Liverpool 2017/18: YNWA with Klopp

TangoElite

After their rollercoaster 5-2 success against Roma, Klopp insisted their approach in the second leg on Wednesday would remain unchanged, despite the Italians’ two late goals giving the tie a slightly different complexion.

“It should not sound like a warning or whatever but we are not Barcelona,” said Klopp. “Barcelona is one of the two or three best teams in the world and they won so many things in the last few years and we didn’t.

“We will fight with all we have for that result again. It is so much better than I could have expected before the game but now in the moment I feel the two goals we conceded.

“We have to work again in Rome – that is no problem. There would have been work for us to do if we had won 5-0 because Roma would have tried everything to strike back anyway so that is not a big difference.”

Much has been made up of the fact that LFC conceding two leg goals in the Semi-Final First Leg.

I thought this may not be a bad thing after all. When LFC beat Porto 5 - 0 in the QF First Leg, we only got a dull 0 - 0 second leg with our players showing less urgency knowing that the tie is more or less decided.

This time round, we conceded two late goals and this will have all our players fire up for the second leg knowing that there is unfinished work to be done to secure their place in the Finals. Our players will be firing with all cylinders right from the get-go. What Roma has done to Barca in the QF will be warnings to LFC not to be complacent.

I actually thought this may not be a bad thing after all. How many times over the last few seasons have we seen LFC back against the wall but rebounded to achieve the results and how many times have we seen our lads letting go comfortable leads go to waste.  

This team needs to be pressured to perform at its best as they have a habit of making things difficult for themselves.

dun scare me leh...

reports from where?

from twitter. my fren showed me. sorry i don hv twitter so i dunno where to check.

While many would not argue that mane finishing is not as clinical as salah, his contributions and assists are just as important to the team.

from twitter. my fren showed me. sorry i don hv twitter so i dunno where to check.

yah jialat... i went to google, and got many reports say it.

[sweatdrop]

but said while he likely will miss stoke, he should be able to make the 2nd leg...

just hope the team stays fit and healthy.

While many would not argue that mane finishing is not as clinical as salah, his contributions and assists are just as important to the team.

yes true. jus by making runs alone he will worry defenders, cos they know he can score, so they will b wary of him. that will leave firmino n salah to score or assist. n mane also has quite a few assists already. so this front 3 should also b looked at how they move opening up space for others.

Liverpool

Klopp on rumours that Sadio Mane has a bad injury and needed scans in hospital.

"Sadio was just visiting a friend! Of course there is something," he said. "It's not serious. There is a chance for tomorrow," he said.

For Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain - who is out for the rest of the season - he calls the situation sad but "we will wait for him like a good wife when her man is in prison."

The man has a way with words doesn't he?

Nice gesture this.

Jürgen Klopp is wearing an Irish tricolour Liverbird in support of Sean Cox, the fan critically injured in an attack before the game on Tuesday.

Like78 likes78Dislike5 dislikes5

Klopp: Early to bed, loud to cheer

Liverpool v Stoke - Sat (12:30 BST)

Liverpool

"I know it's a tradition that at 12.30pm games the atmosphere isn't that good. So go to bed at 9pm tonight and tomorrow get up and create the most special atmosphere ever. This team deserves it."

One thing I am sure will happen this weekend.

Klopp will give a very big hug to the Stoke manager.

Borussia Dortmund

In 1996, Lambert was signed by a manager and club he had played against for Motherwell in the UEFA Cup, Ottmar Hitzfeld and Borussia Dortmund. Hitzfeld immediately changed Lambert's role to deploy him as defensive midfielder.

In the 1997 UEFA Champions League Final against Juventus, he played in midfield to quell the influence of Juve's French playmaker Zinedine Zidane.[10][11][12][13] and his cross also set up Karl-Heinz Riedle's opening goal. Dortmund won 3–1. Lambert's contribution has since been suggested as a man of the match performance.[14] 

He became the first Scottish player to win the European Cup with a non-UK team, and the first British player to win it since its reformation as the Champions League. Lambert had scored in the lead up to the final with a group stage goal, the first in a 2–2 draw at Widzew Łódź.

Lambert's performance in the semi-final elimination of Manchester United was praised in the autobiography of Roy Keane. Lambert scored one league goal for Dortmund, against Bayer Leverkusen.

It was announced the Champions League group stage game on 5 November 1997 against Parma would be Lambert's last before he returned to Scotland. He was given a rousing send off by the Dortmund fans, and reciprocated with a banner he had prepared thanking the Dortmund fans.