Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 wah. learnt something new today. usually i go for qingyi or su mei when i'm at zaishun. don't think they have any promfret. Different fish. They tell you same most likely want to keto you.Freshwater should eat in MY at the source and live one, not dead one.Even the relatively cheaper Patin also got different grades. Round head one cheaper, pointed head one I think double the price. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 Patin huh? Cow car water --- yellow signboard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 wah. learnt something new today. usually i go for qingyi or su mei when i'm at zaishun. don't think they have any promfret. Have, ever tried before, very nice 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 It has to be lunch with the older brother with Zai shun. Somehow different with younger brother in the evening. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 It has to be lunch with the older brother with Zai shun. Somehow different with younger brother in the evening. but ah ong more guai lan. hahahaha but his tou chiu is better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 Ikan Masak Kicap ? Shiok. Freshwater fish. Eat in MY lah. Still got Sultan Fish, among the best freshwater fish in the region. Ikan masak kicap.....with a lot of onions.......fuwah......Always tell my wife that when she cook this.....its make the dish sweeter.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 Ikan masak kicap.....with a lot of onions.......fuwah......Always tell my wife that when she cook this.....its make the dish sweeter.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 (edited) i like to have it simple. fry with lotsa garlic and shallot with some light soy sauce. just the garlic and shallot go with plain rice already sibei shiok Anything with soy sauce is slurp slurp. When i was young i would refused to eat what my mum cooked........i only liked fried eggs and soy sauce on rice......syiok liao! One day i found out how stupid i was.....i didnt even eat prawn until i was 14......... Edited April 5, 2017 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 (edited) Different fish. They tell you same most likely want to keto you.Freshwater should eat in MY at the source and live one, not dead one. Even the relatively cheaper Patin also got different grades. Round head one cheaper, pointed head one I think double the price. OK this is from my understanding. @Little_prince The correct class is usually referred to Mahseer. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahseer The local name in malaysia is Empurau aka wang bu liao. https://indomahseer.wordpress.com/products/230-2/ Wang Bu liao is a malaysian mahseer. The most highly prized ones are wild caught i believe in borneo. Edited April 5, 2017 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 Must use kicap, Malay soy sauce then nice. too sweet for my liking lol different strokes for different folks la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 Sultan fish is called Jelawat Cost is just below Empurau. 2nd most expensive freshwater fish in the region. http://www.junsing.com/?page_id=77&lang=en http://my.dining.asiatatler.com/features/the-king-of-fishSultan Fish (Leptobarbus Hoevenii) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 (edited) Malaysian Mahseer is the 紅吉羅, also nice but relatively cheaper but often sold as Empurau. Err unless there's another species of fish, Empurau should be hong ji luo. http://www.junsing.com/?page_id=87&lang=en 忘不了(empurau)就是红吉罗(kelah)来的。empurau是砂拉越人的叫法,kelah是西马的叫法。 红吉罗(Kelah)=西马人取的名字。 恩不老(Empurau)=东马人取的名字。 忘不了=酒楼和收鱼商自创搞宣传的名字。 基本上Tor tambroides这种鱼,标准叫法是红吉罗。 All the websites i've surfed so far, tell the same story. https://www.facebook.com/ieatishootipost/photos/a.212171996301.143603.86804456301/10151135760626302/?type=1&theater This breed of fish is now bred. So maybe there are some color differences and taste differences, but they are all the same fish. Edited April 5, 2017 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 Internet is afterall Internet, cannot eat one. I'm not very good at telling fishes apart other than the obvious ones. So i wouldn't buy these type of expensive fishes haha. Even the sultan is way out of budget, don't even talk about empurau Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 Eat soon hock more consistent , mostly farmed. Yao Zam soon hock ftw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 (edited) too sweet for my liking lol different strokes for different folks la Buy the green label one......masin for salty. Edited April 5, 2017 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 sultan fish is it the one served with fish scales? the meat very nice but scales jiak buay loh leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 Yao Zam soon hock ftw sorry, where is this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coltplussport Turbocharged April 5, 2017 Share April 5, 2017 sorry, where is this?油浸顺壳 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...