SEAT Arona

Fishycat

Hi everyone! Have you all seen pictures of the new Kia Seltos? Wah, the side profile looks just like our Arona, esp the kick-up at the C pillar! I guess imitation is the sincerest form of flattery!

Am back but haven’t driven my car yet, it was used on and off and should be ok. Still below 9k km after 1 year but planning on a road trip up north in late June. Paint work is holding up (and will be sending in for grooming next week) I’m happy to report, no scratches and just one rock chip so far (which exposed the primer layer).

Can’t help you there, LinusLoh. Last chatted with my SE a year ago, don’t know if she’s still there!

Unlike my other cars, Seat didn’t send Xmas or CNY greetings, or Ang pow or messages on anything, haha! Not even news of new models! C&C used to send me birthday cards and promos too, yes I paid them a premium but it’s still nice to be contacted once in a while! I’m in touch with the C&C guy and he’s still pushing his cars to me!

A little gesture goes a long way. Thank goodness the Arona is so good, makes up for it.

Was at the Seat showroom over the weekend - was with a friend looking at the Ateca. Hmm, the car doesn’t seem to have aged well, it looks very utilitarian and boxy. Still a decent deal, I guess.

Also took a ride in someone’s Qashqai - the fella has had it for three years and was still complaining about the lack of initial acceleration, which is a problem with the CVT transmission. Otherwise the car was holding up quite well.

Yesterday, i took a ride in a friend’s X5 with a mild hybrid - it was a short ride and totally unexceptional - even the dash looked plain and the front passenger seat wasn’t spacious for such a huge car. Yet to try out an expensive car in recent years that justify the price! But then again many people have money coming out of their ears and would pay thousands more for marginally better performance! Not me tho (no money and no intention!)

Hey Guys.

Did any of you receive a call from Seat regarding the Arona ? My parents got it. Seems like they will need to adjust something at the back of the car.

Hmm that’s strange, nope I haven’t received any call.

Just came to hear about someone who had a engine warning light come up - he experienced misfiring and loss of power. Turned out that the ignition coil was shot - good news was that it was quickly fixed under warranty but Vertex wanted him to pay for a new set of spark plugs, just to be sure. Mileage was 16k km and he just had his servicing done at 15k. Don’t think that such a problem would have early warnings - hopefully this is a one-off and won’t affect all Aronas (or for that matter all the VW group cars using this engine).

I just came back from my trip north - yup engine just great for the trip, powerful enough and economical (about 18km/litre). Road roar as usual is quite an issue (esp as the tyres wear down) but on certain smooth stretches, it’s quite quiet. I tend to turn up the sound system anyway so I’m not bothered lah.

One year on and the car still feels solid, even over rough surfaces. Everything working fine, the seat is comfy for 4-hours-straight driving. Heavy rain on the north-south highway also not a challenge to the stability of the car. Some staining on the paintwork probably due to some strong tree sap tho.

Hi all. Will be heading to Genting tomo for the fourth time in the Arona - should be pushing 12k km when I get back. Four pax and luggage for a week, so the car will be pretty full - hopefully the car will not give any trouble!

Will be looking to rotate the tyres when I get back.

Just found out from a couple of acquaintances who drive VW group cars that having a road sensor ‘blocked’ or obstructed can trigger all kinds of warning lights on the dash. So if you encounter this, don’t panic!

OMG! I topped up half my tank with Caltex 98 for the trip up, and the car just performed absolutely brilliantly going up to Genting! Even better than my previous 3 trips! I was blasting pass everything (BMs, Lexus, etc) and the car still felt like it had a lot of power - loaded with 4 pax and luggage and air con on! Arrived in comfort, ride was good, a little noisy but we still managed to hold our conversations - absolutely bloody brilliant for a cheap one-litre car - i love it!

Footnote - never used 98 octane petrol before, car just crossed 10k km when I drove it up, was in sports mode for the Genting climb, and the engine did not strain pass 4000rpm. Malaysian drivers pulled over for me at every step whenever I came up behind them, the Arona was crushing every curve and every incline. Wouldn’t be surprised if the drivers were in awe and wondering if my Arona (not sold in M’sia) had a massive engine in it!

On 7/29/2019 at 2:16 PM, Keepmoving said:

OMG! I topped up half my tank with Caltex 98 for the trip up, and the car just performed absolutely brilliantly going up to Genting! Even better than my previous 3 trips! I was blasting pass everything (BMs, Lexus, etc) and the car still felt like it had a lot of power - loaded with 4 pax and luggage and air con on! Arrived in comfort, ride was good, a little noisy but we still managed to hold our conversations - absolutely bloody brilliant for a cheap one-litre car - i love it!

Time to wake up from your sleep talking.

  On 7/29/2019 at 2:27 PM, Keepmoving said:

Footnote - never used 98 octane petrol before, car just crossed 10k km when I drove it up, was in sports mode for the Genting climb, and the engine did not strain pass 4000rpm. Malaysian drivers pulled over for me at every step whenever I came up behind them, the Arona was crushing every curve and every incline. Wouldn’t be surprised if the drivers were in awe and wondering if my Arona (not sold in M’sia) had a massive engine in it!

cool story mate!  [;)]

the msian drivers are probably thinking and laughing at your driving deep in their hearts since they rev up and down genting on a daily basis while this sporean driver is getting all excited revving up and down in his seat arona. 

Edited by ferrytales

Don’t take my word for it, drive the Arona up yourself.

Between one of passengers and myself, we’ve owned 5 6-cylinder BMWs and 2 6-cylinder Mercs before, I’m pretty sure we can recognize a good car when we drive one. And I’ve driven up to Pikes Peak, among many high roads, and on my recent trip to NA I crossed the continental divide 4 times, all above 10,000 ft, I think I’ve quite a bit of mountain road experience, incl in Norway, Iceland, alpine passes, etc.

Anyway I’ll stop gushing about the Arona lest people start thinking I own shares in Vertex, haha! Enjoy your motoring, life’s too short for mediocre cars!

• Dislike 1

On 7/29/2019 at 3:29 PM, Hamburger said:

Time to wake up from your sleep talking.

Ya bro. I'm just into Conti and have been lurking around the Seat, Skoda and Opel threads.

After reading his posts, I think they are written even better than some novels haha. Too good to be true deh.

I'm not saying a Seat is no good. In fact, I even considered the Ateca when I'm buying mine. All cars have their advantages and disadvantages. But this is way full blown bulls**t.

Like this, all the 6-cylinders BMWs and Mercs can all sell and buy a Arona liao. 3 cheers for Arona! Hip hip hooray, hip hip hooray, hip hip hooray! *clap clap clap*

Edited by Wormee

Hi Wormee. I didn’t say that the Arona is a better car than my 6-cylinder BMs and Mercs, I said I recognize a good car when I drive one. Of course the Arona is not as good, you have to ask yourself if you’re prepared to spend 2-3 times more for a car that is maybe only 20% better or even 50% better, taking into consideration your needs. I know a lot of people who would not drive up to M’sia, then does it matter if the car is stable at 150kmh, or if your commute is at most half hour, do you need massage and ventilated seats etc.

On 7/29/2019 at 2:27 PM, Keepmoving said:

Another rude, ego Conti driver who disregard safety of others.

• Dislike 1

On 8/2/2019 at 5:33 AM, dannychoy84 said:

Another rude, ego Conti driver who disregard safety of others.

I don't know how you draw the conclusion that he is rude and has an ego and disregarded the safety of others.