Singapore RECKLESS drivers thread Part IV

Well, yesterday I just encounted one 10 footer Toyota Dyna on lane 1 of SLE.

Speeding and road hogging at the same time. How cool is that?

Needless to say, prease submit footage to our naise frends at TP

Some of these f**ker lorries in lane 2 will purposely speed and close the gap with vehicle in front so that cars cannot cut out in front of them. Happens all the time. When I enter an expressway and try to filter into lane 2, 9 times out of 10 lorries in lane 2 will speed up to cut me off, even if they are taking the very next exit. So shiok to cut a car off just to immediately cut into lane 3 to exit! F**kers!

For these breed of drivers you mentioned...inferiority complex at work?

Well, yesterday I just encounted one 10 footer Toyota Dyna on lane 1 of SLE.

Speeding and road hogging at the same time. How cool is that?

Everyday I see those mini buses ferrying employees from companies speeding on lane 1 (PIE and AYE) when they are not supposed to be there during peak hours in the evening. 

Yes, it is doable. All depends on the circumstances. The driver was probably already exhausted from a day's work at the naval base. I heard they do some rather vigorous activities there.

maybe due to his young age he wasnt conditioned to those circumstances. For my case i just returned from work and was told my dad was hospitalised again. Drove to ktph and returned home at 9pm plus......11 pm was informed that my dad had passed on. Returned to ktph to settle things and drove to amk at 1am and waited for my dad to returned home at 2. Didnt even lie down till all the burial rites were done in mid afternoon and we had continous streams of visitors till the night so we had to accompany our mum. Only reached home at 10 pm plus. But that drive home to wdlands was quite hair-raising and with my family and sis in my car.

5 Seater SUV....packing 5 full grown passengers? 1 strapped on the roof rack huh?

Doable la. My previous car Verna managed to pack in 6 adult passengers not including me the driver. We were all average sized though - 60+-70kg kind. Just got to squeeze. SUV sure no problem getting 5 in.

You can definitely squeeze four at the back. But it's seatbelt roulette then.. someone will miss out.
Or perhaps all of them decided it's a short ride, and belts are optional.

RIP anyhow...

Some of these f**ker lorries in lane 2 will purposely speed and close the gap with vehicle in front so that cars cannot cut out in front of them. Happens all the time. When I enter an expressway and try to filter into lane 2, 9 times out of 10 lorries in lane 2 will speed up to cut me off, even if they are taking the very next exit. So shiok to cut a car off just to immediately cut into lane 3 to exit! F**kers!

not only lorries.....cars tend to do that too! Some wont even slow down or speed up for cars entering the expressway but must die die maintain their speed. Jokers oredy at the slowest lane but hates people slowing them down.....haiz!

In CNB? not likely. If from Sembawang NB, yes it is likely.

Yes, it is doable. All depends on the circumstances. The driver was probably already exhausted from a day's work at the naval base. I heard they do some rather vigorous activities there.

Talking about seat belts...... [sweatdrop]

Doable la. My previous car Verna managed to pack in 6 adult passengers not including me the driver. We were all average sized though - 60+-70kg kind. Just got to squeeze. SUV sure no problem getting 5 in.

In CNB? not likely. If from Sembawang NB, yes it is likely.

Talking about seat belts...... [sweatdrop]

CNB and TNB, can be mentally taxing too after sailing back. Normally, we only get ard 4 hrs of sleep within 24hrs. And its not fully 4 hrs, maybe 1 hr here and there. Unless u are HOD or CO then more like a cruise boat.

Other "hands"(naval term for men), got to keep watch and perform their daily task.

Take the cooks for example, two cooks or sometimes one cook got to prepare 4 meals a day. See how much time they get to rest. They need to cook the dishes, serve the officers and then wash the dishes and then back to prepare for the next meal. The cycle goes on and on.

5 Seater SUV....packing 5 full grown passengers? 1 strapped on the roof rack huh?

Forester has a decently large boot too  [laugh]

Wah, bro, then you no need MPV liao leh...

Verna quite packed leh. When i was alone, i pushed the chair all the way back. But when behind got passengers, front seats already need to push forward to give leg room behind. The limited width and leg room, still can squeeze 5 inside? 

[thumbsup]

CNB and TNB, can be mentally taxing too after sailing back. Normally, we only get ard 4 hrs of sleep within 24hrs. And its not fully 4 hrs, maybe 1 hr here and there. Unless u are HOD or CO then more like a cruise boat.

Other "hands"(naval term for men), got to keep watch and perform their daily task.

Take the cooks for example, two cooks or sometimes one cook got to prepare 4 meals a day. See how much time they get to rest. They need to cook the dishes, serve the officers and then wash the dishes and then back to prepare for the next meal. The cycle goes on and on.

There was one particular week when i was on course (combat engr), from Mon night till Thur night, 4 nights cumulative slept less than 10 hr... It was a landmine warfare field camp. Everybody was doing head rotation exercise in the days during the lessons before the drills...

Edited by Atrecord

There was one particular week when i was on course (combat engr), from Mon night till Thur night, 4 nights cumulative slept less than 10 hr... It was a landmine warfare field camp. Everybody was doing head rotation exercise in the days during the lessons before the drills...

If kena patrol vessel, it is every other day also like that leh. 3D2N cruise to no where. Come back rest 1 to 2 day and then back to 3D2N cruise. Continuously for 2 to 3 years like that before next posting. But most of the time, post back same Class of vessel so back to this type of routine.

Now the LMV patrol vessel, the sail for one week and back for a few days and back to one week sailing. I seeing less and less of my fren. He always telling me he sailing. He is a cook onboard the LMV. Little sleep and have to cook and cook.

If kena patrol vessel, it is every other day also like that leh. 3D2N cruise to no where. Come back rest 1 to 2 day and then back to 3D2N cruise. Continuously for 2 to 3 years like that before next posting. But most of the time, post back same Class of vessel so back to this type of routine.

Now the LMV patrol vessel, the sail for one week and back for a few days and back to one week sailing. I seeing less and less of my fren. He always telling me he sailing. He is a cook onboard the LMV. Little sleep and have to cook and cook.

Looks like it's time to move this to the stressful thread.

read already si bey stressed...  [laugh]

Looks like it's time to move this to the stressful thread.

read already si bey stressed...  [laugh]

One of my young colleague just asked me recently. U guys go sailing come back got equivalent off days? As he thinking of sign on NAVY.

I told him SAF pay u for 24hrs standby. Where got off day. Our off day is normal 8-5 working day lah. There is no such thing as rest and rest day after sailing. U will see less of ur new born kid. U will not meet up with ur frens outside of Navy. But ur wife will be glad u are always not at home!!!

He having second tots now and know why NAVY is always lack of manpower. [laugh]

When join the expressway on lane 3, why do you need to filter to lane 2 so soon? Just bid your time on lane 3 till there is a safe gap.  And then accelerate to a greater speed than those in lane 2 to merge seamlessly, then from lane 2 accelerate to lane 1, and off you go into the distance

I frequently join the AYE towards East from either Buona Vista or Queensway. Like you I encounter heavy and slow lorries on lanes 3 and 2 at any time of day. I bid my time on Lane 3 going at 40-50 km/h till the Alexandra exit almost 1 km away. After Alexandra no more exits so traffic speeds up and gaps appear on Lane 2. I speed up into lane 2, and if lane 1 is clear, I go into lane 1 at  90 km/h  and go on my way at the speed limit.

The opposite also happens to me along Lornie Rd and expressways. I am on lane 2 and cruising. A slow car from lane 3 (which is clear ahead), will filter into lane 2 and road hog. Why need to filter to lane 2 and go slowly when lane 3 is clear? I am forced to overtake on right, or if right is filled, then I have to overtake on the left against my wishes and highway code. I will stay on lane 3 whenever my speed slow compared to lanes 2 and 3.         

well, look at it these way. He probably very rich with lots of savings.

My fren who is a cook in Navy is not rich. Stay in HDB. Wife not working. One daughter, pri sch age. And have one young and pretty maid. First time went his place, I mistook his maid as his wife!!!

Just to clarify, my fren is indian and the maid is also indian. Surprised that the wife allowed the maid in the house. We always teased him abt his pretty maid. [laugh]  We always give me the  [sly]  look when he talking abt his maid. :D