The continuing GLOBAL stressful thread! Part II

On straits times liao. Woman swore at old man and young man got anger issue as he pushed all the plates to the floor when someone told him he shouldn't shove the old man.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/witness-says-woman-in-table-dispute-at-toa-payoh-hawker-centre-swore-at-elderly-man

Witness says woman in table dispute at Toa Payoh hawker centre swore at elderly man

A couple shouted and pushed an elderly man who wanted to share a table at a hawker centre with them on April 21, 2017.

A couple shouted and pushed an elderly man who wanted to share a table at a hawker centre with them on April 21, 2017.SCREENGRAB: FACEBOOK/MANNY QUEST

PUBLISHED1 HOUR AGO

FACEBOOK2,096TWITTERWHATSAPPEMAIL

Chew Hui Min

SINGAPORE - An elderly man who was abused by a couple at a Toa Payoh hawker centre in a video that has gone viral was calm and polite, said an eyewitness.

A video that shows a young man shoving an elderly man from behind at Toa Payoh Lorong 8 Market & Food Centre was shared extensively on Facebook since it was posted around midnight on Sunday.

A woman in white, his companion, was earlier seen shouting at the elderly man, apparently in a dispute over sharing the table.

Many Facebook users were horrified at the young couple's behaviour.

Ms Janice Lim, who was having dinner at the hawker centre on Friday (April 21), said she was sitting at a nearby table when the incident happened at around 8.45pm.

It was very crowded, and the table in dispute was the only available one in the area at the time, she said.

She looked over when she heard a woman shouting, Ms Lim, 50, told The Straits Times on Sunday (April 23).

The elderly man, who was holding a tray of food, was asking the woman how many people were sitting at the table.

The woman's irritated reply was "can't you see it's reserved", Ms Lim said, adding that there was a small foldable umbrella on the table, which was filled with dishes and leftover food from previous patrons.

ST_20170402_MLCHOPE022496_3048145.jpg

Above, from left: Diners chope seats with items like umbrellas, work passes and water bottles. These pictures were taken at the food centre at Our Tampines Hub which, ironically, has introduced a set of "house rules" on seat-choping.

Related Story

Singapore's food centre chope culture: Is it practical or plain rude?

The elderly man said he could not, and repeated a few times that he just needed one seat, but did not raise his voice, she said.

He also asked the woman what she meant by "reserve", as the hawker centre was a public place, Ms Lim recounted.

The woman continued to say loudly things like "you don't understand the word reservation?", and called him a "bl**dy old man" and "f******* old man", according to Ms Lim.

The angry young woman then called her companion, and told him that the elderly man was trying to take their table.

Shortly after that, the young man came and shoved the old man from behind, as seen in the video posted on a few Facebook accounts, including The Local Society. That video has been viewed 1.3 million times as of 3pm on Sunday.

The elderly man nearly lost his balance from the shove, but managed to stay on his feet by holding onto the table.

The young man then asked him: "Why you disturb her?"

Ms Lim said that at this point a few people started to approach the couple and the elderly man, including herself.

A man in black, seen in the video, was the first to reach them. He was sitting at a table beside them, which had one seat left. He offered the elderly man the seat and he went to join them, Ms Lim said.

Later, Ms Lim also saw another patron tell the young man he should not have pushed the elderly man.

The young man then pushed the plates and bowls on the table onto the floor in anger, leaving a mess for the cleaners, Ms Lim said.

"This is the worst manifestation of our seat choping culture," Ms Lim added.

Edited by Ender

With our aging society we ginna see more of these incidents where there are gonna b disputes. Case in point old fart on mrt and now this. I give the old man the benefit of doubt but knowing how stubborn they can be and adamant, we never know

Whatever the case, using bodily harm like that is totally uncalled for

With our aging society we ginna see more of these incidents where there are gonna b disputes. Case in point old fart on mrt and now this. I give the old man the benefit of doubt but knowing how stubborn they can be and adamant, we never know

Whatever the case, using bodily harm like that is totally uncalled for

No worries. We promise not to use bodily harm on you. -_-

News paper also come out ...... dont die also cannot liao  [bigcry]

Agreed.

That was a cheap shot.

It was a hard shove from behind.

i will only do that cheap shove if Radx is infront of me  :XD:

Does this mean that the old men

when he was young pushed an old

man is now karma coming round to him?

I always hear karma a lot, is this how it works?

Lol.

Are we all fully convinced that these 2 are uob employees in the first place? The video is so blur, I have serious doubts that I can recognize the pair even if they were my brother or sister.

Btw, what kind of move was that shove? It looks practiced.

No worries. We promise not to use bodily harm on you. -_-

Kindly include me as well, I have weakening legs, not sure about our resident Malay man ?

if they are really from UOB, wonder they dare to go work tomorrow [laugh]

OMG CSI out Lao.. I saw on Facebook someone comment on who is the lady and also post the Facebook link of the guy. The guy Facebook link still can be viewed by public. Faster go see before it become private.

Edited by Yewheng

OMG CSI out Lao.. I saw on Facebook someone comment on who is the lady and also post the Facebook link of the guy. The guy Facebook link still can be viewed by public. Faster go see before it become private.

Link?

I think the csi done on facebook and hwz is out of control. Video quality is poor, can't a clear picture of the guys face. Features of the guy too generic, that it matches alot of Singaporean. The girl is not facing the camera, so no front view of her face.

I don't think even the police can confidently say who is it base on that video.

Link?

Can't find Lao. Think the person removed the comment. It was in straits time Facebook page under comments about 1hr ago and now I try to find it cannot find lao. Edited by Yewheng

I think the csi done on facebook and hwz is out of control. Video quality is poor, can't a clear picture of the guys face. Features of the guy too generic, that it matches alot of Singaporean. The girl is not facing the camera, so no front view of her face.

I don't think even the police can confidently say who is it base on that video.

maybe someone at the site able to identify the couple, probably the bank customer.

Someone job's at stake. "maybe" is not enough to anyhow spread pictures and facebook profile. The pictures circulating right now at hwz seriously don't loon like e them imo.

I think I know why the comments was removed..

post-14834-0-82263900-1492954092_thumb.png

Probably the guy who posted the Facebook link realized that it maybe it is the wrong person so quickly removed the link. Like bro ender said, the video quality is bad and they may CSI wrong person as can't see the features clearly.

Edited by Yewheng

post-27068-0-99420200-1492954278_thumb.png

Like I said, video is blur.

I doubt you'd be able to recognize the person even if it is your father.

Cowardly guy...I hope the witness taking dinner there can assist to identify him out

Young couple bullying old uncle and physically pushing him hard from behind. Dressed well don't mean got class.

Knn...