SAF Terrex impounded by HK customs

Stooky

Want to leave just leave. .

Your views are your own but I don't appreciate being called "sinkiied" or sinkies or any other demeaning terms. I am a Singaporean and very proud of it!!

You will not be missed, that's for sure [:p]

post-65783-0-65807700-1480306843.jpg

Our navy ships travel to Taiwan a few times a year. The LST is also involved in Ex. Starlight. The LST also travel to Taiwan, Japan and Guam as part of Midshipmen course.

All ships can travel in international waters regardless of paper work. International waters, no need paper. But berthing in another country, need paper work and prior approval from that country.

the sailor has spoken...............all clear now................. [thumbsup]  [laugh]  [laugh]

But WP being the main Opp said that they want to lead from behind lei...

Like that also can.. want to lead but dun want to take responsibility... wa ma ai..just slap the driver is their job

wah. bring arms into other people's country without declaring and still wanna blame them?

as long as the ''arms'' never exited the port... its not really considered as entering that said country. It was a trans-shipment and not a direct one. (supposedly)

However.. there is a grey area where the customs can indeed check for anything it deemed ''suspicious''

But WP being the main Opp said that they want to lead from behind lei...

Like that also can.. want to lead but dun want to take responsibility... wa ma ai..just slap the driver is their job

WP so useless, vote them in liao all keep quiet... kns

they are smart la.. they know they cant make noise now...  

anyone ask them for solution they hv to keep quiet.. 

opening mouth now can only get negative mileage 

they are smart la.. they know they cant make noise now...  

anyone ask them for solution they hv to keep quiet.. 

opening mouth now can only get negative mileage 

they forever quiet la

I guess this on-going competition against BAE is pretty much dead...

US Marine Corps contract (Jan 2016)

Inside the amphibious vehicles that won the Marines' $225M contracts

https://www.marinecorpstimes.com/story/military/tech/2016/01/04/inside-amphibious-vehicles-won-marines-225m-contracts/77380728/

BAE's contract is for $103.8 million, while SAIC's is for $121.5 million. The 16 vehicles they each build will endure rigorous tests over the next two years. The winner selected in 2018 will deliver 204 vehicles, valued at $1.1 billion, by 2020. All vehicles are to be assigned to six battalions by the summer of 2023.

SAIC/ST Kinetics Terrex 2 promotion video for US Marine trial.

One of the better article i found:

The more I read, the more I am concern with how our 3G classified system may get compromised, amount others.

e.g. the acoustic location system that is fuse into many of Terrex sensor system. This is just one of many innovations into our 3G platform not just in the vehicle, but across the SAF.

and the author also asked why can't our Navy Endurance-class LST do the transportation ?

Good time to horn our navy skillset in long-range deployment using such oversea mission.

Terrex AFV confiscation in HKG: The Implications and Revelations

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?238144-Terrex-AFV-confiscation-in-HKG-The-Implications-and-Revelations

ASLS_Acoustic_Shooter_Locating_System_Rh

as long as the ''arms'' never exited the port... its not really considered as entering that said country. It was a trans-shipment and not a direct one. (supposedly)

However.. there is a grey area where the customs can indeed check for anything it deemed ''suspicious''

Doesn't work like that leh.

Enter their territorial waters means enter the country already. Doesn't matter whether it is on the ship or offloaded onto the port. Once you enter their country, you are bound by their laws which in this case (supposedly) specify that the equipment should have been declared.

Edited by Kusje

Yes, indeed "Once you enter their country, you are bound by their laws"

This is what SG do to others.

I have a friend deported by ICA and he cannot step into SG airport even inclusive of air travel transit. Just becos he answered not tactfully of working in SG which he involved only in weekly meeting for the work.

This is the policy and you've to comply.

SG will have hard time to get back the 9 armour carrier now. It's going to be lengthy with chinese.

Seriously doubt it's that simple. As long as in someone's territorial waters and especially their port. Local authorities decide.

Otherwise you transport a few tonnes of cocain or explosives and can tell their customs and marine police etc "none of your business! I never unload la. "

Think same applies to airports. If connecting flight, even never go through passport, if you have "illegal" things, local authorities can still grab.

If I am WP i also tiam tiam first..............SDP also didnt take this opportunity to stir..........so can see everyone waiting for response ..............no talk no wrong............doing nothing is better than saying the wrong thing........... [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

you say not I say hoh...

I guess this on-going competition against BAE is pretty much dead...

US Marine Corps contract (Jan 2016)

Inside the amphibious vehicles that won the Marines' $225M contracts

https://www.marinecorpstimes.com/story/military/tech/2016/01/04/inside-amphibious-vehicles-won-marines-225m-contracts/77380728/

BAE's contract is for $103.8 million, while SAIC's is for $121.5 million. The 16 vehicles they each build will endure rigorous tests over the next two years. The winner selected in 2018 will deliver 204 vehicles, valued at $1.1 billion, by 2020. All vehicles are to be assigned to six battalions by the summer of 2023.

SAIC/ST Kinetics Terrex 2 promotion video for US Marine trial.

After test drive by PLA.. maybe they like leh... maybe PLA buy many many leh...

Teachable moments from HKâs seizure of SAF vehicles

long read. can do it over your post-lunch cuppa / me time.

here's the link

http://www.todayonline.com/commentary/teachable-moments-hks-seizure-saf-vehicles

It's still dancing around the issue.

Immediately after telling the world not all roads lead to the middle kingdom, our terrex is stuck there. Coincidence? Or the culmination of a series of unnecessary provocations?

Our PM has been going around saying some very daff and unnecessarily provocative things lately. He has lousy timing and tact dealing with people who value face.

Instead of just blaming the prc, a large dose of mirror gazing is needed.

Call a spade a spade.

After test drive by PLA.. maybe they like leh... maybe PLA buy many many leh...

haha ... so these are just "samples"  [:p]

maybe PLA buy more more than USMC and pay full cash.

PLA buy? hahahaha they will copy lo

ST engineering can suck thumb, billion dollar $$$ deal is as good as gone. All other counties considering this vehicle also will say byebye...

whoever kok up here sure gg one. 

Edited by Mockngbrd