Leo72 6th Gear April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 My kmc SE did tell me tier 3 quite difficult to get coe but can try if you not in rush for a car. I wonder why other SE didn't inform those buyer or they choose to ignore. I believe the SE got explained but just that some buyers got the "Class 95" syndrome (only hear the good things or things they want to hear) and when ask to top up or cannot get COE then come to kpkb. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eteo66 1st Gear April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 No advice is perfect.... the decision made was 3 bids ago liao anyway. Like many said. Non guarenteeded means theres a chance of non delivrery... period. Only cheating case is guarenteed coe but after the bid u still fail to get your coe.... Scenario. U go buy bar chor mee. The uncle says guarentee u will have a abalone if u pay 2 bucks to guarentee it. However he also offer u a special option.... dun pay 2 dollars for non guarentee of that abalone.... this effect end of 5pm when he close his shop.. if he still have abalone end of the day. He will give u an abalone free. Then at 4pm. U kan chiong. U ask uncle ah. Wheres my abalone. Uncle say not guarentee mah since u no pay 2 dollars to guarentee it. He will ask u wait till 5pm. If i have abalone at 5pm i will give u.... So now u in 3rd bid of 6.... so what u wan2 do?? Thanks for your statements. I know the situation exactly and did not need further analogies with bar chor mee! My question was to get some advice or opinions as to what to do know. Others have said not to top up because the AD has enough profit to cover the COE increase, whilst others have topped up. I will likely not top up as I have time. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
userqq Neutral Newbie April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Hi, sorry to side track, may I ask those who had gotten their COE for this round from BM for Wish, have you collected your vehicle? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 (edited) If you have taken a second look at your payoff matrices, even a cursory one, you would have realised that AD's best move is still 'ask for top up' no matter what the coe is. At the same time the worst outcome is still no ask no sales. And if you really believe that AD has such slim margin that they can't cushion a rise in coe, explain how guaranteed Coe works. Guess I can rest my case for now. Too many victoms of Stockholm syndrome here. Of course the market moves. It has been priced in. Otherwise there would never be such a thing called GUARANTEED COE. I will address ALL of your points: Para 1: Yes that's true, i agree with you that AD ask for top up in every scenario is the best for AD, but ..... on paper only. In reality, not all ADs ask for top up all the time, think deeper and you know why (like i said, boils down to profit margins). Game Theory payoff matrix doesn't explain how things actually manifest in real life as there are so many more variables and consideration. But even if we limit this discussion to just paper talk, I have proven that the rationale decision for the customer is not to say NO all the time. Para 2: It has already been proven that AD really have such thin margins that NG deals can lapse, it is not something of my imagination or belief. It is a fact. For me to explain how GTD COE works, you need to understand the nature of how COE fluctuates. COE can fall sharply, but when it rise, it usually rises smaller amounts, unless it is correcting for a sharp fall in the previous round. In all the 54 rounds of CAT A and CAT B since Jan 2015, there are only 2 occasion why COE increased more than 5k, one time in June 2016 because Govt relaxed the loan amount, the other time in 2015, i cannot rem what was the reason then. So apart from these 2 times, 52 other times or 95% of the time, there has been no increase of more than 5k. For B&B cars, where car price matters a lot, ADs are trying to be competitive and go as low as possible to get more sales. They therefore have different margins side aside for COE increases in their margins, some more some less. I estimate that most B&B cars the AD only set aside about 1k-2k in their prices for COE increases. therefore topping up the additional 2-3k more will cover 5k of COE increase, which is safe to guarantee a COE in 95% of the time. To further illustrate my point, we already know a few bros in this thread, whose bids miss by a mere $50 or $100 dollars, in their case, $3k more goes a long way. There you have it, how GTD works, and how that few thousands make a difference. Para 3: Stockholm syndrome? hahaha, you will think this way only if you are ignorant and you feel AD is just out all to get you. Now having addressed all you points, I hope you can address mine, instead of selectively avoiding it in your reply to me: You have not proven that it is a scam that AD is asking for top ups via game theory or any other theory for that matter. so stop sprouting nonsense in here! Edited April 6, 2017 by TangoElite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Payoff matrix works only if there's limited information available. For this case. Uptrend of coe. Govt intervention. Popularity of cars all come into picture. Profit margins agreed fully such theories are limited in their ability to explain the COE situation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LHL 1st Gear April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Hi, sorry to side track, may I ask those who had gotten their COE for this round from BM for Wish, have you collected your vehicle?They told me i can collect my WISH in mid April, once balance payment is cleared. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
userqq Neutral Newbie April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 They told me i can collect my WISH in mid April, once balance payment is cleared.You booked the standard model or elegance? Mine still pending their April shipment.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 so when is the next coe bdding ah? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 I like Bar chor mee mai hum! No advice is perfect.... the decision made was 3 bids ago liao anyway.Like many said. Non guarenteeded means theres a chance of non delivrery... period.Only cheating case is guarenteed coe but after the bid u still fail to get your coe....Scenario.U go buy bar chor mee. The uncle says guarentee u will have a abalone if u pay 2 bucks to guarentee it. However he also offer u a special option.... dun pay 2 dollars for non guarentee of that abalone.... this effect end of 5pm when he close his shop.. if he still have abalone end of the day. He will give u an abalone free.Then at 4pm. U kan chiong. U ask uncle ah. Wheres my abalone. Uncle say not guarentee mah since u no pay 2 dollars to guarentee it. He will ask u wait till 5pm. If i have abalone at 5pm i will give u....So now u in 3rd bid of 6.... so what u wan2 do?? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 so when is the next coe bdding ah? Dont tell me you are going to offer chocolate gold bar for the winners Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 (edited) Those who have not secured COE under non guaranteed, don’t think too much into it. My firm advise is: 1) Do NOT top up at all costs, unless you have spare cash to throw away 2) If COE is still not secured after the stipulated number of bids, just bring your money to another distributor. The distributor is just as anxious to secure COE for you, to close sales. Even top up 5k $89> for basic elantra is a good deal That makes the Elantra's twin, the Kia K3 L at $86K an irresistible deal !!! Hi, interesting. I am currently in this situation. 6 bids, non gteed coe, unable to secure after 3 tries. But if coe keep rising as it has been doing, I may not get the car. Should I still say no to top up? Advice needed! Tks bros If you can make do with a BMW (Bus, Mrt, Walk), then do not top up. If you genuinely need a car for transport, simply suck thumb and top up. But I would advise you to play hard ball and don't give in. Edited April 6, 2017 by Vinceng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Not to defend this schemes offered though. The coe environment create this kind of creative marketing also. All these so called options makes buying more complex than ever... So we cant fault the buyer entirely. Coz during the buying some se may confidently says cb lar. No need take guarenteed. Coz non guarenteed may tio coe also... so it becomes mis intrptrtation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 But hows your current car condition, must factor in maintenance cost for old cars leh. I am thinking of using my kar with mrt and bus if i dun get in 6 bids, but like what i see to people whom i know, those used to driving usually go back to buying car within 2 wks. So, not sure how is my endurance level then.... tmr is day 10 of my giving up driving.. more specifically, giving up driving to work.. downgrade from normal car to OPC Maybe once u get used to public transport, u might hope km dont bid for u successfully i got used to public transport after two weeks leow.. was hoping the same thing.. but alas.. KMC got my bid for me.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowman16 1st Gear April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 tmr is day 10 of my giving up driving.. more specifically, giving up driving to work.. downgrade from normal car to OPC i got used to public transport after two weeks leow.. was hoping the same thing.. but alas.. KMC got my bid for me.. Me too having been taking public transport since i sold off my ride last week.Can relax and enjoy the scenery along the route to workplace something which i won't be able to do if i'm driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Dont tell me you are going to offer chocolate gold bar for the winners KNN, tomorrow I give you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 tmr is day 10 of my giving up driving.. more specifically, giving up driving to work.. downgrade from normal car to OPC i got used to public transport after two weeks leow.. was hoping the same thing.. but alas.. KMC got my bid for me.. Actually when you do not have a car or you cant drive to work but to take public transport, whether you get used or not still have no choice lo. Like me, ever since i take public transport to work, even though i dont like it but i have no choice lo. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 I think once there is enough converts to B.M.W due to the ever raging COE (which our govt is dependent on for revenue), ....they can band together to start a MyBMWForum...have potential. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harthen 2nd Gear April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 1 more week before next bidding... :) ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...