Ganwb79 5th Gear April 17, 2020 Share April 17, 2020 1 hour ago, Mkl22 said: always buy the car for what the car is. typically the car lives with you for the next few years. when will you ever get to see the SE again?. Go to another SE if you dislike one. if you dislike the car agent, then PI or self import. For me, a shitty SE will never stop me. although a shitty AD might. Don't get me wrong, that C&C comment was more in jest 🙂 I'm more the type that has a list and checks off the list when making decision. However, if a particular AD is more willing to let me sit in the car and let me experience all the things on my list that the car offers, it will obviously be a factor ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear April 17, 2020 Share April 17, 2020 1 hour ago, Theoldjaffa said: Same here. Stinger GT and Arteon were among my choices if I decide to change car. you driving A5 right? I also looked at A5, but eventually i chose Arteon. I like to be exclusive. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic April 17, 2020 Share April 17, 2020 5 hours ago, Ganwb79 said: I also looked at A5, but eventually i chose Arteon. I like to be exclusive. I usually see 2 Arteons along Bendemeer in the mornings at about 7.30am towards City and one of them turns towards Moulmein. U one of them? 😬 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ganwb79 5th Gear April 17, 2020 Share April 17, 2020 2 hours ago, Theoldjaffa said: I usually see 2 Arteons along Bendemeer in the mornings at about 7.30am towards City and one of them turns towards Moulmein. U one of them? 😬 I don't know about 2 but yeah that's the area I am active in so probably I'm one of the two. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 On 4/15/2020 at 1:49 AM, Turboflat4 said: Stinger GT is 4.9s. Going by paper, since it's a paper to paper comparison. It's been clocked faster in the real world. 4.9 vs 5.6, I would definitely be able to tell the difference, having driven sub 3, 3 to 4, 4 to 5, 5 to 6 and 6+ second cars. Yeah, as far as badge goes, I don't really care what Sinkies obsess over anyway, so... Anyway to each his own. I know which one I'd pick. Sub 3 to 6s+.... For SG roads, what is a brisk enough ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Voodooman said: Sub 3 to 6s+.... For SG roads, what is a brisk enough ride? As I said in some thread very recently, for law abiding fun in SG, get a brisk and sporty but not super fast car, ideally with a manual. Cars like the Hyundai i30N, Golf GTI/R are worth considering. Even a Suzuki swift sport manual is nice. I had fun with an Alfa Mito manual. You can have fun at legal-ish speeds and the manual adds fun and engagement. For Malaysia driving and track driving outright acceleration and speed become more important. Edited April 18, 2020 by Turboflat4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 40 minutes ago, Voodooman said: Sub 3 to 6s+.... For SG roads, what is a brisk enough ride? To me, any car that takes less than 8 seconds to 100kmh is brisk enough. Exceptions are the 1.4t VAG cars with DSG that are sub 9. They feel brisk enough too. Maybe it’s the good tuning of engine and gearbox ratios. Some sub 9 cars like the entry level ones from Merc and BMW, they just feel slow and rough. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 23 hours ago, Ganwb79 said: I also looked at A5, but eventually i chose Arteon. I like to be exclusive. Exclusive? Then you should have PI a Superb sportline combi 😄 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kia7200 5th Gear April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 Demo set Price quite attractive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said: As I said in some thread very recently, for law abiding fun in SG, get a brisk and sporty but not super fast car, ideally with a manual. Cars like the Hyundai i30N, Golf GTI/R are worth considering. Even a Suzuki swift sport manual is nice. I had fun with an Alfa Mito manual. You can have fun at legal-ish speeds and the manual adds fun and engagement. For Malaysia driving and track driving outright acceleration and speed become more important. Yeah, i read that post and was wondering what you have in mind. Mostly 6s+.... Except the Swift but with manual, it can be fun. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 5 minutes ago, Voodooman said: Yeah, i read that post and was wondering what you have in mind. Mostly 6s+.... Except the Swift but with manual, it can be fun. A New swift sport can be had for 83k. Best bang for the dollar. The next would be i30n at 133k, but at 50k more, the value for money drops some. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, Theoldjaffa said: To me, any car that takes less than 8 seconds to 100kmh is brisk enough. Exceptions are the 1.4t VAG cars with DSG that are sub 9. They feel brisk enough too. Maybe it’s the good tuning of engine and gearbox ratios. Some sub 9 cars like the entry level ones from Merc and BMW, they just feel slow and rough. Yes agree. I drive a 5+ sec ride and rarely, if ever, have the opportunity to floor the throttle on SG roads. Maybe up to 1/2 or 2/3. Don't think i am pushing the car that much. The low end torque is good but a 6-7s car with good handling should suffice on SG roads. But up north, it is really fun. But I must admit the Stinger 3.3 is very fast, there is one in my neighborhood, always jiak me. But it isn't exactly a family car, so It was not in my shortlist. Edited April 18, 2020 by Voodooman 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 34 minutes ago, Voodooman said: Yes agree. I drive a 5+ sec ride and rarely, if ever, have the opportunity to floor the throttle on SG roads. Maybe up to 1/2 or 2/3. Don't think i am pushing the car that much. The low end torque is good but a 6-7s car with good handling should suffice on SG roads. But up north, it is really fun. But I must admit the Stinger 3.3 is very fast, there is one in my neighborhood, always jiak me. But it isn't exactly a family car, so It was not in my shortlist. Agree. But now is a good time to zoom zoom your 5+ sec car. Roads are clear! 😁 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 46 minutes ago, Voodooman said: Yes agree. I drive a 5+ sec ride and rarely, if ever, have the opportunity to floor the throttle on SG roads. Maybe up to 1/2 or 2/3. Don't think i am pushing the car that much. The low end torque is good but a 6-7s car with good handling should suffice on SG roads. But up north, it is really fun. But I must admit the Stinger 3.3 is very fast, there is one in my neighborhood, always jiak me. But it isn't exactly a family car, so It was not in my shortlist. Ya agree. Mine also 5+ now and I dun feel the need to WOT often cos step abit only the car will go liao. After JB4 the feel is even better! But still I aim to get a sub 5 car if possible! Hehehehe Then again my previous 8.8s car with SMT also feels fast enough. Guess it’s the art of balance among chassis rigidity, engine power output and gear ratios. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 1 hour ago, Theoldjaffa said: Ya agree. Mine also 5+ now and I dun feel the need to WOT often cos step abit only the car will go liao. After JB4 the feel is even better! But still I aim to get a sub 5 car if possible! Hehehehe Then again my previous 8.8s car with SMT also feels fast enough. Guess it’s the art of balance among chassis rigidity, engine power output and gear ratios. Haha power is addictive. I went from 7.4s (sufficient but not shiok) to 5.1s. As of now, it is shiok enough but I don't know for how long. For now, i think somewhere between the 2 is legal enough for SG roads. Yes, power without control is nothing. BJ4 tuning? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 2 hours ago, Mkl22 said: Agree. But now is a good time to zoom zoom your 5+ sec car. Roads are clear! 😁 I sibei scare i will lose my licence. Not a good time to squeeze on trains and buses (sorry if this sounds insensitive to those who takes public transport). I have been very guai guai driver recently. CB, if the car is in the workshop, it could be there for months. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 1 hour ago, Voodooman said: Haha power is addictive. I went from 7.4s (sufficient but not shiok) to 5.1s. As of now, it is shiok enough but I don't know for how long. For now, i think somewhere between the 2 is legal enough for SG roads. Yes, power without control is nothing. BJ4 tuning? Many tuning options available. Here’s one relevant to you 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 18, 2020 Share April 18, 2020 3 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said: Many tuning options available. Here’s one relevant to you 😁 Errr.... Poison.... 😂 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...