

MIL's last view of Fuji before coming done very quickly.

This picture is for illustration only and not a picture of my MIL!

image.png.cb91c15d11138933e48be3873939cd4b.png

image.png.76fe39d4516502aa9de123f979ee11d9.png

image.png.c8340ae102acedb1ba5d856b0005f385.png

image.png.0426acda894923e66798892c14939046.png

image.png.9ee698cc077c1430e408596b52fa0c87.png

image.png.5b6bbac7dcd8324a8c3357a14336da9c.png

image.png.d59af93eff3ce4c5840afb89702db91e.png

On 2/28/2024 at 2:23 PM, Matoonia said:

Just booked flight from ANA to Hokkaido in June. Cost $5,450 for 4 pax. 

image.png.c9a00dc8e9d407f4e536549f35a1df7e.png

I never like red eye flight even it save time on traveling on the day.

My trip this coming late June to Hokkaido book in last Oct all take the day flight is cheaper at $810 per person. Also on ANA and transit in Tokyo.

On 2/28/2024 at 5:43 PM, Tohto said:

My trip this coming late June to Hokkaido book in last Oct all take the day flight is cheaper at $810 per person. Also on ANA and transit in Tokyo.

Wow that's a very good price.. At first we intended to go end of year, but my wife can't stand the cold, so just decide to go in June.

Most of the available timing for us either a longer transit (more than 1.5 hours) or land at night, which we try to avoid. Anyway the kids and us quite well trained to sleep on flight lol 

Now is to see what car to book or shd we even rent a car at all

On 2/29/2024 at 9:22 AM, Matoonia said:

Wow that's a very good price.. At first we intended to go end of year, but my wife can't stand the cold, so just decide to go in June.

Most of the available timing for us either a longer transit (more than 1.5 hours) or land at night, which we try to avoid. Anyway the kids and us quite well trained to sleep on flight lol 

Hokķaido is big. To fully exploit Hokkaido especially country side that has limited public transport.  Rental car is the best.  Now Jun is beginning of summer. Driving will be easy.

Edited by Tohto

Buy her Canadian Goose Pakka and she will not have any cold problem

😂

My wife also cannot stand cold.  She took my DAK jacket to London in mid-January.

It is warm enough for her.

I don't like also. but bo pian sometimes as my leave time is limited. 

ok, wifey says this year go London visit some frens and then go highlands in October.....since she has not been to London...she is ok....planning starts now!! hehehheh :yeah-im-not-drunk:

On 2/29/2024 at 10:34 AM, inlinesix said:

Buy her Canadian Goose Pakka and she will not have any cold problem

😂

My wife also cannot stand cold.  She took my DAK jacket to London in mid-January.

It is warm enough for her.

She very troublesome dun like to wear those thick jackets although can't take cold that well. ai sui mai mia. 

Last Dec we went Barcelona. I think that is the ideal weather for her 10-20deg. 

On 2/29/2024 at 1:36 PM, Matoonia said:

She very troublesome dun like to wear those thick jackets although can't take cold that well. ai sui mai mia. 

Last Dec we went Barcelona. I think that is the ideal weather for her 10-20deg. 

Got sui sui 1 la

https://www.canadagoose.com/ca/en/shelburne-parka-3802W.html

https://www.moncler.com/en-sg/women/outerwear/long-down-jackets/cavettaz-long-down-jacket-white-I20931C0002968950034.html

On 2/28/2024 at 2:23 PM, Matoonia said:

Just booked flight from ANA to Hokkaido in June. Cost $5,450 for 4 pax. 

image.png.c9a00dc8e9d407f4e536549f35a1df7e.png

Wah... the tickets still so expensive eh??? What happened to the direct flights now? Thought they were going to resume those to Chitose this year?

You're travelling outside the June holiday period I think... last week of June = back to school already according to MOE calendar on their website...

Confirm plus chop rent a car bro... drives on the same side as us, very little traffic outside of the cities... most cost effective and can stop as and when you like... it's really the best option... you're fully in control...