Your loot of the day

DACH

On 12/14/2024 at 5:22 PM, Carbon82 said:

For my rental unit. Family of 3 should be just nice. Recently bought quite a few items for my new tenants, who will be shifting in end of this month, but all cheap cheap set. If spoiled in a few year time, just throw and get a new set.

8.5Kg washing machine @$238

1a82e8fb1f005bb8b9b15153434843f1.webp

3 seater PU leather sofa, Queen size bed with mattress @$283

sg-11134207-7rd6j-luq0mbjyh80n86

f07f34fc79ae206c82159537bb5e7efa

Back to the frdge, my mum got a similar size LG fridge from Best Denki, paid ~$700 even after using the $300 climate voucher, kena carrot for sure. I told her can get better and cheaper one online, she said cannot see the actual unit she don't want. I guess all these electrical store are surviving because of senior shoppers like my mum... 😅

Hmm no lah. Buy fridge for own use for sure is need to see it in person one. I'm quite particular about the layout of a fridge.

How everything goes together. Some fridge shelves are irksome the way they are designed. Some are only for 1.5L pet bottles. Some are designed to put condiment jars etc. Some are too shallow some are too deep. Etc. 

That's why both my fridges are LG. 

Everyday use products minimally must not irritate you on usage. 

On 12/14/2024 at 5:31 PM, Dafansu said:

2 ticks only, pay more for electricity. 

I know, but since tenant is paying their utility bill, no my primary concerns. If for own use, confirm will be 3 or 4 ticks. :D

On 12/14/2024 at 5:41 PM, Lala81 said:

Hmm no lah. Buy fridge for own use for sure is need to see it in person one. I'm quite particular about the layout of a fridge.

How everything goes together. Some fridge shelves are irksome the way they are designed. Some are only for 1.5L pet bottles. Some are designed to put condiment jars etc. Some are too shallow some are too deep. Etc. 

That's why both my fridges are LG. 

I know, but what I am suggesting is that we still can take a look at the actual fridge at store, than I will get it online, she just don't want to go that route, since the sales person already show and explained to her everything about the fridge... Like my grandfather days, everything talk about 人情味. For me, dollar and cent come first, especially when the difference is in hundreds...

For fridge (personal use), I stick with Panasonic. My current unit has served me well for 13 years and still counting... [:)]

On 12/14/2024 at 5:28 PM, Tohto said:

Your Accord was bought around $150k previously right? 

Can get car around this price range?

Around 161k or so. 

Just use my wife's car more fully now lor in the interim. I got somewhat of a direct bus to get home from work also. 

Get something at near peak Coe supply in 2026/2027. Don't think can afford two cars anymore. Last time is cos forgo maid can somewhat justify for convenience.

• Sad 1

On 12/14/2024 at 5:50 PM, Carbon82 said:

I know, but since tenant is paying their utility bill, no my primary concerns. If for own use, confirm will be 3 or 4 ticks. :D

I know, but what I am suggesting is that we still can take a look at the actual fridge at store, than I will get it online, she just don't want to go that route, since the sales person already show and explained to her everything about the fridge... Like my grandfather days, everything talk about 人情味. For me, dollar and cent come first, especially when the difference is in hundreds...

For fridge (personal use), I stick with Panasonic. My current unit has served me well for 13 years and still counting... [:)]

Depends on the difference of course. 

If it's like apple store or whatever experience store, then I don't mind buying online cos the sales person is being paid to share the experience.

Some places nowadays can try to price match to some degree. I don't believe the difference is that big for most things here in sg unless it's comparing sale price to non sale price. They are all held by the distributor anyway unless it's a specific model by best denki say for some washing machines. 

Anyway the last time I bought my 2nd fridge was during circuit breaker. 

But I'm also the kinda guy that don't test drive cars just for the fun of it. Only if I'm seriously considering. My 2 fridges also 12 years and 4 years. 

On 12/12/2024 at 8:46 PM, Volvobrick said:

Hooted a few things 12.12 include 2 Panasonic /KDK stand fan for about 77 each. Never so cheap before. 

Plus a replacement Sharp microwave (bought back exact same model - still selling after maybe 10 years!), hard disk and another TV stick. Helping the Sg retail sector. 

I bought Panasonic 16” stand fan. Press button cannot ever spoil type for $77.60 at shopee Panasonic sale on 16oct2024. So possible and seems like they periodically run this sale. 

On 12/14/2024 at 9:53 PM, Mkl22 said:

I bought Panasonic 16” stand fan. Press button cannot ever spoil type for $77.60 at shopee Panasonic sale on 16oct2024. So possible and seems like they periodically run this sale. 

I got like 3 kdk 16" stand fans in boxes in my storeroom. Used for 7 years. No issues other than having rusty grille covers. I keeping them for the apocalypse since I switched to 100% ceiling fans for my place. 

On 12/14/2024 at 10:10 PM, Lala81 said:

I got like 3 kdk 16" stand fans in boxes in my storeroom. Used for 7 years. No issues other than having rusty grille covers. I keeping them for the apocalypse since I switched to 100% ceiling fans for my place. 

Sometimes I'll go around at night and look for stand fans that people throw away with the logo KDK. But alas, I find none, only those cheap brands, that I also don't want. 😁

On 12/14/2024 at 5:22 PM, Carbon82 said:

For my rental unit. Family of 3 should be just nice. Recently bought quite a few items for my new tenants, who will be shifting in end of this month, but all cheap cheap set. If spoiled in a few year time, just throw and get a new set, no headache.

8.5Kg washing machine @$238

1a82e8fb1f005bb8b9b15153434843f1.webp

3 seater PU leather sofa, Queen size bed with mattress @$283

sg-11134207-7rd6j-luq0mbjyh80n86

f07f34fc79ae206c82159537bb5e7efa

Back to the frdge, my mum got a similar size LG fridge from Best Denki, paid ~$700 even after using the $300 climate voucher, kena carrot for sure. I told her can get better and cheaper one online, she said cannot see the actual unit she don't want. I guess all these electrical store are surviving because of senior shoppers like my mum... 😅

The items you got for your rental unit really dirty cheap. No wonder people always say don’t rent cause landlord always provide the most cheapo stuff that they can find, and yet tenants paid ex rental fee and landlord pocket huge amount of rental every month. 😅

On 12/15/2024 at 6:15 AM, Kb27 said:

Sometimes I'll go around at night and look for stand fans that people throw away with the logo KDK. But alas, I find none, only those cheap brands, that I also don't want. 😁

I think the moment the fan threw out, very fast the item disappeared liao, no need to wait until night. Esp the item is good brand.  Lol.

On 12/15/2024 at 8:09 AM, 13177 said:

I think the moment the fan threw out, very fast the item disappeared liao, no need to wait until night. Esp the item is good brand.  Lol.

I threw out a lot of things before I moved. Sometimes ten minutes already gone. Picked by the scavengers. 

On 12/15/2024 at 9:01 AM, Lala81 said:

I threw out a lot of things before I moved. Sometimes ten minutes already gone. Picked by the scavengers. 

Ya, recently doing spring cleaning, some items i left it downstairs at the rubbish area, less than few minutes gone liao. Even laundry poles also gone in speed seconds. Lol.

On 12/14/2024 at 9:19 PM, Lala81 said:

Depends on the difference of course. 

If it's like apple store or whatever experience store, then I don't mind buying online cos the sales person is being paid to share the experience.

Some places nowadays can try to price match to some degree. I don't believe the difference is that big for most things here in sg unless it's comparing sale price to non sale price. They are all held by the distributor anyway unless it's a specific model by best denki say for some washing machines. 

Anyway the last time I bought my 2nd fridge was during circuit breaker. 

But I'm also the kinda guy that don't test drive cars just for the fun of it. Only if I'm seriously considering. My 2 fridges also 12 years and 4 years. 

Iirc, the LG fridge my mum bought is also selling at around $700 online, after applying all discount vouchers, BUT without using the $300 climate voucher.

Mum said since have the climate voucher, use it lah... As with VES rebate, all these handout indirectly goes into the dealer's / retailer's pocket.

On 12/15/2024 at 8:07 AM, 13177 said:

The items you got for your rental unit really dirty cheap. No wonder people always say don’t rent cause landlord always provide the most cheapo stuff that they can find, and yet tenants paid ex rental fee and landlord pocket huge amount of rental every month. 😅

If the tenants know how to take care of things, I wouldn't mind buying them better stuffs but I have enough of not so good experience for the past many years.

When I first rented out the unit, I pass the tenants a 1 year old Hitachi fridge, 5 year old leather sofa with stainless steel leg, 6 year old Fujitsu system 4 aircon, and a new washer $700 Samsung washer. Within 3 years, all spoiled. The tenants are in white collar position, not student or blue collar workers. Even when I switched to family, wear and tear rate is just slightly better (and that is with new replacement appliances).

Thus I said, buy cheap set, spoil just throw and buy new one. 

On 12/16/2024 at 9:32 AM, Carbon82 said:

Iirc, the LG fridge my mum bought is also selling at around $700 online, after applying all discount vouchers, BUT without using the $300 climate voucher.

Mum said since have the climate voucher, use it lah... As with VES rebate, all these handout indirectly goes into the dealer's / retailer's pocket.

If the tenants know how to take care of things, I wouldn't mind buying them better stuffs but I have enough of not so good experience for the past many years.

When I first rented out the unit, I pass the tenants a 1 year old Hitachi fridge, 5 year old leather sofa with stainless steel leg, 6 year old Fujitsu system 4 aircon, and a new washer $700 Samsung washer. Within 3 years, all spoiled. The tenants are in white collar position, not student or blue collar workers. Even when I switched to family, wear and tear rate is just slightly better (and that is with new replacement appliances).

Thus I said, buy cheap set, spoil just throw and buy new one. 

Agreed lo, over 90% of tenants cannot take care of things, not only items, even doors/wall/windows/pipes also can kaput. I heard horror stories from my friends who have rented out their flat. Lol.

cheap shoe to wear at work and cny. 20 dollars. Definitely can't be worse than the one from bata. 

School shoes for the new year unfortunately sizes not quite congruent. Bought for my dg, end up more suitable for my son. My son's pair bit too tight. Have to find a way to hand me down to someone. 

IMG_20241216_165600.jpg

On 12/16/2024 at 4:59 PM, Lala81 said:

cheap shoe to wear at work and cny. 20 dollars. Definitely can't be worse than the one from bata. 

School shoes for the new year unfortunately sizes not quite congruent. Bought for my dg, end up more suitable for my son. My son's pair bit too tight. Have to find a way to hand me down to someone. 

IMG_20241216_165600.jpg

Shoes from bata not all are bad la, some shoes from bata still cheap and good. Lol.

On 12/17/2024 at 10:50 PM, 13177 said:

Shoes from bata not all are bad la, some shoes from bata still cheap and good. Lol.

Previously, My shoe sole dropped apart at work and I went to the nearest bata to buy a pair of shoes. Similar to what I bought this time.