Sdf4786k Twincharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 (edited) Wah, si bey cheem... i Fri morning liak bo kiu leh... Can summarise? I only know the age-old saying of 'When in Rome, do what the Romans do'. They come here, make bloody sure they do things our way. Sure, if they have a better way, we can learn and adopt. But if it's not better, then better stop trying it and think of the above para ok.. nice.. When you have an invasion. Do the invader do what u ask? as a side way conversation, or rather as u put it, friday, lets not fried the brain conversation, lets watch the cartoon on bugs life and tell me how that works.. Edited August 4, 2017 by Sdf4786k ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 ok.. nice.. When you have an invasion. Do the invader do what u ask? as a side way conversation, or rather as u put it, friday, lets not fried the brain conversation, lets watch the cartoon on bugs life and tell me how that works.. wat if i tell you alot of the videos we see here are of born bred sinkies? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 ok.. nice.. When you have an invasion. Do the invader do what u ask? as a side way conversation, or rather as u put it, friday, lets not fried the brain conversation, lets watch the cartoon on bugs life and tell me how that works.. Yup, that's why i asked why is it allowed in the first place... Fine if we need construction workers and no/not enough locals want to do it. Keep them confined to those work lah. Why let them be drivers?? Gonna result in many more accidents and deaths... wah, bugs life... No see before leh. I'm familiar only with a cow/horse's life 做牛做马! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 wat if i tell you alot of the videos we see here are of born bred sinkies? And I say take the red pill and go with the matrix? We have our fair share of idiosyncrasies ... From the right prices of entry to make people feel welcome https://www.facebook.com/MacPhersonRcZoneB/posts/582835851840424 to hitting the raw nerve of others. Sometimes there are no winners. Whatever you try, there are going to be people who thinks other wise. its like the default standard. The bimmer driver is wrong / is a sinner / blah blah blah.. We just have to try harder and find a way to integrate and even rethink how to move and evolve. No point sticking to , we used to be a nation of pilgrims. Instead, we should be thinking how to improve the driving standards, how to improve the safety, how to relook at ways to co exist with the cyclist and PDM ... Not go into a comparison of them and us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 I think he referring to the small black box at the door I think you are referring to another video. The one I commented on is a lorry and the side does not have any words. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 I personally experienced one of these red light beaters like the one at clementi..yesterday at about 830pm at Bt Panjang I was crossing a pedestrian crossing about 3-4 seconds after it turned green in my favour along with other pedestrian folks. Suddenly this car SLN5723Z just swept us by as though it was green in his favour. 0.5 seconds more and it could have taken a few lives with it.. it makes me wonder whether I should from now on wear a GoPro camera on my forehead whenever I go out to capture such morons in their act.. I hope the altis behind it can submit footage..along with its licence plate 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 Yup, that's why i asked why is it allowed in the first place... Fine if we need construction workers and no/not enough locals want to do it. Keep them confined to those work lah. Why let them be drivers?? Gonna result in many more accidents and deaths... wah, bugs life... No see before leh. I'm familiar only with a cow/horse's life 做牛做马! Ya. I remember last time the workers stay onsite and no need to travel. And it was those foreman/supervisor driving the lorries. Now dont know why change liao. Maybe those in construction industry can provide some insight. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 Ya. I remember last time the workers stay onsite and no need to travel. And it was those foreman/supervisor driving the lorries. Now dont know why change liao. Maybe those in construction industry can provide some insight. It is likely to be a cost issue lor. Just like in the army. Got exercise troop needs to be transported. Got 3-tonner already. But need to have a tonner driver around to transport the troops to training ground. Then during training/exercise, the driver sleeps... If one of the troops can double up and drive, then no need to have that driver around lor... Cheaper lor... Just my guess... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 I personally experienced one of these red light beaters like the one at clementi..yesterday at about 830pm at Bt Panjang I was crossing a pedestrian crossing about 3-4 seconds after it turned green in my favour along with other pedestrian folks. Suddenly this car SLN5723Z just swept us by as though it was green in his favour. 0.5 seconds more and it could have taken a few lives with it.. it makes me wonder whether I should from now on wear a GoPro camera on my forehead whenever I go out to capture such morons in their act.. I hope the altis behind it can submit footage..along with its licence plate Somehow I am not surprised .... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 Somehow I am not surprised .... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 Ya. I remember last time the workers stay onsite and no need to travel. And it was those foreman/supervisor driving the lorries. Now dont know why change liao. Maybe those in construction industry can provide some insight. staying onsite will have issue with the local residents, many of them mingle around the residents area and may cause inconvenience or annoyance to the people staying there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 I think he referring to the small black box at the doorSo small can see meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 (edited) Need to add. If they also say they will add the countdown timers like in Malaysia, I will raise two hands plus my legs if necessary. Media Replies 9 Jun 2012 We refer to the letter from Mr Charles Ong Hai Beng on the traffic light system (“Countdown Timers for Motorists too?”, TODAY, 4 Jun 2012). Singapore's traffic light system operates on the Green Link Determining System, or "GLIDE", where the duration of green time at a traffic light junction can be varied according to traffic demands, thus allowing for smoother traffic flow. This therefore makes it operationally challenging to implement countdown timers at traffic junctions. We had studied the installation of countdown timers at traffic junctions. In 2003, we conducted a trial at the junction of North Bridge Road and Rochor Road to assess the behaviour of motorists towards the countdown timer. The trial showed that motorists displayed varying behaviour when they approached the junction as the countdown timer approaches zero and the lights turn red. Some motorists applied the brakes to stop while others accelerated to beat the light. These observations suggest that the countdown timer may result in a greater likelihood of rear-end collisions at traffic junctions. Studies conducted overseas have also confirmed this observation. To enhance safety at traffic light junctions, LTA has set a few seconds of an all red period as a buffer in between each change of the traffic light. This is consistent with international practice. We thank Mr Ong for the opportunity to clarify. Helen Lim (Ms) Director, Media Relations and Public Education Land Transport Authority Edited August 4, 2017 by Othello 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 Posting this here cos all my 'friends' are here: Let's All Applaud Nevada For Making Dicking Around In The Left Lane IllegalRaise your internet hand if you’ve been driving down the highway at a brisk-but-not-quite-speeding pace, everything’s going swell until you come up on some slower traffic. No worries, you pop into the left lane to pass and try to get your groove going again when suddenly you’re snapped out of your good space by a goddamn slowpoke hogging the lane. Do you see red? Because I see red. Thankfully, the state of Nevada recognized this as a problem and went and did something about it: as of July 1, drivers are now legally required to drive at least the speed limit in the left lane, local news outlet 13 Action News reported. From the story: While speeding is definitely still an issue in Las Vegas and on many highways in the state and country, NHP says the No. 1 driving issue that causes the most road rage is when people hog the passing lane. “It’s law here that if you’re gonna be in that lane, you need to be going at least the speed limit,” said Trooper Jason Buratczuk. So far, three people in Nevada have been cited with breaking the new law. First offenses cost $50, second $100 and third $250. To see this new law in action, 13 Action News took a ride with a Nevada Highway Patrol trooper, where they pulled over a driver who was going 59 mph in a 65. I wish I was there to witness it myself. NHP wants to be clear that this isn’t a law to advocate speeding, but rather to keep the flow of traffic going and eradicate road rage. I’m not complaining. sauce: http://jalopnik.com/lets-all-applaud-nevada-for-making-dicking-around-in-th-1797498053?utm_campaign=socialflow_jalopnik_facebook&utm_source=jalopnik_facebook&utm_medium=socialflow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 Posting this here cos all my 'friends' are here: sauce: http://jalopnik.com/lets-all-applaud-nevada-for-making-dicking-around-in-th-1797498053?utm_campaign=socialflow_jalopnik_facebook&utm_source=jalopnik_facebook&utm_medium=socialflow 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 (edited) Edited August 4, 2017 by Mason016 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 Perth TP is very effective at enforcing no hogging and no speeding. Its a method which every singaporean will understand and quickly comply with. Just surprised why got no "study visit" to learn "best practices". Yes agree, I feel we just have a lot of lazy drivers here and a lot of lazy enforcers... one type too lazy to check mirrors and filter when not overtaking... and the other type... no need to say more. Can see how well rules are enforced with the number of monster trucks and vans speeding around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged August 4, 2017 Share August 4, 2017 Serious injury or death avoided by split seconds... Truck driving was really reckless driving across traffic junction when light not in its favor... must be dreaming or not paying attention to the road... https://www.facebook.com/BehChiaLor/videos/1930595827196502/ I hope they quickly bring back the speed warning light for such vehicles. Look at the speed, with the flashing lights and sound, he will drop attention and will slow down. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...