therock Supersonic January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 Yes, for example, Merc / BMW may not even quote you a price with the COE. They will sell the car alone, then add the COE for their more exotic offers.. And if there is some delay it's written into their contract.. so caveat emptor.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 BTW, it's an odd thing to some, but my mum's ability to sit comfortably means a lot to me.. So the car that fulfils this does get more traction.. Not strange and you are not alone. One of the main reason why i sold off my SUV after driving for less than 2 years and change back to sedan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 Not strange and you are not alone. One of the main reason why i sold off my SUV after driving for less than 2 years and change back to sedan. SUV higher? ya, imagine my 84 yr old mom sit in a 2 door spork car...torture TTM..hahahah.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 12, 2017 Author Share January 12, 2017 Sir I don't want to spoil a very useful thread, so my apologies to you and your thread. I do see this in my other hobbies, and yes if the chap doesn't learn, the mod must step in and not let the threads get out of hand. Being a mod isn't easy. And yes bandwidth is precious. The mods will have more experience, but maybe two reminders? I do appreciate that Radx took time out to reply my questions and PMs. And yes, that's water under the bridge Sir, I understand your difficulties, and won't wish to stir. Enough said and as I said, one obeys the rules of the forum you wish to partake. Just my suggestions, cheers Well, first and foremost, pls dont address me "Sir". There is nothing to apologize, this is an open thread, I dont own it and it is open for discussion. This thread takes no aim at anyone, it is created for a purpose, and hopefully a useful one. So like you have mentioned, read with an open mind, nobody is trying to catch a witch. @Radx is not all that unreasonable when it comes to the rules, he bends them too at times in need. Ppl here know that I am one of those who will voice up against him openly when I feel like he is holding too tight, and he gives it back to me openly too, many times right in my face. But all for the good of the forum, we leave it behind and moved on. Thats how it works here. Hold nothing to heart. Cheers! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 12, 2017 Author Share January 12, 2017 and for now, you can see, the level of 'angst' MCFers have judgng from the various such posts and in my reply....just have a look at it below on the screenshot and the 'support' i have hahah limpehhv$$.JPG CCB, mai haolian lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 Well, first and foremost, pls dont address me "Sir". There is nothing to apologize, this is an open thread, I dont own it and it is open for discussion. This thread takes no aim at anyone, it is created for a purpose, and hopefully a useful one. So like you have mentioned, read with an open mind, nobody is trying to catch a witch. @Radx is not all that unreasonable when it comes to the rules, he bends them too at times in need. Ppl here know that I am one of those who will voice up against him openly when I feel like he is holding too tight, and he gives it back to me openly too, many times right in my face. But all for the good of the forum, we leave it behind and moved on. Thats how it works here. Hold nothing to heart. Cheers! nicely said...+5 All intended to keep this place sane and a place for exhange. Whilst some rules may be a little strict, yes, if it calls for, will see that it is well managed CCB, mai haolian lah. hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aventador 6th Gear January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 Step 1 - like Car A Step 2 - research Car A, B, C, D, E Step 3 - Visit Showroom try Car A, B, C, D, E Step 4 - Ask wife opinion , who will choose any car except Car A Step 5 - Buy Car A Step 6 - Google car review to justify Car A purchase * wife says Step 2 to 4 is waste time one. Mind is actually made up at Step 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 12, 2017 Author Share January 12, 2017 +100 The last time I earned almost $500 worth of vouchers, walked into Tangs, and the first hot chick that accosted me, I was handing over my wallet immediately... The worst thing... My friend tells me that some of these hot ladies aren't ladies at all... gag... lesson learnt.. @kusje come read this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 Step 1 - like Car A Step 2 - research Car A, B, C, D, E Step 3 - Visit Showroom try Car A, B, C, D, E Step 4 - Ask wife opinion , who will choose any car except Car A Step 5 - Buy Car A Step 6 - Google car review to justify Car A purchase * wife says Step 2 to 4 is waste time one. Mind is actually made up at Step 1 Step 4 is protocol oni...but still buy Car A...like how aham..gahmen do pubic survey, feedback on policy. Mind made up ledy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 12, 2017 Author Share January 12, 2017 Yes sir.. Actually that point is useful in directing this thread back on track.. How long does the delivery take: Most Jap/Thai/Korean cars can be bought ex stock.. But certain makes take 2-6 months or even longer! So for those who are rushing to get your car, do take note.. for me, I can wait - the longer it takes, the better since I get to use my old car until the transfer.. hmmmmm, I had the same thoughts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 SUV higher? ya, imagine my 84 yr old mom sit in a 2 door spork car...torture TTM..hahahah.. Actually it's the 'hip point'.. The closest SUV was the HRV, which has a lowered hip point compared to say a Forester. But from a medical and muscle point, the thigh muscles get weaker, and it's harder to use the forearm biceps to pull oneself up from a low slung car. A higher entry sill like a X3 or higher requires the older person to climb in. It's easier than pulling up and out of the car, but it's not that easy either. So the best option is to have a car where the elderly can slide their butt sideways into the car... hard to imagine for our fit and able young folks, but when we arrive at that age, it will be easy to comprehend :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 12, 2017 Author Share January 12, 2017 All you need to do is tell your wife, SUV 'jia you" (consumes petrol), and will add $$$ to the monthly expenditure. Ask her to stick to original plan of MPV, and you can use the savings to let her buy her new dresses and shoes. Bet you she will bite. Women! tough! end up she want the SUV, and extra $$$ for new dresses and shoes, mayb even throw in bags. These terms the lesser mention the better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 My process easier. 1) Like Car 2) Choose colour ... I only buy black unless not available 3) Buy Only if can afford lah. Cannot afford, I don't even go to showroom or test drive Wife... just noise 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 All you need to do is tell your wife, SUV 'jia you" (consumes petrol), and will add $$$ to the monthly expenditure. Ask her to stick to original plan of MPV, and you can use the savings to let her buy her new dresses and shoes. Bet you she will bite. Women! aiyah... my wife not so typical leh. She's not the shopaholic type. And she doesn't need my approval to buy things lor - only big-ticket items we discuss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 @kusje come read this. He weak mah. Let small head control him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 BTW, it's an odd thing to some, but my mum's ability to sit comfortably means a lot to me.. So the car that fulfils this does get more traction.. I think there are still lots of people in this part of the world who give due consideration to the elderly relatives. In fact, sometimes maybe overdo it. When we first started looking at MPVs, i was more keen on getting a 8-seater, while wife liked those 7-seater more luxurious options of Ody, Estima, Elgrand, etc. more. Those captain seats can pamper more, but I said if chose that, it would be a problem, on the rare occasions when we have to bring my grandma out. My grandma was 107, on wheelchair, and has a maid. Then my wife pointed out that we maybe do that once or twice a year only, and we could still continue to drive 2 cars, or activate other relatives to help, and it's not too much to pamper ourselves a bit for the rest of the time. Now even moved target from MPV to SUV, we're also mindful of how easy it is for ingress/egress, as my mother's knee is also not strong. For this reason, I've ruled out vezel... btw, tks. I'll check on the B-class you recommended soon. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 (edited) He weak mah. Let small head control him. You have to be there to understand... the sale lady looked like Joey Wong... (you have to be my vintage to know who is that..) So yes, no hot ladies when I buy big items.. well $500 bucks then was big too, I worked for months to get that.. I think there are still lots of people in this part of the world who give due consideration to the elderly relatives. In fact, sometimes maybe overdo it. When we first started looking at MPVs, i was more keen on getting a 8-seater, while wife liked those 7-seater more luxurious options of Ody, Estima, Elgrand, etc. more. Those captain seats can pamper more, but I said if chose that, it would be a problem, on the rare occasions when we have to bring my grandma out. My grandma was 107, on wheelchair, and has a maid. Then my wife pointed out that we maybe do that once or twice a year only, and we could still continue to drive 2 cars, or activate other relatives to help, and it's not too much to pamper ourselves a bit for the rest of the time. Now even moved target from MPV to SUV, we're also mindful of how easy it is for ingress/egress, as my mother's knee is also not strong. For this reason, I've ruled out vezel... btw, tks. I'll check on the B-class you recommended soon. I have much to share on my own decision process, and why it may fit, feel free to pm me for a chat.. not a dealer. And I can share that it wasn't as pricey as you may have imagined.. Cheers Edited January 12, 2017 by therock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged January 12, 2017 Share January 12, 2017 Hao Lian! This thread is for those test drive and buy and not about you who first buy, test drive and change if no like! nb u no money u no buy undies ah...lol exactly!!!! cannot agree more. It's your damn $$$ for goodness sake. You took the plunge, you decide, you buy! wtf u come to a forum asking if good lah, mother can sit lah, dog can sit lah....for crying out loud, you are the one buying it. Seek solace for wat f? We see less of these, but still have those insecure pricks who venture here off and on and EXPECT others to sing to their tune. Tell them bad thing, they emo..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...