Benarsenal Turbocharged August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 To be honest, my opinion is that this forum is TOO diverse. Personally I don't really go elsewhere except General Car Discussion and Lite & EZ. Occasionally I go the individual car brands/models area but nowadays also not so much liao. All the makan and travel and etc forums I don't even enter. Maybe some people find a bit too much, overload of information. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Still2016 Twincharged August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 I resign with or without alcohol? But on the serious note, I honestly think your concept of merging has merit as it makes topics easier to follow. In some other forums, everyday there is probably a new thread but of similar topic. Many here, I am sure appreciate the hard work deep in the heart but I guess being in an Asian society we don't free show our appreciate. OK, so what you want as reward (we all can chip in)? An electric chair for you too? 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 Govt already tell us, going car-lite. Sooner or later here become My Car-Lite Forum. Honestly I don't see a positive future ahead. Like someone said, nowadays young people less interested in cars already. Then we Singaporeans should be united and go towards PAP lite as well. The trend of the economy these days is going more towards digital, and more money are flowing outwards instead of within the country's economy. If the govt still do not want to continue spur the internal economy with people motivated to buy big ticket items, sooner or later, the whole economy of Singapore will become money lite instead. Look at how the govt's rhetoric idea stagnant the economy for the past years, retail market is almost dead, people are not spending and the younger generation are instead less motivated and more worried of the future. Now looking at the state of our country is in, there seems to be lesser income for the country and the govt is beginning to tax more on basic necessities and now even want to tax on food, i.e. sugar tax. And it affects everyone, old, young, rich, poor. Somemore coming. http://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/tax-system-needs-to-keep-up-with-disruptions-indranee And young people are leaving this country, and one of the reasons is that necessities like houses and cars are so unaffordable, compared to other places. I would probably be leaving too if opportunity comes. For the younger generations, not all are less interested in cars. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/desire-to-own-cars-still-strong-among-the-young To some of my younger friends whom I talked to, they still hope to buy a car when they work. Others hope to get one but far stretched because too expensive. But green cars is something I have to admit that we cannot escape. Even if not for the environment, one day the oil well will still dry up and we need alternative fuels to keep moving. I had killed off all the other troll. Nothing to play anymore... so I retire... waiting for the next batch of young troll... Young people don't troll these days, coz scared being condemned online. Wah.. this thread started at 1.18pm.. the replies till now consider alot liao lo.. haha Forums are a dying tend.. the other forums that I have been visiting over the years is almost dead. Most need certain post before one have access to buy/sell or markplace rights. Haha Most of them shifted to FB.. so many groups of common interests are there..the replies are faster. No min post to buy/sell etc. Newbies will post thread and ask for comments on which car model is better (e.g. A vs B) WHEN they have alread mentally decide which one to get and rebutting all negative comments made by other.. haha How to boost posting rate? I will agree with others not to merage newly posted thread with too old thread.. make reading them funny.. How to increase the posting? Seriously I have no good idea.. think I'll do my part to reply more instead of just reading them 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sadan 6th Gear August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 Then we Singaporeans should be united and go towards PAP lite as well. The trend of the economy these days is going more towards digital, and more money are flowing outwards instead of within the country's economy. If the govt still do not want to continue spur the internal economy with people motivated to buy big ticket items, sooner or later, the whole economy of Singapore will become money lite instead. Look at how the govt's rhetoric idea stagnant the economy for the past years, retail market is almost dead, people are not spending and the younger generation are instead less motivated and more worried of the future. Now looking at the state of our country is in, there seems to be lesser income for the country and the govt is beginning to tax more on basic necessities and now even want to tax on food, i.e. sugar tax. And it affects everyone, old, young, rich, poor. Somemore coming. http://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/tax-system-needs-to-keep-up-with-disruptions-indranee And young people are leaving this country, and one of the reasons is that necessities like houses and cars are so unaffordable, compared to other places. I would probably be leaving too if opportunity comes. For the younger generations, not all are less interested in cars. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/desire-to-own-cars-still-strong-among-the-young To some of my younger friends whom I talked to, they still hope to buy a car when they work. Others hope to get one but far stretched because too expensive. But green cars is something I have to admit that we cannot escape. Even if not for the environment, one day the oil well will still dry up and we need alternative fuels to keep moving. Young people don't troll these days, coz scared being condemned online. Actually I regretted joining this forum so late. Missed the peak times of this forum years ago. In my die-cast forum, I have the highest post counts, over 10k posts. In another forum during NS, I was named "the most prolific thread starter". If I have started MCF as a member 5 years ago, maybe now I'm 2 Fast 2 Furious liao. Actually here is still ok. Look at HWZ forum. That is called diverse, Hot topics are basically WW3 zones. Haha I join MCF in 2009.. and just 3 gear now. Been reading and lurking more than I post. I'm guilty for not sharing and posting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 think change to a food forum better.. The makan thread very lively lei.. So you see the trend? People don't bother to discuss in forums these days. All just want to post pictures only, like food, and then wait for the number of likes or praises. Haha I join MCF in 2009.. and just 3 gear now. Been reading and lurking more than I post. I'm guilty for not sharing and posting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 Most of these forummers heeded PM Lee advice started exercising and keep fit, where got time to come MCF. Maybe now all making babies because all pre-school going to be good pre-school and sufficient vacancy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 Then we Singaporeans should be united and go towards PAP lite as well. The trend of the economy these days is going more towards digital, and more money are flowing outwards instead of within the country's economy. If the govt still do not want to continue spur the internal economy with people motivated to buy big ticket items, sooner or later, the whole economy of Singapore will become money lite instead. Look at how the govt's rhetoric idea stagnant the economy for the past years, retail market is almost dead, people are not spending and the younger generation are instead less motivated and more worried of the future. Now looking at the state of our country is in, there seems to be lesser income for the country and the govt is beginning to tax more on basic necessities and now even want to tax on food, i.e. sugar tax. And it affects everyone, old, young, rich, poor. Somemore coming. http://www.straitstimes.com/business/economy/tax-system-needs-to-keep-up-with-disruptions-indranee And young people are leaving this country, and one of the reasons is that necessities like houses and cars are so unaffordable, compared to other places. I would probably be leaving too if opportunity comes. For the younger generations, not all are less interested in cars. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/desire-to-own-cars-still-strong-among-the-young To some of my younger friends whom I talked to, they still hope to buy a car when they work. Others hope to get one but far stretched because too expensive. But green cars is something I have to admit that we cannot escape. Even if not for the environment, one day the oil well will still dry up and we need alternative fuels to keep moving. You are right. My eventual end goal is to move overseas, live an easy life and can retire in peace. So now saving up the funds to do so. I've already achieved my goals here (buy car, scratch that itch already), so nothing left for me to stay on for. Living here is tough. Need to work until dead, cannot even afford a decent standard of living. Waste your life for what. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoseyboh Twincharged August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 Haha I join MCF in 2009.. and just 3 gear now. Been reading and lurking more than I post. I'm guilty for not sharing and posting 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 When i first joined, it was bustling with activities. In the past, a lot of happy ppl around, and when the roads are not so congested, a lot of ppl really enjoy driving. Things started to change with the population explosion + social media.. With now cars so expensive, less and less ppl drive. Even I don't own a car in SG anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 21, 2017 Share August 21, 2017 When i first joined, it was bustling with activities. In the past, a lot of happy ppl around, and when the roads are not so congested, a lot of ppl really enjoy driving. Things started to change with the population explosion + social media.. With now cars so expensive, less and less ppl drive. Even I don't own a car in SG anymore. u not even in sg hahahha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged August 22, 2017 Share August 22, 2017 u not even in sg hahahha Had the car up to last yr and it got scrapped.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged August 22, 2017 Share August 22, 2017 Used to have a poor chap having a thread to detail his workshop adventures with his VW Jetta. That one was pretty popular. We need more sob stories! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 22, 2017 Share August 22, 2017 Used to have a poor chap having a thread to detail his workshop adventures with his VW Jetta. That one was pretty popular. We need more sob stories! hahahaha..paging @keithchue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic August 22, 2017 Share August 22, 2017 You are right. My eventual end goal is to move overseas, live an easy life and can retire in peace. So now saving up the funds to do so. I've already achieved my goals here (buy car, scratch that itch already), so nothing left for me to stay on for. Living here is tough. Need to work until dead, cannot even afford a decent standard of living. Waste your life for what. Smart move. Work towards your own goals. Let the "patriots" waste their life for the country. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 22, 2017 Share August 22, 2017 Had the car up to last yr and it got scrapped..I guess you are one of the lucky ones to leave SG for good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleandero 5th Gear August 22, 2017 Share August 22, 2017 i think MCF is a good forum, or rather its the only forum that I frequent almost daily. i do agree that the forum is getting quieter. usually i can spend a few hours catching up the new threads but these days, probably an hour is all it takes as nothing much catches the eye? probably cos most of the people are getting lazy in typing their comments or creates new posts? and i do surf MCF in the office, sometimes the dp or pix posted are NSFW (referring to non tagged NSFW threads). when they sudden pop up and my boss walks by, i get a mini heart attack!! LOL what i love most is the people here! definitely more friendly than anywhere else (online i mean).. i started an account here to source for some information / help a few years back and got stuck here ever since! good job MCF team and its members! 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic August 22, 2017 Share August 22, 2017 (edited) Only 2 days already 9 pages. The last time a thread was so active was this: "Public statement by Lee Wei Ling and Lee Hsien Yang" Edited August 22, 2017 by DACH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged August 22, 2017 Share August 22, 2017 One thing I really dislike here is cannot praise a post by someone until give praise to 9 other members. I agree with this. Please be more flexible on the praising system. I like to praise people. I praise when I agree and also to acknowledge the post but I only have limited praising power each day. Once I hit the praising power, I will log out and come back the next day. This will discourage me from spending longer time in the forum. BTW, I have not seen @TVT and @pisces69 in the forum for a long time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...