Ganwb79 5th Gear July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 Does it matter?? I only watch show here.ððð This question a bit pointless. The government of any day is suppose to place all interests of any will below the interest of the country. They should only as much as possible respect the will and testimony of an individual as Long as it doesn't affect the interest of the country. The PM, or the committee, has still not revealed just what kind of national interest does this house serve? Some dragon vein under the house that will send Singapore down like a house of cards if disturbed? I feel it's pretty weak to say that they are still deliberating 2 years after LKY has passed on. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 Regardless of marital status, eldest son in a traditional chiness family is regarded as "father".i know......its asian value. But there are many instances where the actual one calling the shots are the elders brother's wife. I have one in my extended family......he knows, we know, his younger brothers know......but who cares! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 Regardless of marital status, eldest son in a traditional chiness family is regarded as "father".my father generation already stop practicing that, not to mention the westernized people here since the 40s. I bet even China also throw that into the river. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 (edited) In short, your last will and testimony can be ignored in the interest of the country. Who define the interest of the country? Will the interest of the country be in conflict with interest of individual (as the current situation is)? Don't miss the point. It has nothing to do with whether or not the government has to respect lkys will. By even discussing this matter, you've already fallen for their misdirection. What is important is the allegations of wrongdoing and abuse of power. The government can and should override the lkys will if it is in national interest but it should not be because hsien Loong wanted it or because hsien Loong ordered it so. Edited July 18, 2017 by Kusje 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 (edited) Can teach me how? I want to put it in my willOur position not high enough lah... Why you will too betray the country?Knn, I giving example only u want to chap one leg.my father generation already stop practicing that, not to mention the westernized people here since the 40s. I bet even China also throw that into the river.China got 1 child policy... they don't have other choice. Edited July 18, 2017 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 my father generation already stop practicing that, not to mention the westernized people here since the 40s. I bet even China also throw that into the river. That's why ppl nowadays no big no small. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 my father generation already stop practicing that, not to mention the westernized people here since the 40s. I bet even China also throw that into the river.Izzit? Looks like my family quite old school then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 Izzit? Looks like my family quite old school then.usually those are either traditional or rich family That's why ppl nowadays no big no small.being equal and rights, that is what the West is teaching. you think LWL and LHY know about all this traditional value under a family of a Cambridge graduate father? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bsagat-continue-%5D-ag-chambers-looking-into-li-shengwus-facebook-post-singapore-court-system-5656785-2.html Interesting to see that the ex-personal-lawyer was silent throughout the saga and now suddenly spring to action due to one sentence on FB. Wow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 usually those are either traditional or rich family being equal and rights, that is what the West is teaching. you think LWL and LHY know about all this traditional value under a family of a Cambridge graduate father? LKY despite being Cambridge educated, still very china man minded hor. Don't miss the point. It has nothing to do with whether or not the government has to respect lkys will. By even discussing this matter, you've already fallen for their misdirection. What is important is the allegations of wrongdoing and abuse of power. The government can and should override the lkys will if it is in national interest but it should not be because hsien Loong wanted it or because hsien Loong ordered it so. I am not missing the point. If LHL don't sue LHY & LWL, creditability of PAP & PM will be tarnished. That's the ethos of PAP hor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 18, 2017 Share July 18, 2017 Before this case, I bet most people were thinking the Lee's are one big happy family, happy with the status quo of the governance of Sg. Apparently not. Quite a surprise to me as I think most oppositions would be from the outside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 19, 2017 Share July 19, 2017 Interesting to see that the ex-personal-lawyer was silent throughout the saga and now suddenly spring to action due to one sentence on FB. Wow.If acg can sue and catch other people for comment on Facebook. He should do the same the LSW. If not how to show to singapore they are fair. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 19, 2017 Share July 19, 2017 usually those are either traditional or rich family Then mine must be traditional. LI am not missing the point. If LHL don't sue LHY & LWL, creditability of PAP & PM will be tarnished. That's the ethos of PAP hor. That's true. But again, it has nothing to do with the validity of the will or whether the will is going to be honored. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 19, 2017 Share July 19, 2017 usually those are either traditional or rich family being equal and rights, that is what the West is teaching. you think LWL and LHY know about all this traditional value under a family of a Cambridge graduate father? there are many reports of tussle involving the property of the rich lei......brothers, sisters all at each others neck over the millions left behind including properties. I know asian values and all but now many would forego that value to become richer. Many westerners would donate their riches or will their wealth to people who are not even their relatives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 19, 2017 Share July 19, 2017 there are many reports of tussle involving the property of the rich lei......brothers, sisters all at each others neck over the millions left behind including properties. I know asian values and all but now many would forego that value to become richer. Many westerners would donate their riches or will their wealth to people who are not even their relatives. Speaking of donations, LWL will purportedly donate all her assets to charity after her death leh (i/o to her nephews). So maybe Jman is right when he says they are more of a western mindset? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 19, 2017 Share July 19, 2017 Speaking of donations, LWL will purportedly donate all her assets to charity after her death leh (i/o to her nephews). So maybe Jman is right when he says they are more of a western mindset?if she dont will it away the gov will get her assets.......i dont think she has any children to give and i dont think she wants her brothers to inherit her wealth. Would be very different if she had children. Its good that she is willing to give her inheritance to those in need. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 19, 2017 Share July 19, 2017 if she dont will it away the gov will get her assets.......i dont think she has any children to give and i dont think she wants her brothers to inherit her wealth. Would be very different if she had children. Its good that she is willing to give her inheritance to those in need. That's why I said i/o her nephews mah (which is what lky wanted). Anyway, if she doesn't will it away, her brothers will get it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 19, 2017 Share July 19, 2017 (edited) That's why I said i/o her nephews mah (which is what lky wanted). Anyway, if she doesn't will it away, her brothers will get it.there are many philantropists of old.....usually they are Chinese educated and from the traditional families. Now its a different generation with a different mindset but yes its their money....they can do whatever with it until the newspaper comes out reports of their tussle over inheritance.......then our popcorn all comes out. Edited July 19, 2017 by Eviilusion ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...