Don't you hate it when CNY is so near to Xmas.

archcherub

when i was very very young.. i am really scare of CNY... Why ???

on the eve of CNY, my parents will pray to all the gods....a very big tradition in my house....

big hoo har in my house as not only 1 god to pray... i remember like 3 to 4 gods... like TIAN GONG, TU DI GONG, DOOR GOD etc until the house like so messy... I dun get to sleep until 1 or 2am....

besides this...on the 1st day... have to drop by 4 to 5 temples... OMG.... [bigcry]  [bigcry]

the Guan Yin temple and rochor is a must and the one in changi.....

The rest is at Havelock road and one in Jurong East….this activities start at 8am till 3pm… is a yearly affair….

Machiam like singapore orientation tour…..

After all these activities, have to visit relatives staying @ Pasir Ris where I am staying @ west side….

Sibei sibei shack at the end of the day…. :TT_TT:  :TT_TT:

Now, both parents are old and no longer have this type of activities, i just have to do the cooking for them on the eve and 1st day of CNY...

Last time the only thing i scare of CNY is all the shops and eatery would be closed, and difficult to find food to eat! But now CNY not as bad as last time, many shops and eatery still operate as per normal. Lol.

most of us singaporeans don't like cny coz of this lor.

when getting a bf / gf

So hard to find a gay bf / lesbian gf

then get liao....

when getting married...

Aiyah you know lah Sg does not allow gay /  lesbian marriage

married liao.....

when getting a kid...

Since cannot have own must buy one and its so expensive

:relief:

Gay and lesbians never have this problem.

This is only a problem for straight people.

Gay and lesbians never have this problem.

This is only a problem for straight people.

HAHAAHA thats a good one!

but hor.. will have new set of problems.

will get "concerned" religious people who will come pray for u and ask u to go theraphy.

they will ask god to forgive u one

I wondered why during CNY most Chinese restaurants up their prices and sometimes double.

But during Deepavali,Hariraya,Christmas no price incresse in many restaurants

HAHAAHA thats a good one!

but hor.. will have new set of problems.

will get "concerned" religious people who will come pray for u and ask u to go theraphy.

they will ask god to forgive u one

Can ask them pray for something useful?

Like win toto?

I wondered why during CNY most Chinese restaurants up their prices and sometimes double.

The others never do bench marking.

Once they see they also will start doing.

What's not to like when

1) I still collecting red packets since I am unmarried

2) I work shift duty now so I can siam visiting certain relatives and I don't need to explain anything.

What's not to like when

1) I still collecting red packets since I am unmarried

2) I work shift duty now so I can siam visiting certain relatives and I don't need to explain anything.

Wait. So old already still can get ang bao meh.

You try run a restaurant see see.

Don't quite understand your logic.

NTUC used not to open for many days during CNY but nowadays close for a day or two only.

I dont know how to explain to you...............lets just say.........commercial mass market pineapple tarts mayb I take 1-2 pcs.........that's abt what I will take................those good freshly made ones............I can take 10 pcs at one go...........but you need to get the good ones..........which dont come by easy.......... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Home made Pineapple Tarts can control Sugar level ... No Artificial Flavouring or Preservatives ... Butter and Pork Lard also controlled ...

But the downside is, cannot keep for long.

My Wife say, one ... I only eat ...

Edited by Chowyunfatt

Don't quite understand your logic.

NTUC used not to open for many days during CNY but nowadays close for a day or two only.

Many of NTUC staff nowadays are locals or PRC.

The majority of staff in Chinese restaurants are malaysians.

Many of them do take the opportunity to go back as it's often the only break time of the year for F&B staff.

Their CNY pay maybe more than double or triple their usual salary/hour but only some take it up. 

I eat on CNY Day 1 at Chinese restaurants. The only ones that are open for business invariably have enough local staff being assisted by some other nationality like Myanmarnese etc. 

The malaysians only come back after a few days.

Actually, I like having CNY being close to Xmas as I prefer to get all the festivities all over & done with; leaving me with longer intervals for trips & other matters.

How you guys going to have reunion dinner? Go restaurant, coffeeshop or eat at home?

Once with extended family at restaurant and another one at home.

Wait. So old already still can get ang bao meh.

Can la. I got one granduncle never married, in his 70s still getting ang bao. Lol.

Cuz CNY is the only public holiday where they pay their staff double or triple to work.

How you guys going to have reunion dinner? Go restaurant, coffeeshop or eat at home?

At home.

Can slowly eat anyway we like, no need to have time constraint like in restaurants.

• Praise 11