Amazon Prime Now Launch in Singapore

Ender

On 8/2/2017 at 2:02 AM, RadX said:

our LTA really knee jerk and not prepared for the new economy...wtf...this oso want to regulate and control

Come on lah, Amazon giving jobs and keeping these ppl employed....

LTA has just responded without thinking through.  They have an old stupid rule in place, but to outright to come out and say cannot now, rather than saying they will review it, is even more stupid, as LTA will 100% U-Turn on this issue.

Unless..unless....LTA is trying to create more employment by having 2 persons to be paid to do the job of one driver!

LTA must cum clean, is it just stupid or has hidden agenda?

On 8/2/2017 at 2:08 AM, Volvobrick said:

LTA has just responded without thinking through.  They have an old stupid rule in place, but to outright to come out and say cannot now, rather than saying they will review it, is even more stupid, as LTA will 100% U-Turn on this issue.

Unless..unless....LTA is trying to create more employment by having 2 persons to be paid to do the job of one driver!

LTA must cum clean, is it just stupid or has hidden agenda?

they dun have a clue lah......

i'm not surprised why big companies pull out cos of the damn rules that are archaic...

I think LTA's main aim is to make sure taxis or PHVs are on the road for public transportation needs.

Not doing delivery driving which is strictly a commercial need. And frankly this is something more for logistics companies.

Not surprising for LTA to step in.

On 8/2/2017 at 2:24 AM, Lala81 said:

I think LTA's main aim is to make sure taxis or PHVs are on the road for public transportation needs.

Not doing delivery driving which is strictly a commercial need. And frankly this is something more for logistics companies.

Not surprising for LTA to step in.

I reckon taxi drivers are only doing this during offpeak anyway though. If Amazon is really paying so well for delivery then it is still much cheaper for someone to buy a van and make the deliveries.

On 8/2/2017 at 2:34 AM, Kusje said:

I reckon taxi drivers are only doing this during offpeak anyway though. If Amazon is really paying so well for delivery then it is still much cheaper for someone to buy a van and make the deliveries.

yeah. i mean delivery charge on websites is like 4-5+ dollars only. Sounds very hard to earn for one trip only. Or even if u do a area delivery of 3-4 packages.

if you are on a bike or drive uber, i dun think they can stop anyone from doing part time delivery for amazon or other online shopping. You just need to turn off uber/grab and turn on the delivery app to pick up a job i guess. 

It is more concern for taxi as they can't always turn on 'busy' yet no one in the cab.

On 8/2/2017 at 2:47 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

I believe they pick up and deliver items by area. My Prime Now order arrived after the guy went to several other places in my area, you can watch it on the app, like Uber. He told me he made $30+ for the delivery.

got promo then i buy haha. 

no promo no buy :P

On 8/2/2017 at 2:47 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

I believe they pick up and deliver items by area. My Prime Now order arrived after the guy went to several other places in my area, you can watch it on the app, like Uber. He told me he made $30+ for the delivery.

i think they go by estate, if you can run few units in 3-5 blocks, quite easy money for probably 1 hour.

On 8/2/2017 at 2:57 AM, Jman888 said:

if you are on a bike or drive uber, i dun think they can stop anyone from doing part time delivery for amazon or other online shopping. You just need to turn off uber/grab and turn on the delivery app to pick up a job i guess. 

It is more concern for taxi as they can't always turn on 'busy' yet no one in the cab.

let's say they delivery for jurong. Then they put the sign on "shift change Jurong", haha 2 birds with 1 stone  [laugh]

Taxis, PHVs cannot do courier jobs: LTA

Taxi drivers and private-hire drivers are not allowed to be couriers or deliverymen for goods if there is no passenger on board, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said yesterday.

In response to queries from The Straits Times, an LTA spokesman said: "Under our regulations, taxis and private-hire cars are meant to carry passengers for hire and reward, and cannot be used solely for the conveyance of goods.

"However, passengers who hire a taxi or a private-hire car are allowed to carry goods with them."

LTA was unable to comment immediately on the penalties for infringement, or if anyone has been taken to task yet.

ComfortDelGro, the biggest taxi company here, confirmed its drivers have taken jobs from delivery companies such as Amazon Prime, but maintained that the goods are always accompanied by a passenger.

Drivers, however, said this was not always the case.

Cabby Henry Tay, 48, said: "Previously, there was a fear that what we delivered would be contraband or drugs. But now, with an established company like Amazon, we feel it is quite safe.

"The taxi business is getting slow, so cabbies need to do something to supplement their earnings."

Private-hire driver Tan Ee Hsing, 41, said he has not done any deliveries himself, but has helped direct some 200 drivers to Adecco, Amazon's hiring agent here.

"The rates these delivery companies pay are generally higher than what drivers make from passenger fares," he said.

Premier Taxi managing director Lim Chong Boo said: "We remind our drivers that they are not allowed to perform courier services without anyone on board."

However, he said it was "very difficult" for the authorities to enforce regulations, given that there are about 26,000 taxis and more than 40,000 chauffeured private- hire cars here.

Prime Taxi chairman Neo Nam Heng said the courier business helps drivers optimise capacity during the off-peak hours between 10am and 4pm.

"I have encouraged all the drivers of my fleet of 1,500 taxis to take up such bookings," he said.

Housewife C.N. Yeo, 51, said she has had purchases delivered to her home by a Comfort taxi driver.

Amazon could not respond by press time yesterday.

Lazada, which also owns online grocer RedMart, said it does not use taxis or private-hire cars for deliveries.

Recently got many taxis and PHVs doing deliveries. Soon amazon prime now will stop taking orders again. Tio pwn again

  On 8/2/2017 at 5:51 AM, Mockngbrd said:

Put blow-up doll inside

Good idea

Bring wife/hubby or maid along, one look after car, the other deliver.

Edited by Mcf777

1 courier company i know is paying $3 for small parcel and $5 for big parcel. my regular courier man tell me de...

but if you take into account parking cost, petrol and wear and tear... actually per parcel don't earn alot

On 8/3/2017 at 2:38 AM, Galantspeedz said:

1 courier company i know is paying $3 for small parcel and $5 for big parcel. my regular courier man tell me de...

but if you take into account parking cost, petrol and wear and tear... actually per parcel don't earn alot

Margin is low lah considering what a vehicle, diesel/petrol costs in sg... And constantly driving, walking around delivering parcels is taxing. 

Someone in my reservist unit used to do such deliveries, then branched out into doing tours into malaysia with a Hiace.

On 8/3/2017 at 2:38 AM, Galantspeedz said:

Depends how they arrange it lor. If all clustered then why not? 

Can park in the middle of the delivery zone then go around on a scooter.

I think illegal parking will increase. 

Nevertheless, should be ok because no enforcement.

I saw this OPC parked at the loading/unloading bay for a few days already. 

Edited by Kklee

On 8/3/2017 at 3:19 AM, Kklee said:

I think illegal parking will increase. 

Nevertheless, should be ok because no enforcement.

I saw this OPC parked at the loading/unloading bay for a few days already. 

delivery to housing estate on day time is fine, the hdb car part usually quite empty and run up and down in 5min will not get summon.