Round the world trip

Philipkee

Today did not do much. Slept in late and all that. Cos tomorrow I am moving on to Moscow so need to check that everything is in order (clothes washed and supplies up).

I went to try their dumplings there. Half regretted ordering 6 because they are so big. Oh yeah and I think I getting old. I thought the waiter said "would you like pierre with that?" and I thought he meant mineral water so I said OK. Ended up getting a glass of beer.

Oh yeah and this is the first time I took a picture of the advertisement to show to the waitress when ordering. First time in Russia at least. Did it in Myanmar.

Oh and the first picture is the sculpture of a babr carrying the sable in the mouth. It's the coat of arms for irkutsk.

And the following photos are the shopping area of irkutsk.

And of cos the food.

So I will be offline soon for the next four days or so as I carry on the journey.

post-57859-0-32658200-1530434019_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-27467900-1530434206_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-98136400-1530434296_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-36811400-1530434343_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-06877500-1530434384_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-14383900-1530434450_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-38158000-1530434495_thumb.jpg

Edited by Philipkee

Possible with CC points and air mile.

But not in Singapore.

Nope nvr use point or mile but he chose to use 3rd party website and book multiple flights aka transit then he csn go ard the world lol

can i assume you do not pre-book hotel

always decide on the day where to stay and how many days?

i always like travel with no definite plan but i cannot pass thru the stage with no plan of where to stay [laugh]

once the no of stays are decided, the itinerary more or less there liao

the length of travel also got limit ... pass 15 days (2 weeks) ... my body and mind go blank liao

anything that i see ... place that i go ... sianz already ... lol

Today did not do much. Slept in late and all that. Cos tomorrow I am moving on to Moscow so need to check that everything is in order (clothes washed and supplies up).

I went to try their dumplings there. Half regretted ordering 6 because they are so big. Oh yeah and I think I getting old. I thought the waiter said "would you like pierre with that?" and I thought he meant mineral water so I said OK. Ended up getting a glass of beer.

Oh yeah and this is the first time I took a picture of the advertisement to show to the waitress when ordering. First time in Russia at least. Did it in Myanmar.

Oh and the first picture is the sculpture of a babr carrying the sable in the mouth. It's the coat of arms for irkutsk.

And the following photos are the shopping area of irkutsk.

And of cos the food.

So I will be offline soon for the next four days or so as I carry on the journey.

Just so happen I was in Moscow recently.

If you have abit of free time, beside the must-do Red Square circuit, should also visit this very touristy place called Izmailovsky to get those Russian dolls which are much cheaper compare to those at souvenir shops all over Moscow. Get those handmade ones vs factory made ones. Remember to bargain. While there, should try their traditional grill/bbq meats along a stretch of the stalls. Very delicious. One of the best meals I had there.

post-101253-0-13058700-1530450012_thumb.jpg

post-101253-0-07929800-1530450261_thumb.jpg

post-101253-0-24278500-1530450322_thumb.jpg

post-101253-0-74636500-1530450369_thumb.jpg

If got more time in Moscow, try to sign up for 1 of the walking tours, either paid ones or free. But free ones please also show abit of appreciation by giving a few US dollars lah. I lucky to attend a few walk around Red Square that took about 2 hours, very informative with good English by native woman. Google walking tour in Moscow will show up. 

Also in Moscow try to eat their dumplings again. Not that big.   

Their subway also very established. One of the best in the world with long history. Every station have a theme and very different. But all in Russian language unfortunately.

can i assume you do not pre-book hotel

always decide on the day where to stay and how many days?

i always like travel with no definite plan but i cannot pass thru the stage with no plan of where to stay [laugh]

once the no of stays are decided, the itinerary more or less there liao

the length of travel also got limit ... pass 15 days (2 weeks) ... my body and mind go blank liao

anything that i see ... place that i go ... sianz already ... lol

I try not to pre book too much but I am also not suicidal to book on the day itself :D. I did that on my last big trip in 2004 but I was younger then. Now a bit more risk averse. But with credit card it's not too bad. Worst case stay in exp hotel. Last time must count on dollar by one dollar and MUST stay in cheap hostels or risk running out of money.....

But this trip is unique. Other than length of time but in my previous long trips I tend to stay in one place long (like israel) but this time I am on the move every few days so it gets interesting but also tiring.

I have always wanted to do a round the world trip, by a combination of planes, trains and backpacking.

But I have a constraint. I need a sitting toilet bowl. Can't squat.

Not joking, as age caught up with me.

I am very prone to seasickness but is interested to find out more about cruise ship.

When a big cruise ship is in the middle of the ocean under a bad weather, would the passengers feel very giddy? Do share your experience.

I am very prone to seasickness but is interested to find out more about cruise ship.

When a big cruise ship is in the middle of the ocean under a bad weather, would the passengers feel very giddy? Do share your experience.

From my experience in the cruise, you WILL feel the rocking motion on the boat no matter what. It's just how sensitive you are to it.

Cannot say for bad weather cos the weather was good all the way. So under normal conditions you should be fine.

Try to choose a cabin at the center of the ship to avoid the rocking motion.

If you are worried, try a short 2 or 3 day trip from sg first.

I have always wanted to do a round the world trip, by a combination of planes, trains and backpacking.

But I have a constraint. I need a sitting toilet bowl. Can't squat.

Not joking, as age caught up with me.

It has nothing to do with age.

Go and get trainer to work on your weak muscle.

When i was on cycling trip in Mongolia, there is no proper toilet once we are out of Ulan Bator.

Only hole in the ground.

godspeed TS!

i can only hope i can do this in the next life....if there is one in the first place

Interesting story thank you for sharing your travels and thoughts.

Just one thing to be careful with. If I have understood correctly, you dont presently have an onward ticket out of the USA.

Be aware that you will need to buy this before you attempt to board your flight to the USA or the airline will refuse you carriage (as you dont meet the requirements for entry without it and they are responsible for returning you to your origin, and can also be fined, i believe). 

Safe and happy travels..

You did not take a picture with the syt??? Omg? Why??

knn.....

this is when you must say

vui vvi-gly-tzieh vee-lee-ka-lep-nah

Edited by Mockngbrd

So on the day I was about to leave irkutsk, I nearly lost my breakfast. What happened was that I got a packet of instant noodles and I put it on my bed when a not so SYT came into the dorm and started changing and her butt was almost literally in my face. I sat down in shock and OMG I sat on my instant noodles!!!! But the packet did not break so my breakfast was spared. So ladies and gentlemen, to prevent such mishaps, be like @Jamesc. When he travels he sees the hotel room ceiling. Don't be like me. Stay in mixed dorms :D

Anyway I left the place. I waited at the wrong side of the road for the tram cos even though I was advised differently, I thought it did not make sense as the tram stop was only on one side of the road. Turned out you just follow the sign on the cable overhead. The trams stop in the centre of the road and you just walk across the road to board or leave the tram.

Oh yeah and everyone paid the fare except me. Dunno why no one wants my fare.

And BTW, I downloaded the Google translate for the Russian language and it works even without data or WiFi.

Boarded the train for Moscow. There was a storm brewing as I boarded. Not many pictures now cos it's basically the same as before except that as I headed west, there is much more greenery as opposed to the west (Mongolia etc)

I reached Moscow this morning. Waited for the subway to open to take the train. Had some snafu cos all the signs were in Cyrillic character. But with sign language and some basic English, I managed to get to the train. I had problems deciding which direction to take (I knew the line but not the direction) so I used the Google translate camera to point at the signs and found out where to go. And I asked for help before boarding the train to confirm. Fortunately there was an English translation of the signs in the train itself.

At the metro station, I boarded the bus. Again, I used Google translate to show the bus driver which station to get off. He told me to sit down and refused to accept any fare from me. The way things are going, either I have that innocent look or people just don't want my money hahaha. At the bus stop, I got lost again cos every sign was in Cyrillic and the word hostel was not even written as hostel but in Cyrillic. Saw a smoker around (remind me to love smokers when I get back to Singapore ) and after a lot of sign languages, he gave me a ride instead to the hostel.

So here I am, in the hostel now.

Oh and someone reminded me to get my return ticket before flying to USA. Yeah. Thanks for the reminder. I actually planned to buy it only in USA originally but a lot of stories.emerged about how people were actually threatened with being turned back (cos they bought an exit ticket right at the immigration counter).

My next plan is to see kremlin and the sights but first I focus on washing my clothes (admin and logistics first).

post-57859-0-22418000-1530855216_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-48821600-1530855240_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-46832200-1530855263_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-71559800-1530855280_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-46473900-1530855299_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-04302400-1530855326_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-54057500-1530855371_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-36126900-1530855462_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-22735400-1530855569_thumb.jpg

Edited by Philipkee

I remember in st Petersburg the bus/tram driver does not collect money but a bus conductor lady does. She is in the bus.

@wind30 yes, the conductor collects the fare but in both cases, the conductor knew I was there but just did not collect fare from me but from anyone. Same with the driver today. But I just got a three day pass for Moscow public transport. No sense pushing my luck.

Anyway, one story I just remembered. On my way from irkutsk to Moscow, I slept in the lower bunk and I got two bunk mates. Both were super big size. One slept on the lower bunk next to me while one slept on the upper bunk above me. I was wondering how he would climb up that small ladder when he just when he just pushed himself up using the bed bars of both upper bunks like how we used to do dips. Later, during some TCSS session which was weird using sign language, photos and Google translate, I found out that both men were brothers. The one sleeping next to me is a boxer while the one sleeping above me used to be spetznaz. Wah. The kind of room mates I have.

Anyway since I had time before i checked in, I pushed forward the sightseeing. There was a soccer village at the red square so I went in also to basket in the atmosphere.

post-57859-0-53418000-1530875770_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-24792300-1530875829_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-85233600-1530875856_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-90260800-1530875878_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-68541700-1530875899_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-39480600-1530875920_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-01105200-1530875948_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-86573900-1530875986_thumb.jpg

post-57859-0-97856200-1530876005_thumb.jpg

Today whoever wins France or Uruguay, you can either 1) celebrate wildly with girls from winning team, or 2) weep and drink the sorrows away with girls from the losing team. Won't go wrong either way.

yup,

I bet philip would never expected that russia will still be playing for the world cup :) bonus

If our Philipkee return can Mod please give him a prize (monthly or best thread). He is consistent and takes the trouble to update.

If you dont have the funds, let me know I send you a cheque or do a interbank transfer.

He is one MCForumer that truly contributes.

I may be bias because I enjoy reading his real live travel posting

Thank you.