NSmen Moonlighting is an Offence

1) moonlighting while in uniform is a no no. Why? Cos you are deemed to be on duty. So if you grab hitch what if you were activated? Either you dump the passenger irresponsibly or ignore your duty.

This one maybe make a bit of sense, but GrabHitch is not moonlighting. It is literally, on the way to/from home and work. If really last minute kena call back then just say sorry to the passenger and drop them off lor. But if like that then literally every man also will kena what.

I find this whole thing utterly ridiculous and f**ked up TBH. People do GrabHitch also KPKB. Nonsense.

It seems common to be ashamed of the uniform.

In other countries, people are proud to be serving their countries and are given respect.

Here, we all try to hide them.

So much for defending the country.

Exactly.

There's no pride in being a soldier here. Get treated like shit, inside and out.

The SIA chiobus in uniform are not allowed to use public transport, by the way [laugh]. As for eating in kopitiam, correct me if wrong, I don't think got such rule.

No la. I've seen SQ staff eat at restaurant/food court/kopi tiam so many times outside before.

They not so strict one la.

This one maybe make a bit of sense, but GrabHitch is not moonlighting. It is literally, on the way to/from home and work. If really last minute kena call back then just say sorry to the passenger and drop them off lor. But if like that then literally every man also will kena what.

I find this whole thing utterly ridiculous and f**ked up TBH. People do GrabHitch also KPKB. Nonsense.

Exactly.

There's no pride in being a soldier here. Get treated like shit, inside and out.

I disagree on one point and half on another.

1) in uniform you are deemed on duty. Off uniform you are not. If you are called back while in uniform it's irresponsible to drop your passenger off. If in civvies it's bo pian.

2) I wanted to say that I do consider grab hitching as moonlighting but I suddenly think to myself what's the difference between between hitchhiking and grab hitch? If grab hitch is just an electronic version of sticking out your thumb for a ride (with some payment for the convenience ) then yeah I agree it's not moonlighting.

I do agree with your point no pride in being a soldier. Treated like shit in and out of camp but that's the way life is in a country that pursues material wealth above all else.

that's what we think lor...apparently need to seek permission nia.....walau...

Go DB, he can forget abt promotion too....think he better career switch after contract finish

last time i also worked part time on fast food restaurant during my NS days .... i office hours ... so after book, out, go to work part-time to make some extra money .... last time very jialat ... $230/mth ... how to survive ??

If she's scared then go n take taxi or look for hitch drivers in police uniform LOL.

Her journey was short from Kovan to Sengkang - $3.50 fare. What's there to be fear of?

She cheap skate lah.

If she take PHV or taxi alone, such things will not happened.

Actually, for the record, I am never ashame of my uniform. In fact, I am proud of it not matter how much I biatch about having to go back for ICT. 

Reason why I prefer not to wear my uniform outside of official duties and requirement, is simply there is no need to wear them and no real benefit in wearing them out and about. Not as if I get 20% discount if I wear my uniform to vo watch a movie or take the train. Whenever I am in uniform, i tend to be more conscious of my posture, gait, what I do. So not in uniform is less stressful for me. 

Just like I always tell the NSF/NSmen who are my subordinate, when outside of camp/base, see me, don't call me sir. 

I also introduce myself or when someone ask me how to address myself, I always tell them to call me "Mr XXX". No need to have them call me Dr XXX. 

Whenever I sign off on email, if it is official profession related capacity, I'll sign off with Dr in front and leave my credentials and qualifications. 

On the other hand, I will sign off as Mr Xxx if it is outside of professional realm.

So you see, it is not shame, just respect for the uniform amd not to abuse the uniform or any professional status associated with oneself. 

It seems common to be ashamed of the uniform.

In other countries, people are proud to be serving their countries and are given respect.

Here, we all try to hide them.

So much for defending the country.

Weird. I do grabhitch too and have never seen a $3.50 ride.

Minimum $5.

Unless they have some private arrangement then after that the biatchhhh buey song with something.

i think it is only fair you should delcare to your employer if you have other biz. even if you are a director, it is not just conflict of interest, your other biz may also affect your performance. 

however, i understand some people sits in multiples boards. while these people are private individual sitting in orivate boards, it it none of our biz. however, if public is paying, please limit to 2 max. dont be greedy. 

Just like I always tell the NSF/NSmen who are my subordinate, when outside of camp/base, see me, don't call me sir. 

last time my OC ... no paper so stuck at captain ... so after his final term, he left and became insurance agent.

i bought policy from him .... but every time i see him, i still called him "Sir" ... he was also uncomfortable and kept telling me to call him by name. Although he did not really do much for me in tekong, but i still respected him as my CO. Chinese saying : one day a teacher, forever a teacher.

Edited by Ysc3

Moonlighting as an offence lands SAF office in trouble. Kanna 2 weeks detention? and $2k

poor chap

moonlight.jpg

So it's LTA fault for promoting carpooling via apps?

Minimum $5.

Unless they have some private arrangement then after that the biatchhhh buey song with something.

Maybe she was not the only passenger. There were 3 others so the bill was split and thats why she not happy that got 3 other stranger passengers. [laugh]

hahahhaaa...yah perhaps

Minimum $5.

most prob its after promotional discount? i remember previously there was some $6 off grabhitch?