Bluepica 4th Gear March 31, 2017 Author Share March 31, 2017 means u eating fish lao jiao. Only the lao jiao likes to eat these undesirable parts. pomfret head is soft, whole head can be eaten without spitting out anything... the Makcik at my office JTC canteen sure call me if got nice batang fish head "adik adik... hari ini ada kepala batang" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 Steamed fish sell expensive when eat outside here. If can learn the skill and cook at home but no it won't mean you will open tze char stall because that's a lot of hard work. Teochew style, HK style, ginger, garlic, Shanghai style sugar-vinegar, hunan style chili .. Many pattern can try but pomfret only teochew is nice. Kim bak lor very common and very cheap can try different pattern. kim bak lor has quite low omega 3s. I usually don't buy to eat. Not that it's unhealthy, but just not much different from tilapia/catfish etc. Ginger, garlic, dou chi, coriander. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 (edited) if my wife steams promfret at home, i only get to pick on the fish bones and fish head and gill area nia all the fish meat goes to my kids and wife first best part of fish is always the cheek ley... .. i ever tried this steamed parrot fish at clementi hawker (forgot the name) simply the best fish i have ever eaten.... and of cus .. the cheek.. Edited March 31, 2017 by SuPerBoRed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear March 31, 2017 Author Share March 31, 2017 best part of fish is always the cheek ley... .. i ever tried this steamed parrot fish at clementi hawker (forgot the name) simply the best fish i have ever eaten.... and of cus .. the cheek.. another JTC canteen near my office, a popular economy mixed rice stall by 3 teo chew sister cook best assam parrot fish head.... but sad , now the whole building torn down liao, no more steam fish to eat for lunch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged March 31, 2017 Share March 31, 2017 another JTC canteen near my office, a popular economy mixed rice stall by 3 teo chew sister cook best assam parrot fish head.... but sad , now the whole building torn down liao, no more steam fish to eat for lunch Lol.. i know that one! friend dragged me there to eat... but she forgot i dont like sour stuff... i was 又爱又恨.... fish damn shiok.. but the gravy ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfverine Twincharged April 1, 2017 Share April 1, 2017 I have been eating Ah Orh's steam pomfret when they were located at the now-defunct Ellenborough Market Hawker Centre till the current outlet at Bukit Merah. It is a go-to place whenever I am in need of comfort food. Another place that does a good job with this dish (and a few other Teochew dishes) is Peng. Fish is fresh with the right mix of ingredients (including tang orh) and ample amount of soup for you to slurp along . Hello makan kaki, I usually go to Ah Orh at Sin Ming to have this dish but since Sin Ming branch already no more, then left Bukit merah, but it's a bit far and pricey. Anyone know of other zi char that serves this fish? and besides teo chew style, so far I haven't eat any HK style here. Any recommendation? not too atas place la.... Oh yeah, I've tried Fa Ji at Amoy street before too. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic April 1, 2017 Share April 1, 2017 those are my fav parts Those part meat are most soft. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic April 1, 2017 Share April 1, 2017 Can try Zai Shun at Blk 253 Jurong East.. usually crowded during lunchtime and their steam fishes very popular.. Zai shun is good 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluepica 4th Gear April 1, 2017 Author Share April 1, 2017 I have been eating Ah Orh's steam pomfret when they were located at the now-defunct Ellenborough Market Hawker Centre till the current outlet at Bukit Merah. It is a go-to place whenever I am in need of comfort food. Another place that does a good job with this dish (and a few other Teochew dishes) is Peng. Fish is fresh with the right mix of ingredients (including tang orh) and ample amount of soup for you to slurp along . Where is Peng? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfverine Twincharged April 1, 2017 Share April 1, 2017 Not exactly a place that is accessible - somewhere in Hougang. http://ieatishootipost.sg/peng-restaurant-catering-services-teochew-food-teochew-heartlands/ Where is Peng? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged April 1, 2017 Share April 1, 2017 if my wife steams promfret at home, i only get to pick on the fish bones and fish head and gill area nia all the fish meat goes to my kids and wife first That's why I prefer red grouper or shun hock to pomfret. The head is bigger and meatier. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sadan 6th Gear April 2, 2017 Share April 2, 2017 Can try eating at Seng Kee Black Herbal Chicken Soup. Last I went there, their seasfood (mostly fishes) is display with prices n which includes cooking. After selecting, you tell them your preferred cooking method. They have 2 branches.. one at 467 Changi Road, and the other at 511 Bedok North St 3, Hawker Centre. I find their fish fresh and value for money Oh! Since you are there may as well try their signature dish, Herbal Mee Sua. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 4, 2017 Share April 4, 2017 is it only me that dun like pomfret? Me too. The best pomfret I eaten was deep fried at a kampong in MY!!! Cooked by an old aunty operating a very small coffeeshop. It is really small. Two big tables of 10 ppl each fills the whole space. Must pre-order in the morning, she go shopping, then evening come and eat for dinner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 4, 2017 Share April 4, 2017 Those part meat are most soft.For those with no teeth hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 4, 2017 Share April 4, 2017 Not exactly a place that is accessible - somewhere in Hougang. http://ieatishootipost.sg/peng-restaurant-catering-services-teochew-food-teochew-heartlands/ One of the two places I want to try... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scholesy 4th Gear April 4, 2017 Share April 4, 2017 got done before, but if I can make it as good as them, I'm better off open a zi char stall yes our home stove fire cannot make it....tats why outside steam fish always seem to be more tender...the just right cooked degree.... pomfret is primarily teochew....i recommend u chao shan cuisine at philip street. aft u eat the fish here, hard to find another that can match....not too exp too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged April 4, 2017 Share April 4, 2017 (edited) yes our home stove fire cannot make it....tats why outside steam fish always seem to be more tender...the just right cooked degree.... pomfret is primarily teochew....i recommend u chao shan cuisine at philip street. aft u eat the fish here, hard to find another that can match....not too exp too. Been wanting to try out "Chao Shan" at Philip Street but my wife tells me the reservation is at least 3 months before and no guarantee got space. I think the one at Quan Yuan, a hokkien restaurant along Jln Besar Rd, their steamed pomfret (white pomfret) is not bad, $60-$90 depending on fish size. I don't really like to eat fish cos I was plied with ngoh h'er when I was young, it's like 3 meals everyday, every dish. But now starting to eat again, I usually steam or oven bake my fish. my way of steaming fish: Rub salt on fish, clean off with running water, rub minimal salt to ensure it thinly covers the fish body, some Huat Diao (around 1-2 tea spoon), rub some ginger over the fish then place the ginger on the body, around and under (I really hate fishy smell), add one small teaspoon of old soya sauce (lao chou) around the plate, some silky tofu, if you like can add chopped/diced leek leaves/stem in place of spring onions or chinese parsley. Can also add in chilli padi and/or wolfberries. Steam in max fire for 10mins. Edited April 4, 2017 by StefanK 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfverine Twincharged April 4, 2017 Share April 4, 2017 Overall good food although I must say the Teochew cooking is slightly tarnished with a mixture of Hokkien/Singaporean style - e.g. typical gravy for Teochew braised duck is watery but they have it the sticky way (more Hokkien?); orh nee should just be orh nee with pumpkin and ginko nuts but this one has coconut sauce over it. Nevertheless, still good food - enjoy and remember to make reservation! One of the two places I want to try... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...