IT Show 2017 @ Suntec

Hshs

I am also looking for a Fitbit, any good deals?

I was after the Fitbit charge 2. Only see challenger selling at $218 ( normal $248 )... Didn't buy at the IT fair...

End up, I bought from Lazada below $200 (seller promo, limited sets) bought it on thur after returning from Suntec and received it today Liao..... Sibei happy. ...

Thinking of buying those media box to watch movie and other.

The sell person at IT Show said until got dragon got phoenix.

Can give any feedback?

Looking at wireless earbud/pods. Still dunno how good is the sound quality and battery life. My friend is getting his China made ones online. Looking forward to see how good it's. Hopefully non of the batteries explode. LoL...

Here are some non-apple pods and reviewed by cnet.

https://www.cnet.com/news/11-alternative-wireless-earbud-headphones-that-arent-the-apple-airpods/

Can give any feedback?

Saw that too.

Going for $139 I believe.

My sis using a streaming box that can see channels from many countries. Football etc all avail. Even r rated channels.

No yearly renewal fee crap. Heard from friends some of these boxes require yearly fee to continue.

I am just waiting for my miotv to end. Many people recommend kodi but these boxes are user friendly and cheap. I dunno if there's lag. Never try.

Saw that too.

My sis using a streaming box that can see channels from many countries. Football etc all avail. Even r rated channels.

No yearly renewal fee crap. Heard from friends some of these boxes require yearly fee to continue.

I am just waiting for my miotv to end. Many people recommend kodi but these boxes are user friendly and cheap. I dunno if there's lag. Never try.

These boxes work perfectly like a dream when it's new. Clear crisp quality but once cache built up the lag is so agonising that you want to smash it against the wall unless you are on top of the line broadband package.

One way to minimise lag is to use LAN instead of wifi.

Kodi plays best video quality against other players on my micron 4k box but the astro football channels on it kena hacked and the provider can't revive them.

Haven't watch local tv for a few years liao

I think by the next generation

Local tv need govt funding liao

Then increase our tax :(

Rather whatever box, I have a going to spoil iPad mini to steam whatever drama I want to watch

I had terminated starhub for more than a yr now

Saw that too.

It's really heng suay. Most of these streaming devices for Live TV, some of them work well at the start but the "provider" is usually an illegal provider based in malaysia, china, taiwan.

Especially those that promise football channels, really very hard to say how long they will stay in operation. Can be days - weeks - months - years after u buy.

So it's a fly by night service. One day, they can just shut down.

If u follow the history of these many many different boxes (which are just android boxes and the hardware only cost 20-30 dollars), they come and go, as long as there's willing people to pay for these subscriptions.

Movies, dramas etc it's more stable.

These boxes work perfectly like a dream when it's new. Clear crisp quality but once cache built up the lag is so agonising that you want to smash it against the wall unless you are on top of the line broadband package.

One way to minimise lag is to use LAN instead of wifi.

Kodi plays best video quality against other players on my micron 4k box but the astro football channels on it kena hacked and the provider can't revive them.

actually it's nothing to do with cache problems most of the time.

It's just the provider's stream is being watched by too many people, hence affecting everyone.

After a while, many of these streams will go offline and a new stream will start with less people on it. Then the story repeats itself.

There are many people online trying to chase these live TV/football streams. There's nothing that ever works consistently, even for more than a few mths.

If there's a reliable paid subscription football one for 10-20 dollars/month, i might pay too.

But instead i just don't watch soccer anymore lol.

Can give any feedback?

I bought 2 over the last 2 years. 

If you don't have exceedingly high expectations, then they are quite worthwhile.

If you think it is going to be v reliable and good quality, then you'll be disappointed.

Everybody said got dunno how many channels. The first one i bought 2 yr ago, since 2-3 mth ago said licensed no longer valid, so all the channels cannot access liao...

Saw that too.

Wah, this type also have? Which box is this? 

I'm surprised that got vendor selling this...

Can give any feedback?

Go SL and look for those shop that sell these boxes exclusively, easier for warrenty and update issues.

impt to chk if they do updates on e apps installed on the set for you, ie after some time if e apps failed u can just walk into e shop and get e guy to update/download e whole new list of working apps into ur box.

I bought 2 over the last 2 years. 

If you don't have exceedingly high expectations, then they are quite worthwhile.

If you think it is going to be v reliable and good quality, then you'll be disappointed.

Everybody said got dunno how many channels. The first one i bought 2 yr ago, since 2-3 mth ago said licensed no longer valid, so all the channels cannot access liao...

Wah, this type also have? Which box is this? 

I'm surprised that got vendor selling this...

Kodi

Looking at wireless earbud/pods. Still dunno how good is the sound quality and battery life. My friend is getting his China made ones online. Looking forward to see how good it's. Hopefully non of the batteries explode. LoL...

Here are some non-apple pods and reviewed by cnet.

https://www.cnet.com/news/11-alternative-wireless-earbud-headphones-that-arent-the-apple-airpods/

recently got 1 case happened in Aussie I think ... saw it on FB 

Went there on sunday evening last day sale, a lot of bargains to hunt for! Bought thecoopidea 4 in 1 USB hub at $35 only. This kind of show go last day always got final reduction. No point go on first day!

Go SL and look for those shop that sell these boxes exclusively, easier for warrenty and update issues.

impt to chk if they do updates on e apps installed on the set for you, ie after some time if e apps failed u can just walk into e shop and get e guy to update/download e whole new list of working apps into ur box.

haha don't be surprised, next time u walk into the shop, they act blur or say the provider stopped providing. Good luck.

They will help you to a point. 

But all this streaming in singapore is considered illegal/very grey area of the law, so u think how much will they help you?

They are just selling the box to earn the 1 time profit. There's nothing in it for them to provide you "warranty"

There are some extremely good movie/drama/anime repositories for kodi. Nothing u can't find online anyway on your PC or browser.

But Live TV, unless u have the paid subscriptions one, also bit fly by night operations one lah.

Kodi

Actually, this android box is not too bad, i been using one to cure my football fix for the past few months and it is not too bad, just that the commentary is not in English

was surprise by the crowd attending this year IT show, maybe i didn't go to the past few and i thought nobody go to these shows anymore   [laugh]