Hamburger Hypersonic August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 i was told the tablet aka tombstone does not move up and down for concealment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StingerGT 5th Gear August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 i was told the tablet aka tombstone does not move up and down for concealment. Yes it doesn't. Online reviewers like to call it the floating screen though.. how is it "floating" style I dunno. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 Yes it doesn't. Online reviewers like to call it the floating screen though.. how is it "floating" style I dunno. if its like a A6 that goes up and down, then it would feel more atas. floating ....maybe can be detached and use like a tablet....hahhahhaha, ok, not funny. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StingerGT 5th Gear August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 Local specs get this carbon fibre trim for interior finishing.. doubt it's real carbon fibre when I checked it out in person. We also get the flat bottom steering wheel.. for both 2.0T and 3.3 v6, not the normal round one as shown in the picture. Locally we get 8 inch touchscreen display as standard (overseas is base model 7 inch), with integrated reverse cam with dynamic trajectory. At centre armrest area, we have this camera button beside vented/heated seat controls, that we can press while driving to see the rear view, maybe to compensate for the thick large C pillar and very small rear view. Sunroof also standard for local both variants. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 4, 2018 Share August 4, 2018 White looks amazing 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taichizi 1st Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 Black is never easy to maintain. Past 3 cars all black for me. But if you clean it properly, it will be shiny and more glossy than most other colors.Agreed totally...... Wish the SG model comes with 360 cam view..... it will be more complete for such premium trim that SG gets for the Stinger White looks amazing BA7B9D60-1AFB-4E69-8CFD-47C3359D900C.jpeg Sweet!! In fact, I noticed Stinger looks great in almost all the colours offered..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
iwonder 1st Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 I loved the Kia Stinger when I laid eyes on it in the showroom, didn't even test drive it. A pity that I don't have enough $$$, so can only follow this thread/discussion and lao chwee niau 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StingerGT 5th Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 Wish the SG model comes with 360 cam view..... it will be more complete for such premium trim that SG gets for the Stinger Dunno if the 3.3 v6 locally gets that? Anyway just to share, esp. for potential Stinger buyers, the 2.0T locally isn't a watered down base trim kind of Stinger. Quite well equipped, nothing of it shouts "base model" or kena shortchanged. 1. 8 inch display as standard - Overseas starts with 7 inch 2. Bigger digital screen in speedo cluster 3. Dark chrome grille, side mirrors, faux bonnet vents, fender air vents - Overseas base model is matt aluminium finish or standard light silver chrome 4. Flat bottom steering wheel w/ partially perforated leather compared to standard round one with normal leather overseas 5. Wireless phone charging pad doesn't seem standard in overseas base model but we get it here in the 2.0T form 6. In overseas market, the base Stinger has a more normal less sporty looking headlight (w/o DRL) design compared to the one we have in 2.0T form locally 7. Heads up display (HUD) is also standard here even in the 2.0T form but not overseas There are others too, like sunroof, auto hold function, alumnium sports pedals, door scuff plates, auto dimming rear view mirror, smart boot with sensor and ventilated front seats - All these aren't standard in overseas 2.0T trim but we have it here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taichizi 1st Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 (edited) Dunno if the 3.3 v6 locally gets that? Anyway just to share, esp. for potential Stinger buyers, the 2.0T locally isn't a watered down base trim kind of Stinger. Quite well equipped, nothing of it shouts "base model" or kena shortchanged. 1. 8 inch display as standard - Overseas starts with 7 inch 2. Bigger digital screen in speedo cluster 3. Dark chrome grille, side mirrors, faux bonnet vents, fender air vents - Overseas base model is matt aluminium finish or standard light silver chrome 4. Flat bottom steering wheel w/ partially perforated leather compared to standard round one with normal leather overseas 5. Wireless phone charging pad doesn't seem standard in overseas base model but we get it here in the 2.0T form 6. In overseas market, the base Stinger has a more normal less sporty looking headlight (w/o DRL) design compared to the one we have in 2.0T form locally 7. Heads up display (HUD) is also standard here even in the 2.0T form but not overseas There are others too, like sunroof, auto hold function, alumnium sports pedals, door scuff plates, auto dimming rear view mirror, smart boot with sensor and ventilated front seats - All these aren't standard in overseas 2.0T trim but we have it here C&C SE said that no 360 View for the current models. The base model in SG is the “GT Line” hence it is similar to a 2.0 premium in the US. Am quite surprised that the 3.3 model here is their TOP trim GT2 without the AWD. Edited August 5, 2018 by Taichizi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StingerGT 5th Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 C&C SE said that no 360 View for the current models. The base model in SG is the “GT Line” hence it is similar to a 2.0 premium in the US. Am quite surprised that the 3.3 model here is their TOP trim GT2 without the AWD. I compared the trims.. I thought the local 2.0T GT Line is closer to their GT trim or GT1 trim overseas. Though the 2.0T also sports some of the features that's only available in the GT2 trim, like the HUD for example. So it's probably a mix match of these trims, to gain competitive advantage in our local market, also to provide a more well equipped well rounded car. You're looking at 3.3 v6? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taichizi 1st Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 I compared the trims.. I thought the local 2.0T GT Line is closer to their GT trim or GT1 trim overseas. Though the 2.0T also sports some of the features that's only available in the GT2 trim, like the HUD for example. So it's probably a mix match of these trims, to gain competitive advantage in our local market, also to provide a more well equipped well rounded car. You're looking at 3.3 v6? When I read their possible 2019 specs, I realise it is actually similar to what C&C is currently offering with the GT Line and GT specs here. Am Glad that the specs offered here are not stripped down as compared to other Conti brands. Considering the high price that motorists here are paying for a car.... I’m still considering between the two trims from the aspects of the financial considerations against the emotional factors..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StingerGT 5th Gear August 5, 2018 Share August 5, 2018 When I read their possible 2019 specs, I realise it is actually similar to what C&C is currently offering with the GT Line and GT specs here. Am Glad that the specs offered here are not stripped down as compared to other Conti brands. Considering the high price that motorists here are paying for a car.... I’m still considering between the two trims from the aspects of the financial considerations against the emotional factors..... The 2.0T "base" GT Line here has more gizmo and equipment than my Audis If not for my high mileage usage, I would have grabbed the 3.3 v6.. but price difference $40-45K. But the 2.0T is still quite agile and has significantly lower running costs. I like the idea that when I'm buying the base model / cheaper variant, I'm not constantly reminded this is a watered down stripped down version of its bigger sibling. Not many AD locally can offer this. Btw SE say 30% is 3.3 v6 while 2.0T makes up the rest of local buyers. So stocks availability wise, likely will incur more waiting time for 2.0T. In total, there're at least 100 Stinger bookings locally since launch. Hope you make up your mind soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TJH Clutched August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 When I read their possible 2019 specs, I realise it is actually similar to what C&C is currently offering with the GT Line and GT specs here. Where did you read about the 2019 specs, Taichzi? Aren't you friends concerned about the absence of things like automatic emergency braking and lane watch etc. when considering purchase of a brand new car? What are your thoughts, StingerGT? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taichizi 1st Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 (edited) Where did you read about the 2019 specs, Taichzi? 2019 specs for the North American market.... Side track a bit.... here's Kia Korea teaser vid for 2019 Stinger... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Y9vyoU2_ds Updates: Here's news on 2019 Stinger from the Korean sites: http://english.yonhapnews.co.kr/news/2018/05/24/0200000000AEN20180524004800320.html http://thekoreancarblog.com/2018/03/07/2019-kia-stinger-gt-atlantica-special-edition-headed-for-us-market/ Edited August 6, 2018 by Taichizi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 Where did you read about the 2019 specs, Taichzi? Aren't you friends concerned about the absence of things like automatic emergency braking and lane watch etc. when considering purchase of a brand new car? What are your thoughts, StingerGT? Do u really need it? Adding on these increases cost leh.. AUTOMATIC E-BRAKE? SERIOUSLY? need to re take driving license liao if u cant keep your eyes on the road 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 Do u really need it? Adding on these increases cost leh.. AUTOMATIC E-BRAKE? SERIOUSLY? need to re take driving license liao if u cant keep your eyes on the road Hearsay it is a standard equipment on 3 pointed star. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 Do u really need it? Adding on these increases cost leh.. AUTOMATIC E-BRAKE? SERIOUSLY? need to re take driving license liao if u cant keep your eyes on the road Kiasu Syndrome: if other cars hab I oso mus hab. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taichizi 1st Gear August 6, 2018 Share August 6, 2018 Interestingly, Kia Stinger does come with AEB..... Read this: https://www.caradvice.com.au/641965/kia-stinger-aeb-base/ So, the actual question should address to the local authorities.... as to why no stricter regulatory requirements on car safety gadgets..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...