Flyover collapses at Upper Changi, PIE

Showster

They will just fine the project manager and tell ppl to move on. Just like the Nicoll Highway collapse. No other ppl is at fault lah. "Have faith." LoL...

I am not trying to blame everything on the authorities or trying put too much pressure on them. 

it is important someone neutral be put in charge on safety and not contract out to 3rd parties. these 3rd parties vying for contract will sign off their pants in order to get the job. 

it does not mean checks by the relevant authorities will not result in accidents but we need to ensure such accidents are mitigated and not repeated. 

MOM is currently having ssome safety reviews. hope is not another exercise of just talks. it is time to take back the inspections before issuing permits or licences. 

However, the authorities’ probe into the September 2015 accident had not concluded at the time the Government was evaluating OKP’s bid for the Upper Changi Road East project although, it was taken into consideration, Dr Lam said.

Reminded me about Regan Lee case, he an still continue to drive on the road, while investigation pending for causing the death of that Mazda SE.

The LTA’s procurement process for construction projects follows BCA guidelines, which take into account the price and quality of bids.

Are LTA looking at just the bid price? Any consideration given to VO (variation order), based on past records (with the same contractor)? I knew of contractors that bid lower to secure a project, but sharpen their knife waiting for VO to come (profits!), which normally is allowed up to 10 - 15% of project sum.

BCA guidelines for the price-quality ratio range from 60:40 for more complex projects to 80:20 for simpler ones. In the viaduct project, the ratio was 70:30, which is common for projects of such complexity, Dr Lam said.

Such standard replies lack transparency again. Under what circumstances to use 60:40 and when to use 80:20? When and how was 70:30 derived at (what an "interesting" number)? I am involved in numerous contract evaluation, and selection criteria as well as weightage has to be made known to every stakeholders (and interested bidders) BEFORE a tender exercise. IF, criteria or weightage were changed after the bids has been received, than foul play cannot be ruled out.

This resulted in OKP faring the worst in terms of quality which measures factors such as safety performance, including a firm’s safety records for the past two years, and its safety management systems. If a bidder fails to meet minimum overall quality requirements, its price envelope “will not even be opened and his bid will be disqualified”, said Dr Lam.

That mean OKP still manage to pass the quality and safety performance part, despite 1 fatal case? So how many fatal cases is tolerable by LTA / BCA standard? Are these inline with MOM stern WSH policy?!!

Separately, firms with poor safety management are placed under the MOM’s Business Under Surveillance programme. Among other things, the ministry will supervise these firms closely to remedy all lapses. After the September 2015 accident, OKP Contractors was not placed under the programme, since MOM inspections at all its worksites detected “no evidence of systemic safety lapses”, Mr Tan said.

Talk is cheap. When MOM, SCDF, NEA, etc. perform spot check on a firm, the firm has to provide data and records as supporting evidences. Beside that, personnel will be observed and interviewed to demonstrate that the system has been fully complied with (else audit would just be another paper exercise). Show all these to us too!

Workers’ Party Non-Constituency MP Daniel Goh asked if there a “vicious circle” exists, whereby contractors submit low price bids at “unrealistic” levels to make up for their price-quality score.

Highly plausible. As I have stated earlier, there are still good money from VOs. In fact, Daniel should probe further and ask how BCA / LTA define what is the reasonable min. project sum, before inviting contractors to tender for a specific project. If they don't have an idea of what is a fair value, then what is consider cheap, reasonable or costly? It is tax payer's money afterall and authorities are accountable for the spending.

Edited by Carbon82

I bypassed the area last Saturday.

Seems like the affected area is still not cleared yet.

Normally take so long to investigate?

Stop Work Order partially lifted...

Partial works resume at collapsed Upper Changi East viaduct

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/partial-works-resume-collapsed-upper-changi-east-viaduct

Investigation report released? Can start work by same contractor before root cause identified n rectified? We taking chances here... Edited by Lurpsexx

Investigation report released? Can start work by same contractor before root cause identified n rectified? We taking chances here...

I drove past that stretch where the work was allowed to resumed, and basically it is just a stone throw away from the pillars in question... And I agree with you that the relevant department / authorities are taking chances (to a certain extend) strictly from a Health and Safety point of view, something which I deem is NOT right too.

BUT, judging by the responses I got from another thread here, sad to say that I can guess their stands on safety related issues... [shakehead]  [shakehead]  [shakehead]

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706411-are-we-ready-for-electric-car-safety-environmental-aspect/?p=6257730

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706411-are-we-ready-for-electric-car-safety-environmental-aspect/?p=6262971

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706411-are-we-ready-for-electric-car-safety-environmental-aspect/?p=6373146

I drove past that stretch where the work was allowed to resumed, and basically it is just a stone throw away from the pillars in question... And I agree with you that the relevant department / authorities are taking chances (to a certain extend) strictly from a Health and Safety point of view, something which I deem is NOT right too.

BUT, judging by the responses I got from another thread here, sad to say that I can guess their stands on safety related issues... [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706411-are-we-ready-for-electric-car-safety-environmental-aspect/?p=6257730

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706411-are-we-ready-for-electric-car-safety-environmental-aspect/?p=6262971

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2706411-are-we-ready-for-electric-car-safety-environmental-aspect/?p=6373146

Thanks for the update..

Seems there are unanswered questions on work resume that's supercede the safety aspect..

Thanks for the update..

Seems there are unanswered questions on work resume that's supercede the safety aspect..

OKP buay tahan liao lah...The directors are Grassroot leader hor.....

Who will want to be the first to use the viaduct after it's completed? [grin]

If me I'm sure to avoid using it. Good luck to the folks staying near it and using it.