Why is MCF so quiet these days?

Tianmo

One thing I really dislike here is cannot praise a post by someone until give praise to 9 other members.

Agree, they need to relax the rules a little bit. 

Methinks this is a sneaky way for Tianmo to get thread of the month.. [laugh]

Hor? @Tianmo :grin:

Goes without saying haaaaa

On the forum page (web page, not mobile), there are :-

- Most Active Discussions

- Latest Car-Related Discussions

- Latest Non Car-Related Discussions

- Latest New Threads

- Hot Threads of the Month

Personally, I focus on the ones in bold only. Each sector shows 15 threads only and to see more I have to tap "view all". Sometimes see the same old same old thread titles got good got bad, can be familiar and can be boring. So for me, I would suggest the 2 sections be expanded to allow for more threads to be current. Sometimes see a single thread title duplicated in 3 columns (eg, Latest Discussion, Latest New Thread, Hot Thread) so it gives the impression of lack of content. I usually ignore the last 2 columns. iirc, the previous MCF format showed more threads on the forum page than present.

I think many folks nowadays want quick and instant answers so don't like to browse thru long long threads and see wall of words. But I do look at such long long threads as it is also a rich data base and has continuity. So that is a personal user preference, I suppose.

So my simple suggestion is to rejig the format page a bit to allow for more threads to be displayed, looks more diverse and more vibrant. I am used to this forum and can navigate around quite OK, but maybe we need to freshen up a bit so as to capture more eyeballs and get new ones to contribute their experiences.

Personally, i Only look at latest discussions also. Rest i search for.

sorry bro.. this i totally disagree... what i like about this forum 

is the unbiased GENUINE feedback about an array of topics.. 

so many things online have vested interests... and even sponsored...  

so.... forums.. will not die... 

quite true.

Genuine feedback is what most people really prize. Just like amazon and it's customer reviews. Or similarly tripadvisor

I propose:

Post count 1000 gets $10 NTUC voucher

Praise point 10,000 get $100 NTUC voucher

:a-happy:

No no no.

I propose standardised one post one dollar. And suddenly you will find here flooding with posts. Heck. No one post I will just post to earn. Hahaha.

Seriously, even the meet up WhatsApp group is silent now. Hmm. Maybe members have a better life outside?

And maybe more events can be organised by MCF. Events like the one at the car showrooms la. Or dinners (semi sponsored ones) also can.

Personally, i Only look at latest discussions also. Rest i search for.

quite true.

Genuine feedback is what most people really prize. Just like amazon and it's customer reviews. Or similarly tripadvisor

I contribute a fair bit in TripAdvisor hotel review and in forum [laugh]

tell me about it man, those were the days, where MCF was very informative and fun.  We get news faster than any reporters and ppl share information willingly.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Hahaha.. yeah lo.. and nice to see all giving their own inputs and I regularly have to prepare popcorn LOL

The new generation seems don't like to read and type. They like to watch and take videos, see pictures. Rather different generation.

But there's also a lot of misinformation in those Youtube videos and live streaming, I find such media often don't encourage discussion. More like choose what you like you see and follow. There's a lot of click bait to attract followers.

MCF also need to create click baits like Staff69 pics in the exercise thread attracting many blue oyster boys. [laugh]

MCF should give him NTUC vouchers.

I didn't realize i so old already.  [furious]

contribute in SBF counted boss?  [;)]  [:p]

yah everyday hv fight summore hahahahhaa

knn mod jin busy :XD:

Boss... ho boh? Long time no see..

Last seen at Bosch event few years ago LOL

you go hotel very often hah ?  [laugh]

btw, think i saw some quoting 5.73 for HKD on the cashchanger website today.

Edited by Blueray

i always search for singaporean reviews on tripadvisor. But nowadays agoda, booking.com etc also have their own reviews which are decent.

sorry bro.. this i totally disagree... what i like about this forum

is the unbiased GENUINE feedback about an array of topics..

so many things online have vested interests... and even sponsored...

so.... forums.. will not die...

Not 100% die but probably getting more inactive. Like Jman888 said, the younger generation is more interested in pictures and videos, than typing and chatting.

My die-cast forum died, because of Facebook as it is easier to post pictures and videos than the cumbersome steps in the forum. And pictures are half of the content in that forum that kept the discussion going. When they shifted more towards Facebook, the forum become dead almost instantly within three months. Now even hearsay the Facebook page is even not so active with discussions, and just more active in pictures posting.

The forum even worse. Nobody posted anything for the past 2-3 years, except me. Once every few months, and not 10-20 posts when the forum was at its peak. Now is like ownself talking to ownself.

Sibei cham.

Not 100% die but probably getting more inactive. Like Jman888 said, the younger generation is more interested in pictures and videos, than typing and chatting.

My die-cast forum died, because of Facebook as it is easier to post pictures and videos than the cumbersome steps in the forum. And pictures are half of the content in that forum that kept the discussion going. When they shifted more towards Facebook, the forum become dead almost instantly within three months. Now even hearsay the Facebook page is even not so active with discussions, and just more active in pictures posting.

The forum even worse. Nobody posted anything for the past 2-3 years, except me. Once every few months, and not 10-20 posts when the forum was at its peak. Now is like ownself talking to ownself.

Sibei cham. ð

I have observed that there are still newbies coming in and these newbies are some who bought their first rides or changed rides. But most of them just asked some questions about their new cars and then became inactive after they got their information.

Probably old birds should try to engage the newbies more.

agree, FB, Instagram, Pinterest, even FB the young people dun use liao.

Times are bad. Some can't even afford to keep their car. The car is becoming more expensive dan before. When coe cost is low many ppl come in to talk about cars....and TKSS. Now got what VES approaching mass market car buyers will be mostly affected, many just cannot afford. Those who can will buy a car by year end. Those who can't will renew coe or give up altogether. Where got mood to come here to talk cars?

It's tough with our pockets constantly being assaulted by you know who. Sian 1/2. MCF maybe can change name.

Actually times are really bad. News of retrenchment, poor profits and poor job market tells a lot that our economy is not just slowing but probably stagnating in future.

Just hope that the economy will be revived and more will afford their rides, else the economy of the country will become unsustainable because internal consumer consumption levels keep decreasing. Can see now the govt is desperate for money already. Things like sugar tax, unimaginable in the past, now coming to tax, everyone.

you go hotel very often hah ? [laugh]

btw, think i saw some quoting 5.73 for HKD on the cashchanger website today.

I try to post most of the hotel I stayed, hotel 81 not included [laugh]

saw 5.73 at my place also, duno should wait or not, the trip is in end Oct.

agree, FB, Instagram, Pinterest, even FB the young people dun use liao.

Young ppl use instagram & snapchat la.

Juz look at Ariana Grande (112m), Taylor Swift (102m) or Taeyeon (10.2m) instagram follower.

Young ppl use instagram & snapchat la.

Juz look at Ariana Grande (112m), Taylor Swift (102m) or Taeyeon (10.2m) instagram follower.

Snap shares drop a lot recently. Even they are losing out.

I think FB and instagram are destroying almost every social media site out there with the exception of Reddit which is the current ultimate forum.

First of all, doing that.......you will mainly attract @Jamesc.....

Second, all the tiko rangers will start to appreciate fashion and beauty products..... :D

Women interest is a very big area and Jamesc is not interested in most of it.

Take wearing make up and clothes. Jamesc believes in natural beauty and

thinks women should use as little as possible. Best is not wear any at all.

The only area he is interested in is making babies. This is something that 

keeps him up all night. 

Since 4 mods are here,  I have a request. 

This thread is meant to discuss, share views and give  opinions on we think mcf is getting quiet,  so we do not expect to hear only the good things,  or only allow views from one side. Along the way,  there will be nasty comments and mayb something personal against anyone.  As long as it is objective , I hope we all take it with an open mind. 

So I request that we allow members to air their views here,  new bird old bird no differents,  and not taking unnecessary actions if not warrant for. Like banning a person with different views,   moderate them without a proper reason,  or lock and disappear this thread suddenly. 

If we want ppl to participate,  we must also ensure it is safe to participate. 

I hope not too much to ask for.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh] 

@radx, @kobayashiGT, @babyblade, @jman888.