The new Water and Carbon Tax

Kns..when increase hdb price say if didnt increase wil be like robbing out reserves...now is increase water price to protect our future water supplies! Knn....if never increase jb gonna stop their supply mei? God gonna stop rain from falling mei? The sea gonna run dry mei? knn....want more money say so that they no need to put their hand into the reserve say so lar.....ccb....just say our reserves are for a single purpose can liao. Say so much but like no say like that!

so according to her.

they should set up a test, 

to test our awareness of important of water.

should not up the bills for any 1 who pass :XD:

Please explain this further.

It's not fully thought out yet but here goes.

Let's take the refinery example where approx 3-7 dollars of additional cost will be incurred. What do you think will happen since we are not the main end consumers of the product? EM, Shell and SRC aren't going to be sitting around waiting for their profits to be taken away by the Singapore government. 

The end result in the long term is that these refineries will relocate their operations to somewhere else without the tax (say JB) and the nett effect on carbon production is the same except that the refineries are now no longer with us.

70% of who voted her?

Kns..when increase hdb price say if didnt increase wil be like robbing out reserves...now is increase water price to protect our future water supplies! Knn....if never increase jb gonna stop their supply mei? God gonna stop rain from falling mei? The sea gonna run dry mei? knn....want more money say so that they no need to put their hand into the reserve say so lar.....ccb....just say our reserves are for a single purpose can liao. Say so much but like no say like that!

think about it this way.... if price increase and really less water is used... then sooner rather than later we will not be dependent on water from Malaysia (note i mentioned Malaysia rather than JB), like what Lala81 mentioned, our water agreement is until 2061. What if after that there is no new agreement or agreement with crazy prices, we be held ransom by Malaysia

Anyway from now till 2061, i reckon water price will keep on increasing.... 

Increase so people will think twice about wasting lor

Ok i support water tax which is the unpopular one.

Carbon tax seems rather pointless to me. (yes, even PAP sarporker like me). It's probably just a tax to generate revenue and they have to come up with reasons to justify.

We already using all LNG for electricity generation which is the cleanest dirty source. Singapore will never have widespread solar (not enough space and also our high cloud cover hours) nor have hydroelectric (no freaking dams). So what can u spur in terms of clean energy research and usage?

Maybe u can have those revolutionary underwater hydroelectric generation thingys (off our coastline) that some people are researching, but i doubt that can displace a sigf percentage of dirty fuels...

Isn't better just to demand a certain level of emissions standard by the guys setting up power plants and refineries.

think about it this way.... if price increase and really less water is used... then sooner rather than later we will not be dependent on water from Malaysia (note i mentioned Malaysia rather than JB), like what Lala81 mentioned, our water agreement is until 2061. What if after that there is no new agreement or agreement with crazy prices, we be held ransom by Malaysia

malaysia makes virtually zero investment into water technologies.

They will want to keep their reservoirs for themselves coming forward when water scarcity is a big issue in the next century.

Carbon tax seems rather pointless to me. (yes, even PAP sarporker like me). It's probably just a tax to generate revenue and they have to come up with reasons to justify.

We already using all LNG for electricity generation which is the cleanest dirty source. Singapore will never have widespread solar (not enough space and also our high cloud cover hours) nor have hydroelectric (no freaking dams). So what can u spur in terms of clean energy research and usage?

Maybe u can have those revolutionary underwater hydroelectric generation thingys (off our coastline) that some people are researching, but i doubt that can displace a sigf percentage of dirty fuels...

Isn't better just to demand a certain level of emissions standard by the guys setting up power plants and refineries.

They will want to keep their reservoirs for themselves coming forward when water scarcity is a big issue in the next century.

Water tax I agree with you but my dispute is merely on the quantum.

Carbon tax is a failed scheme even by european standards and we are the first in this region to do it....Ithink we will be the first to die also.....from loss of jobs....

Can see that the analysts in this morning's CNA show are politely sanguine about the carbon tax prospects for SG. [shakehead]

Even if that's true, I posted before that there has been no increase in the wholesale price of NEWATER since 2007 till now. In fact. they will charge us 1.5$ per cu m while wholesale cost is $0.30 or less. 

Desalination costs a little more (don't have the specific numbers) but still!

I feel it's sunset for Singapore now

Who can make Singapore great again?

Which is why is probably a good thing that Im still single and no wifey no kids...

If I lose my job, my prospects, I wont be so stressed abt clothing and feeding them in this singapore that I know now.

You are right. They had already mentioned they are looking at higher tax to increase revenue to fund projects to boast economy. 

New water?

I don't mind a little more PJ juice, in order to keep us less dependant on our neighbor.

I agree, they don't plan ahead and when the time comes, and they get water shortages again, we will suffer.

Just see the floods in East Coast of Pen. M'sia. It has claim lives every December for as long as I know, and nothing has been done about it. 

They build big towers, which look good in the media, but real projects to save lives? Nuts..

Water tax I agree with you but my dispute is merely on the quantum.

Carbon tax is a failed scheme even by european standards and we are the first in this region to do it....Ithink we will be the first to die also.....from loss of jobs....

Can see that the analysts in this morning's CNA show are politely sanguine about the carbon tax prospects for SG. [shakehead]

i agree with carbon tax only in the concept that IF all the carbon tax is used to spur on research into solving global warming issues and our dependence on dirty fuels.

There's a lot of potentially useful technologies out there that need funding to at least see whether it works.

People in UK have talked about trapping carbon in old mines etc. There are compounds that they want to research that can trap CO2 ++.

Cos to overcome some of the problems with global warming, innovation is the key. If u tax the dirty industries, then ALL that $ should go towards doing this.

It's way too late to just purely reduce production, we already are past the tipping point. We need to innovate solutions. 

Which is why is probably a good thing that Im still single and no wifey no kids...

If I lose my job, my prospects, I wont be so stressed abt clothing and feeding them in this singapore that I know now.

Be more optimistic la.

One can always find a way.

Hope you meet someone suitable soon.

70% of who voted her?

well.....singapore has been around for 50yrs+ and from the onset water had always been a threat for our survival! They even threatened to close the tap long ago! Wasnt that a cue that our supplies wont necessary last forever! Our natural and man made reservoir plus the salination plants has been there for a decade and more! We pay them obscene amount of salary to come out with solutions but in the end have to pay more just for that basic neccesaty. Quite ironic since we pay them and all they can come out is to say please use less water or just pay more! I dont see it as a solution lei! One day when there is truly not enough water.....are they gonna say.....Told you so!

have you realised once we have new water the threats more or less stopped

I believe we must be practical, there is only so much water we can produce , we can plan and plan but we are limited in land and urine lol

Maybe we should resume water rationing exercise