Chucky2007 Turbocharged June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 I watch the video a few times.. realised the following points.. 1. after Scotts Road exit, TS changed lane to the outer lane.. 2. TS stopped and let the Pickup on the inner lane turn Left out to Bukit Timah road. With 1+2, another kuku driver behind assumed that TS is also turning left into Bukit Timah or will also stop to let him "Turn Left out. The accident would have been avoidable if TS hasn't change lane in the first place m, or simply signal right to indicate that he is not turning left out... and keep to middle lane if he meant to continue to Newton Road. I take that circle Everyday also and Everyday have all sorts of kuku Drivers. So I would either keep middle or always drive slower and signal. Take it as learning lesson TS. Explain the logic to the other car that banged you that either of you is going to win 80% and more so claim insurance on each other both will lose. So both sign forms to confirm that each party will take care of own repair and move on Sorry I mean Neither one of you is gonna win 80% or more so both will affect NCB and next year pay extra premium so no point waste time claim insurance on each other especially when the repair on each side is less than $300 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datura 2nd Gear June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 TS is 100% in the wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 I drive pass a very busy roundabout many times a day near my place. I cannot emphasize this enough - PLS SIGNAL. Seen too many accidents. Even if you are those kind of people who do not use your indicators much, it is important to signal at critical junctions such as roundabouts. VERY important not just for yourself but for other drivers too. I have given up telling people to signal in Singapore. It has become a habit to most drivers not to even lift a pinky finger. Luckily for me, my habit is to signal even in car parks or when there are no cars around because my signals are not only meant for vehicles, it's also meant for pedestrians. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 TS is 100% in the wrong Why? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fpchong 1st Gear June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 1. From the video you don't signal when you switch or change lane... 2. You are in the wrong lane which are mean for filter left and you choose to go straight 3. You failed to signal when you wanted to go straight instead of left turn out 4. You failed to check on your blind spot when you make your turn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu82 Supercharged June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 Due to the scenario that TS is in, sometimes I am also afraid to use roundabout especially at Jurong industrial areas (I am working here) as there are many heavy vehicles and speeding vans there. I almost ganna the same thing as TS last time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 (edited) I've said before, and I'll say it again. The major cause of relatively minor accidents is *murky intent*. And TS's intent was extremely murky - I looked at the second video and even I couldn't predict WTF he was going to do. Insurance may not call it 100-0 against TS, but I think the lion's share of the blame goes to him. He was just not driving in a predictable fashion. Edited June 19, 2017 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
carloverguy2017 5th Gear June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 Driver wrong. In wrong lane. But you can always argue you got signal. But if the other car has car camera, good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avonez 2nd Gear June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 Driver is not in the wrong. Speaking from over 30 years driving experience. He could have driven continuously round and round on the outer lane and no cop will book him. It is the responsibility of the driver who needs to exit a roundabout to move to the outer lane early prior to the exit, not cut across the outer lane at the exit itself and assuming every car at the outer lane must exit. Having said that, it is best to practise defensive driving in these situations. I drive on this circus regularly too. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 Driver is not in the wrong. Speaking from over 30 years driving experience. He could have driven continuously round and round on the outer lane and no cop will book him. It is the responsibility of the driver who needs to exit a roundabout to move to the outer lane early prior to the exit, not cut across the outer lane at the exit itself and assuming every car at the outer lane must exit. Having said that, it is best to practise defensive driving in these situations. I drive on this circus regularly too. a signal to tell others of intention would be v useful also... good habit to have la 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 newton circus is a hybrid roundabout. sometimes got signal light turned on. if you're not filtering out, do not stay on the left and try going straight across an exit. think of it as a 2-lane left exit each time you reach one. the left lane must always exit. if you try to go across, then accident will happen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 Hmmm this hits quite close to home for me as i go there quite often. Usually i will enter the roundabout from Newton Road (intended destination is scotts road). I will try to filter to the left most lane as early as possible even though i am not exiting immediately at kampung java or even clemenceau because it is notoriously difficult to filter in this roudabout. So if the left most lane is a MUST TURN lane meaning driver must exit at the next available point, it means i can only filter left after clemenceau (before scotts). I can tell you it's almost impossible. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 Actually the other driver also know its 50-50,thats why he said we each do our own repairs, settle it ourselves He didnt want to compensate me(I thought i was 0% fault at first)We then argued for awhile He didnt want to claim insurance, also dont want to sign private agreement, then after arguing he just left I intend to bring the car to insurance workshop tomorrow to do a accident report, but wont be making a claim, as I think its not worth it I am already intending to do an accident report at my insurance workshop, do i still need to report to IDAC? Actually what is IDAC,I am a noob, never heard of this before Just a warning to you from my own experience. When you report an open-ended accident to your insurer without the other party signing the private settlement form, your insurer will immediately penalise your NCD to cover their own ass, even if both parties didn't claim anything in the end. Under road traffic act, I think there's X number of years that a claim can still be made. The only way your insurer is willing to waive your NCD penalty is for the other party to sign the private settlement form (which sounds unlikely in your case). For my case, the other party was a comfort taxi driver so luckily I was able to obtain a direct email from Comfort even though the taxi driver was unwilling to sign anything. IMHO, you're better off claiming against the other party (at least a chance for success) compared with the double whammy of paying 100% of your own repairs + the NCD penalty with higher premium during next renewal. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 Just a warning to you from my own experience. When you report an open-ended accident to your insurer without the other party signing the private settlement form, your insurer will immediately penalise your NCD to cover their own ass, even if both parties didn't claim anything in the end. Under road traffic act, I think there's X number of years that a claim can still be made. The only way your insurer is willing to waive your NCD penalty is for the other party to sign the private settlement form (which sounds unlikely in your case). For my case, the other party was a comfort taxi driver so luckily I was able to obtain a direct email from Comfort even though the taxi driver was unwilling to sign anything. IMHO, you're better off claiming against the other party (at least a chance for success) compared with the double whammy of paying 100% of your own repairs + the NCD penalty with higher premium during next renewal. Which insurer? I am with NTUC and I have no problems during renewal even though I ever reported an accident where we both decided not to claim but never sign private settlement form. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 (edited) Which insurer? I am with NTUC and I have no problems during renewal even though I ever reported an accident where we both decided not to claim but never sign private settlement form. AXA lor. Happened many years back. Chop chop sent me an email few days after my report and stated it's "standard industry practice". Knn. Edited June 19, 2017 by Jellandross Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngchinbeng 1st Gear June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 By how I understand roundabouts work... u are on the wrong lane to go straight. U shld have moved to the center lane earlier if ur intention was not to exit. If u had signaled right.. it could have helped avoid the accident. That said.. the other car should bear full liability imho. Yes, the car with the video cam is at the wrong lane, the lane you are in is supposed to turn left, if you intend to proceed to the the next exit, you should take the center lane then upon passing the present exit then filter to the left lane. Normally if without your posted video as evidence is 50/50 on you & the other party. But with your video as evidence, you are reliable for 100% for the damages. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 All "roundabouts" are semi-circles. There's no real roundabouts/circles in SG Suntec City, Fortune Fountain is a roundabout ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged June 19, 2017 Share June 19, 2017 OK here a real roundabout: a-sunny-arc-de-triomphe.jpg If you are not apt at filtering, you will be trapped in it for years! Like Chevy Chase in National Lampoon. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...