Anyone remember this?

Little_prince

On 11/14/2016 at 2:24 PM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Anyone remembers the original Long Beach seafood restaurant at the original beach at Bedok ?

It was next to little red house. A few restaurants in a row.

Think it was opposite lucky heights.

On 11/14/2016 at 1:52 PM, Bavarian said:

Quite a few Fitzpatricks, most are around town area. Most of them got taken over by Cold Storage. Let me try try to re-call the locations:

Chancery Road (CS now)

Goldhill Square (CS, now not sure)

Supreme House now known as Park Mall

That's all I can re-call. Anyone remember Yokoso? First 24hrs supermarket. Too much ahead of it's time. Failed.

Those two in bold were already CS when i followed mama go grocery shopping in the early 80's. Love going CS during christmas season, cos always can buy candy cane sweet and suck the peppermint cane. [:p] Also those Van houton chocolates. [nod]

U guys are really oldies.  [lipsrsealed]

On 11/14/2016 at 11:57 PM, Adrianli said:

Those two in bold were already CS when i followed mama go grocery shopping in the early 80's. Love going CS during christmas season, cos always can buy candy cane sweet and suck the peppermint cane. [:p] Also those Van houton chocolates. [nod]

U guys are really oldies. [lipsrsealed]

you all so atas....i oni know tekkar, geylang serai or amk ave 10 market...

On 11/15/2016 at 12:42 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

All the wet markets used to sell live chickens slaughtered on the spot. Until the avian flu ban. Eventually all kampung chickens in ubin also eliminated.

I used to watch in amazement how they de-feather the chicken. They throw the dead chicken into a "top loading washing machine", let it spin a while and out comes a de-feathered chicken. [angel]   [laugh]

Also the live snakehead fish. They use a wooden club to hammer the fish head. [smash]  [dead]

Then the turtle, wait for it to stretch the head out and one chop.............the head roll on the chopping board. [knife]  [shocked]

On 11/15/2016 at 12:35 AM, Adrianli said:

My mum also frequent Tekkar Market. I used to follow her there to buy live chicken which they slaughter on the spot for u. But some stuff, only supermarket have. Like frozen food, ice cream. [:p] My mum does the weekly marketing at Tekkar market, next door to her workplace, the old KKH. She is a midwife from 1950's till 1988. Those born within these years, sure got kena smack on the bottom by my mum before!!! [laugh]

That time frozen food from supermarket was atas hor.....when i stayed in kampung we will hunt for our chicken and slaughter them behind the house....usually for festivities and special occasion. Eggs we get from the chicken coop! Seldom eat meat then and our diet is mainly vege! My mum will go to the market at serangoon 6 mile at the start of Simon Rd where Simon Road Camp was. Later we moved to AMK and Ave 10 market was the mainstay for pasar. Tekkar and Geylang was when the family needs special variety of spices. AMK had a Fitzpatrick outlet at the end of AMK Central near to the old Singtel office, quite huge but it moved out in the late 80s! Edited by Eviilusion

On 11/15/2016 at 12:55 AM, Eviilusion said:

That time frozen food from supermarket was atas hor.....when i stayed in kampung we will hunt for our chicken and slaughter them behind the house....usually for festivities and special occasion. Eggs we get from the chicken coop! Seldom eat meat then and our diet is mainly vege! My mum will go to the market at serangoon 6 mile at the start of Simon Rd where Simon Road Camp was. Later we moved to AMK and Ave 10 market was the mainstay for pasar. Tekkar and Geylang was when the family needs special variety of spices. AMK had a Fitzpatrick outlet at the end of AMK Central near to the old Singtel office, quite huge but it moved out in the late 80s!

Never really stayed long term in a kampung. Only holiday then go stay or hang out at my malay fren's kampung at the land where Revenue house is occupying now. Yes. It used to be a malay kampung with chickens running ard.

We rear chicken in our toilet!!! Every morning got fresh eggs. My mama can bear to slaughter the chicken we reared. So have to buy chicken from Tekkar market.

Those were the days. :a-happy:

On 11/15/2016 at 1:07 AM, Adrianli said:

Never really stayed long term in a kampung. Only holiday then go stay or hang out at my malay fren's kampung at the land where Revenue house is occupying now. Yes. It used to be a malay kampung with chickens running ard.

We rear chicken in our toilet!!! Every morning got fresh eggs. My mama can bear to slaughter the chicken we reared. So have to buy chicken from Tekkar market.

Those were the days. :a-happy:

i still remember the fasting month in kampung. We will make kerosene lamp from milk glass and make holders from the start of the road leading to the kampung till the 1st house. Day time the children will gather and told to catch chicken for making rendang and curry. Of course we will be shown which chicken to catch as they are free roaming and belongs to individual families. We will be given 10-20 cts for each chicken caught......very difficult exercise as the chicken is fast and can fly if cornered!

On 11/15/2016 at 12:55 AM, Eviilusion said:

That time frozen food from supermarket was atas hor.....when i stayed in kampung we will hunt for our chicken and slaughter them behind the house....usually for festivities and special occasion. Eggs we get from the chicken coop! Seldom eat meat then and our diet is mainly vege! My mum will go to the market at serangoon 6 mile at the start of Simon Rd where Simon Road Camp was. Later we moved to AMK and Ave 10 market was the mainstay for pasar. Tekkar and Geylang was when the family needs special variety of spices. AMK had a Fitzpatrick outlet at the end of AMK Central near to the old Singtel office, quite huge but it moved out in the late 80s!

I remember the kampong!  My uncles and aunties used to stay in Kampong somewhere near kakit bukit, it's a Hainanese village.  Everyone there spoke Hainanese.   They were pig farmers.  They also grew vegetables and chicken for own consumption.   My mum brought us there every weekend.  I love playing there.

They were shifted to Bedok HDB after the govt took the land back.

Those were the days!  I really miss the kampong.

On 11/15/2016 at 1:21 AM, Eviilusion said:

i still remember the fasting month in kampung. We will make kerosene lamp from milk glass and make holders from the start of the road leading to the kampung till the 1st house. Day time the children will gather and told to catch chicken for making rendang and curry. Of course we will be shown which chicken to catch as they are free roaming and belongs to individual families. We will be given 10-20 cts for each chicken caught......very difficult exercise as the chicken is fast and can fly if cornered!

On 11/15/2016 at 1:27 AM, Dleodleo said:

I remember the kampong! My uncles and aunties used to stay in Kampong somewhere near kakit bukit, it's a Hainanese village. Everyone there spoke Hainanese. They were pig farmers. They also grew vegetables and chicken for own consumption. My mum brought us there every weekend. I love playing there.

They were shifted to Bedok HDB after the govt took the land back.

Those were the days! I really miss the kampong.

Ya lor. And also those teletext machine

Ya at Phoenix Hotel basement. I was a member then. Wahahahahahaha

kaki bukit was at the other end of Paya Lebar airport but got some relative staying there too! Mine was Jln Hock Chye......there was a cinema named Zenith near the other entrance. Ya....there were many chinese neighbours but most are family friends. My mom can speak hokkien fluently and she still does. My school friends till now are still amazed at her hokkien proficiency and still talk about it during class reunion...

On 11/15/2016 at 1:33 AM, Eviilusion said:

kaki bukit was at the other end of Paya Lebar airport but got some relative staying there too! Mine was Jln Hock Chye......there was a cinema named Zenith near the other entrance. Ya....there were many chinese neighbours but most are family friends. My mom can speak hokkien fluently and she still does. My school friends till now are still amazed at her hokkien proficiency and still talk about it during class reunion...

On 11/15/2016 at 1:35 AM, Dleodleo said:

OIC. I only remember there's a river, an indian mama shop at the main road and a mosque nearby and my dad went to Telok Kurau Secondary School which was near there.

Got many malay kampungs especially tge area surrounding the old paya lebar airport....! My kindergarten was at Jln Haji Karim very close to the airport and the kindergarten window faces a pig sty....when it rains the smell was overpowering. Had so many friends and primary school classmates living around there.....even ponggol end and track 17 were out playground! One of my classmate's father owns Awang Boat Shed!

On 11/15/2016 at 1:44 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

People these days speak awfully broken Hokkien, even many of those in movies. Really hard for kids to learn Hokkien when they have no role models to follow these days. Maybe only Hokkien news on radio.

Mandarin also not 3 not 4, English also half bucket with TV slang. Sigh ..

some young people cant even understand hokkien. Now most of our languages are a potpourri of local slangs and shared amongst the different languages. The way the current generation speaks English leaves a lot to be desired with grammar and full sentences thrown out of the window. That is the price we have to pay in a multi-cultured and multi-language society. Sometime i also laugh at myself for speaking English where we are the only ones that can decipher what was being said....

On 11/15/2016 at 2:16 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

I don't want to blame it on multi-culture society because it has always been a multi-culture society since my great grandfather's days. In Penang, the young people still speak Hokkien to each other and they also speak Mandarin, English and Malay. Yet, our Channel 8 is full of broken Mandarin. Yet, we import so many Malaysians to work in media, service, finance sectors, politics.

I recently came across this .. pleasantly surprised that Zoe Tay speaks fluent Teochew, more fluent than English or Mandarin.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PB-AlJiS5o&t=7m16s

Singlish is the easiest and fastest way to bring out the msg when amongst fellow Singaporean with different ethnicities. There is no grammar, past tense and so on. Just add in today, yesterday or just now to a sentence and we can put our msg across. Forget about the **ed and all....