The new Water and Carbon Tax

You want water... let's go to Jarkata, land of plenty of water..

Except it's not potable...

And they still have queues for drinking water..

Low income tax, low water fees, and cheap cars!

http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/jakarta-hit-by-floods-due-to-heavy-overnight-rain

Jakarta hit by floods due to heavy overnight rain
1 of 3
dummy.gif
A car trying to navigate through flood water in Grogol, West Jakarta, on Tuesday (Feb 21, 2017) morning. Floods inundated several areas in the outskirts of Indonesia's capital after a heavy downpour. Flood levels at some areas reached as high as 1.5m, according to local emergency authorities.PHOTO: DIMEITRY
PUBLISHED
33 MIN AGO
Indonesia Correspondent

JAKARTA - Heavy overnight rain flooded thousands of homes and roads in Jakarta, with some areas inundated with water as high as 1.5m on Tuesday (Feb 21) morning.

The high water levels forced many workers to stay home, with some schools temporarily closed for safety reasons.

"The floods hit the city after the drainage system was not able to accommodate what was a very large inflow of water," said Dr Sutopo Purwo Nugrowo, spokesman for Indonesia's disaster management agency (BNPB).

As of Tuesday morning, the BNPB has received more than 400 reports of flood incidents from residents in Jakarta and the areas on the suburbs, seeking assistance which includes deployment of rubber boats and evacuation tents.

There are at least 54 "main flooded spots", mostly in the eastern and northern parts, said Dr Sutopo.

However, some areas like Kampung Pulo in the eastern part of the city, which usually suffers the worst of floods when it rains heavily, fared better. This is because the municipal government conducted major dredging work in the nearby Ciliwung River and relocated illegal squatters on the river banks to subsidised flats.

The issue of flooding has always been heavily politicised, and news of flooding in the city will affect the re-election of Jakarta governor Basuki Tjahaja Purnama, who had campaigned hard on his plans to resolve the problem for residents living in flood-prone areas.

A key plank of his solution, which is to resettle squatters along riverbanks as he embarks on a river normalisation exercise, has been attacked by his opponent Anies Baswedan in the run-off to the election in April.

Mr Anies, who was education minister until he was dropped during a Cabinet reshuffle last year, said the floods were a result of an ineffective mitigation plan by the current Jakarta administration.

"This must be immediately addressed... if the plan is not going well, the normalisation plan won't be effective" he said in a Tempo news report on Tuesday, which was accompanied by a photo of Mr Anies in waist-high water talking with residents during his visit to Cipinang Melayu in East Jakarta on Monday.

But Mr Basuki, who is standing trial for insulting Islam while running for re-election, has stood by his track record of dealing with flooding in the city. He said when he came into office as deputy to then Jakarta governor Joko Widodo in 2012, there were 2,200 flood-prone areas in the city. "Last year, the number fell to 400," he said on Monday.

He also explained that the flooding in East Jakarta was mainly due to a delay in the river normalisation project, which is now 40 per cent completed, reported The Jakarta Post on Tuesday. "Nonetheless, we have already seen a good deal of improvement."

Jakarta, a coastal city, is crisscrossed by as many as 13 rivers and these often burst their banks during the monsoon season, causing massive flooding in densely populated communities.

Experts have noted that most of the North Jakarta district, including the massive seawall designed to protect it, is sinking at an estimated 25cm a year. Ground subsidence and high sea tides which push waters back into the city when it rains heavily have caused Jakarta to see annual floods, with the peaks often being in February.

In the Jakarta Great Flood of February 2007, more than two-thirds of the capital were under water after it rained non-stop for three days. Waters rose as high as 7m in some areas.

A special report in The Guardian last year said that Jakarta is sinking because of subsidence. The city does not pipe in enough drinkable water and so residents rely largely on wells that extract water from shallow aquifers, which causes the land above it to collapse.

flood1.jpg?itok=StiC7dEu

You want water... let's go to Jarkata, land of plenty of water..

Except it's not potable...

And they still have queues for drinking water..

Low income tax, low water fees, and cheap cars!

flood1.jpg?itok=StiC7dEu

Jakarta flood problems are not easy to fix. The govt effort is too weak. More and worse floods are to be expected as the weather becomes more unstable.

Next thing you will be saying as a manager I shouldn't be squeezing my staff to work harder

and then pay myself a huge bonus as a reward? Why not?

ha ha ha ha... bro... dun take it out of context leh.

we talking about the purpose of tax leh.

Jakarta flood problems are not easy to fix. The govt effort is too weak. More and worse floods are to be expected as the weather becomes more unstable.

I spend a lot of time in Jakarta. My company heard me wrong

I told them I liked to go Bangkok and HCM but they kept

sending me to Jakarta. The worse flooding is the road to

the airport until people couldn't catch their flights. Lucky

they now raised the road so its passable.

Cannot take it, must cross post:

Desalination - works and we did it

Wind? Spend millions on windmills? You need big wind, all the time for this to work well. 

Solar? Yes, possible, but the panels are pretty costly.

If we had spent on that, another bunch of people will curse the government for wasting money, when there's cheap labor available..

It's pretty easy to discuss this from the comforts of our home, but implementing it isn't so easy. Cheers

I have been to SF, where if you drive towards Yosemite, there are acres upon acres of windmills.

Literally hundreds of these, spread over a land area which is probably half the size of SG.

Hilltops. 

Potentially from a mechanical point of view, yes, all our rooftops can employ solar panels, and we can force everyone to put a windmill on top of their property. 

Then the complaints, whining will start. Anti government protests on how this makes their place ugly, and reduces their selling price.. 

I am a fan of clean energy, but I live in SG, not Iceland.. so I will accept one step at a time, and I look forward to the next evolution of clean energy.

Don't forget, early adopters pay more, for panels etc. And there are carbon footprints to pay for the construction of these items, and their batteries..

dammit, i wrote one long post in reply, got called off for discussion, came back to post, got error. TMD.

will get back to you on this. lost my train of thought.

What that's to discuss...just suck thumbs and pay and pay lor cos most of us gave them the overwhelming mandate 2 yrs back... just hope most of us grow their brains and balls bigger and their legs longer to walk the talk in 3 years time...

give them a shocking result and they will think twice before implementing anything... it had happened before between 2011 and 2015 so it can be done again.

Talk about wage increase. Just last week saw the CNA reported that 2016 wages increased per household. Knn whenever see such news..Sure there gonna increase rate somewhere.

Anyone here raise hand..Any salary increased in 2016?

I haven't had salary increment and bonus for 2 years liao.. now waiting news in March if my company will collapse or not.... then see the big show how our 3 local banks and G scrambled about the big bad debts.....

ha ha ha ha... bro... dun take it out of context leh.

we talking about the purpose of tax leh.

Its all the same thing.

Capitalism is the exploitation of man by man.

Lucky I am a lesbian and the last thing I want

to do is exploit another man. I prefer ladies.  [thumbsup]

dammit, i wrote one long post in reply, got called off for discussion, came back to post, got error. TMD.

will get back to you on this. lost my train of thought.

ah Gong , which story you wan to tell us ?  :secret-laugh:

I haven't had salary increment and bonus for 2 years liao.. now waiting news in March if my company will collapse or not.... then see the big show how our 3 local banks and G scrambled about the big bad debts.....

You must be from Ezra/Emas  [sweatdrop]

ah Gong , which story you wan to tell us ?  :secret-laugh:

need to get back to you. cos i really cannot recall that "thesis" that i wrote.  :grin: 

Temasak still giving Million dollar salary and bonus lel   -_-

Ur co better dont fall ........ else the debt will end up with another Tax increase .  [bigcry]

this bs people talking bs again.

and they are the "finest" in this country.

that's why this country is doomed.

if they want to increase tax, just increase.

don't insult our intelligence and give bullcrap excuses.

Edited by Kb27

I really can't figure out. Anybody can help?

Why make things so complicated with different types of rebate? Not to mentioned wasted labour and being not green (many staff going to have sticky tongue from licking all those stamps needed to send letters informing citizen they huat Ah with rebate.

If they don't increase or incresse reasonably there would not be a need for rebate.

I see words written on ministers forehead (need UV light to see) ......HUAT AH.

Edited by Still2016

I checked PUB website on rainwater harvesting; Yes you can - no problem at all !!

No need to get caught

So rain cum , everyone bring pails out and put in balcony and make sure you use it immediately

In fact I have done same in my house and I put a piece of cloth over the pail and tie it around ( I use old big T shirt so it like condoms over the pail ) ; so that dust or dirt does not go in and keep the water clean and no mozzies too ; problem solved; make govt earn less money [scholar] )

Advanced Search

Search within:

• PUB
  • Whole of Government

The following FAQs could be helpful:

Search results: 1 record(s) found.

Expand All

Drainage

Can my client build ornamental ponds or ponds to collect rain water for gardening and washing of the building premises?

PUB allows rainwater collection for non-potable use in oneâs own premise. For more information, please refer to

My flat no balcony. If have rain will come in also sian

Bro Vulcann pointed out since 2005 PUB allow us collect sky water. Meaning last time rain is not free to be collected. Our govt so understanding these day.