IT Show 2017 @ Suntec

Hshs

On 3/20/2017 at 1:49 AM, Lala81 said:

haha don't be surprised, next time u walk into the shop, they act blur or say the provider stopped providing. Good luck.

They will help you to a point. 

But all this streaming in singapore is considered illegal/very grey area of the law, so u think how much will they help you?

They are just selling the box to earn the 1 time profit. There's nothing in it for them to provide you "warranty"

If you have been to the IT Show, can hear them say that they "guarantee" 3 years live broadcast as they demo the set to customers. Many ppl stand and watch these demos. They will also ask ppl to choose the channel they want and it will immediately be available. Got name card of shop at SLS. [laugh]

On 3/20/2017 at 1:53 AM, Jman888 said:

was surprise by the crowd attending this year IT show, maybe i didn't go to the past few and i thought nobody go to these shows anymore   [laugh]

Even when I am leaving at 8pm on Fri, ppl are still flowing in. Carparks very full, even at B2. Every few metres, one car waiting for lot.

On 3/20/2017 at 1:53 AM, Adrianli said:

If you have been to the IT Show, can hear them say that they "guarantee" 3 years live broadcast as they demo the set to customers. Many ppl stand and watch these demos. They will also ask ppl to choose the channel they want and it will immediately be available. Got name card of shop at SLS. [laugh]

If they are using a dedicated stream with only very few users on them, sure the server can handle the streaming.

But these are special streams they use for demo.

The stream provider is just working out of some home or industrial unit out of some other country (TW, China, MY).

In china, the streams are legit but they are only for mainland audience. That's why so many china streams are geo-blocked.

These providers aren't a TV broadcaster. They shut down operations just like at a snap of finger.

Look at maige. For 2 years the most stable provider, then PRC govt clamp down, close shop overnight. All those paid subscriptions ... ooops no refund hor.

The "providers" restarted another 1-2 services since then.

anyway, like atrecord mentioned. Just have your expectations set right when u purchase such boxes can liao.

These boxes their hardware is really only worth max max 40-50 sgd (being very generous here). 

IT show is not a good place to buy those media box, the price is always mark up very high.  A good place will be online shop like QOO10 where the price is much cheaper and more choices.

On 3/19/2017 at 1:35 AM, Hshs said:

Thinking of buying those media box to watch movie and other.
The sell person at IT Show said until got dragon got phoenix.
Can give any feedback?

On 3/20/2017 at 4:07 AM, Mustank said:

If want to watch tv, mio and starhub box is still the best

Agreed, but if you watch football. The 1 or 2 month subscription

enough you to buy a box already.

Thanks for all the feedback and advise.

I don't expect the high quality of the media box.

As long can last me one or two years is more than enough.

Went for the Show three days on the row.

Learn many new things. Also surprising so crowded. Unlike Motorshow.

On 3/20/2017 at 2:32 AM, Premacist said:

IT show is not a good place to buy those media box, the price is always mark up very high. A good place will be online shop like QOO10 where the price is much cheaper and more choices.

Know many thing buy online is much cheaper. But I am those buy car die die must buy from AD type

On 3/20/2017 at 1:53 AM, Jman888 said:

was surprise by the crowd attending this year IT show, maybe i didn't go to the past few and i thought nobody go to these shows anymore [laugh]

My $1000 Smart TV only last three years. Nowday electronic appliances don't

last long. This may explain why the show so crowded

I myself went there three days on the row

On 3/20/2017 at 1:19 PM, Hshs said:

My $1000 Smart TV only last three years. Nowday electronic appliances don't

last long. This may explain why the show so crowded

I myself went there three days on the rowð

my $899 LED tv (with 3D function) still going strong after at least 5 years.

On 3/20/2017 at 2:57 PM, Jman888 said:

my $899 LED tv (with 3D function) still going strong after at least 5 years.

My $4000/- Panasonic TV (dont even know if its LED or LCD) is now 9 years old; I think its  60 inches

Was told by dealer (hopefully the truth) that the components were made in Japan and assembled in Malaysia

Only thing of late is that the TV does not respond to my SCV HDMI cable but responds to my RGB cable (the 3 colour cables)

Anyway I also getting old; cant seem to see much difference between HD and normal signals  

Only 1 time during warranty it got spoilt (but repair was done free) as it had I think a 3 years warranty

Edited by BanCoe

On 3/20/2017 at 10:16 PM, BanCoe said:

My $4000/- Panasonic TV (dont even know if its LED or LCD) is now 9 years old; I think its 60 inches

Was told by dealer (hopefully the truth) that the components were made in Japan and assembled in Malaysia

Only thing of late is that the TV does not respond to my SCV HDMI cable but responds to my RGB cable (the 3 colour cables)

Anyway I also getting old; cant seem to see much difference between HD and normal signals

Only 1 time during warranty it got spoilt (but repair was done free) as it had I think a 3 years warranty

Could be plasma ?

Mine is still going strong.

On 3/20/2017 at 11:32 PM, Blueray said:

Could be plasma ?

Mine is still going strong. ððð

Alamak sorry - its Sharp -aquos- sorry for the wrong brand - it's definitely LCD and just measured it at 52 inches / I just measured it now Edited by BanCoe

On 3/20/2017 at 11:32 AM, Hshs said:

Agreed, but if you watch football. The 1 or 2 month subscription

enough you to buy a box already.

For me, I don't want to pay a single dollar to the two greedy telcos with the S in front even when I can afford it.  In their pursuit of exclusive rights to broadcast live soccer matches, they try to outbid one another thereby raising the cost so significantly.  In the end, we the soccer fans and consumers are made to pay for something which cost is over-inflated and worse still, pay even more to be locked by a contract wherein we get other programmes which we don't need.  

I used to pay when only one telco was showing live soccer, and the price was reasonable then.  But after the second telco came in with the license to operate cable TV, the price of live soccer just shot up.  And the irony of it all is, by providing a competition in the cable tv market, the price for watching live soccer actually increased !  Now I make do with taking my chance with the tv box or the computer, or watch the good matches in coffee shops or pubs, or if all else fails watch the highlights from computer the next day.  I rather use the money to bring my family to the movies.

On 3/20/2017 at 11:42 PM, Theobserver said:

For me, I don't want to pay a single dollar to the two greedy telcos with the S in front even when I can afford it.  In their pursuit of exclusive rights to broadcast live soccer matches, they try to outbid one another thereby raising the cost so significantly.  In the end, we the soccer fans and consumers are made to pay for something which cost is over-inflated and worse still, pay even more to be locked by a contract wherein we get other programmes which we don't need.  

I used to pay when only one telco was showing live soccer, and the price was reasonable then.  But after the second telco came in with the license to operate cable TV, the price of live soccer just shot up.  And the irony of it all is, by providing a competition in the cable tv market, the price for watching live soccer actually increased !  Now I make do with taking my chance with the tv box or the computer, or watch the good matches in coffee shops or pubs, or if all else fails watch the highlights from computer the next day.  I rather use the money to bring my family to the movies.

FYI, since the start of this season, BPL, FA cup and Champion's league is broadcast by Eleven Sports. Both telcos need to purchase from Eleven Sports.

You can dont buy from telcos. Can buy direct from Eleven Sports online, got monthly charges, also got pay-per-perview charges.

Also can purchase from Toggle Now.

Welcome to the new era of football broadcasting. [grin]  Once my contract ends with MIO Tv, I will be considering signing with Eleven Sports directly. No need to have stupid bundle pack or set top box.

On 3/20/2017 at 10:16 PM, BanCoe said:

My $4000/- Panasonic TV (dont even know if its LED or LCD) is now 9 years old; I think its  60 inches

Just live with it I guess?  Already 9 years old - on its last leg.

If cannot live with it then get a new one already. 50+ inch these days still quite cheap.

On 3/21/2017 at 12:33 AM, Kusje said:

Just live with it I guess?  Already 9 years old - on its last leg.

If cannot live with it then get a new one already. 50+ inch these days still quite cheap.

Yeap - I hope too at least see it live till Coe expires 

Otherwise all is well so far 

BTW i made a mistake in the brand - its Sharp Aquos not Panasonic as mentioned earlier

On 3/19/2017 at 1:35 AM, Hshs said:

Thinking of buying those media box to watch movie and other.

The sell person at IT Show said until got dragon got phoenix.

Can give any feedback?

Beware of hidden trojans within the apps.