Icedbs Turbocharged June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 (edited) The disturbing trend here is that our authorities are outsourcing their 'last defence' role I would think that even if the checker's role is outsource, someone from the authorities has to approved the checker's results ? Edited June 26, 2019 by Icedbs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 I would think that even if the checker's role is outsource, someone from the authorities has to approved the checker's results ?I tink they juz go by 'declaration' by the checker and rubber stamp the approval How else does that explain despite having a checker, the thing collapse n checker admit he actually didn't check...? That's why i say the system damn screwed up. U dun really know what's properly checked and what juz been rubber stamped... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 Same old same old....what do ya guys expect... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 Same as all those lift inspection certs and PE certs and lifting certs. Do the PEs really check? Who knows? If they value their reputation and career, they probably will. But those older, more complacent ones would just put their stamp on the paper and collect the money. I tink they juz go by 'declaration' by the checker and rubber stamp the approvalHow else does that explain despite having a checker, the thing collapse n checker admit he actually didn't check...?That's why i say the system damn screwed up. U dun really know what's properly checked and what juz been rubber stamped... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 unfortunately the whole world especially singapore is rapidly adopting the "outsourcing" approach.. just like HR, employees are outsourced too.. unfortunately the whole world especially singapore is rapidly adopting the "outsourcing" approach.. just like HR, employees are outsourced too.. To me outsourcing has it's own advantage too, usually the company has expertise in the field of work. Is like aggregation of resources, shared across different customers. Most important is choosing the right source and regular audit to ensure the service/expertise provided is up to par. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 To me outsourcing has it's own advantage too, usually the company has expertise in the field of work. Is like aggregation of resources, shared across different customers. Most important is choosing the right source and regular audit to ensure the service/expertise provided is up to par. unfortunately outsourcing here is mainly to cut costs or to transfer the responsibility instead.. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 To me outsourcing has it's own advantage too, usually the company has expertise in the field of work. Is like aggregation of resources, shared across different customers. Most important is choosing the right source and regular audit to ensure the service/expertise provided is up to par. Frequently it's also a dead end job if u are the regulator. Attracting talent could also be difficult from a HR perspective. Not surprising, why "outsource when u can" is becoming the norm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear June 26, 2019 Share June 26, 2019 I tink they juz go by 'declaration' by the checker and rubber stamp the approval How else does that explain despite having a checker, the thing collapse n checker admit he actually didn't check...? That's why i say the system damn screwed up. U dun really know what's properly checked and what juz been rubber stamped... just like car workshops promising 36 check points in oil servicing package. How the hell we know the mechanic will actually check 36? he just simply sign on the form. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged June 27, 2019 Share June 27, 2019 To me outsourcing has it's own advantage too, usually the company has expertise in the field of work. Is like aggregation of resources, shared across different customers. Most important is choosing the right source and regular audit to ensure the service/expertise provided is up to par. Regulatory works should be done by an independent body with no profit mindset. If you can award checks to individuals at a cost, then you can influence how you wish the checks to be conducted. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 27, 2019 Share June 27, 2019 Frequently it's also a dead end job if u are the regulator. Attracting talent could also be difficult from a HR perspective. Not surprising, why "outsource when u can" is becoming the norm. The authorities can still outsource but it has to come under their control and employment. Developers/contractors pay a fixed fee to the authorities who will then appoint a checker from their own panel of accredited checkers to do a proper check The current system of outsourcing the appointment of the checker to the party that's it is supposed to be checking against is simply ridiculous 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 27, 2019 Share June 27, 2019 The authorities can still outsource but it has to come under their control and employment. Developers/contractors pay a fixed fee to the authorities who will then appoint a checker from their own panel of accredited checkers to do a proper check The current system of outsourcing the appointment of the checker to the party that's it is supposed to be checking against is simply ridiculous Agreed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged June 27, 2019 Share June 27, 2019 Regulatory works should be done by an independent body with no profit mindset. If you can award checks to individuals at a cost, then you can influence how you wish the checks result to be concluded conducted. Updated for you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 27, 2019 Share June 27, 2019 The authorities can still outsource but it has to come under their control and employment. Developers/contractors pay a fixed fee to the authorities who will then appoint a checker from their own panel of accredited checkers to do a proper check The current system of outsourcing the appointment of the checker to the party that's it is supposed to be checking against is simply ridiculous Even though it is ridiculous, we still LLST Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 4, 2019 Share July 4, 2019 Accredited checker jailed over PIE viaduct collapse which left 1 dead, 10 injured https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/checker-engineer-jailed-pie-viaduct-collapse-11690400 Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/checker-engineer-jailed-pie-viaduct-collapse-11690400 SINGAPORE: A 61-year-old engineer who failed to make sure that the supporting structures of an uncompleted viaduct were sound was jailed for six months on Thursday (Jul 4). Singaporean Leong Sow Hon's actions contributed to the collapse of a part of the 1.8km-long Pan Island Expressway (PIE) viaduct, which was under construction along Upper Changi Road East on Jul 14, 2017. A worker, Chinese national Chen Yinchuan, died in the collapse, and 10 others were injured. Leong, The managing director of construction specialist firm Calibre Consulting (Singapore), was appointed as an accredited checker by the Land Transport Authority. He failed to evaluate, analyse and review the structural design in the relevant plans and failed to perform original calculations for all the permanent corbels, the prosecution said. Permanent corbels are key structural elements of the viaduct as they are essential for its support and overall structural stability, explained Deputy Public Prosecutor Yang Ziliang. The design was so inadequate that parts of the viaduct were too weak to support their intended weight even during the construction stage, the court heard. Leong admitted on Jun 24 that he did not check the designs or perform calculations for the corbels. Because of the incident, the estimated completion date of the viaduct has been pushed back by at least two years from the first quarter of 2020 to the first half of 2022. Leong is the first person involved in the case to be sentenced. The rest, including the qualified person who designed the building works and the builder Or Kim Peow Contractors, are set to claim trial. The prosecution asked for at least nine months' jail for Leong, saying there was "complete inadequacy" in checking the corbels. He added that "the collapse of the viaduct would have been inevitable", and that many people would have been harmed either during the construction stage or after the viaduct was open to traffic. Leong's defence lawyer Lim Lian Kee asked for a fine of S$25,000. Tio jail 6 mth liao... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged July 4, 2019 Share July 4, 2019 Leong's defence lawyer Lim Lian Kee asked for a fine of S$25,000. How on EARTH did this lawyer justify his ask? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic July 4, 2019 Share July 4, 2019 From the looks of it it seems like Or Kim Peow will not be too affected by this accident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 4, 2019 Share July 4, 2019 How on EARTH did this lawyer justify his ask? if $2,500 will be too frivolous, and $250,000 maybe feel the pinch. So settle for $25,000 lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 5, 2019 Share July 5, 2019 https://sg.news.yahoo.com/five-jailed-for-falsifying-permit-after-fatal-accident-at-construction-site-073340985.html This is like do anything but don't get caught. The only issue is that this attitude causes people life. So in work, please do not take shortcut if it involved safety and people life's. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...