Anyone remember this?

Little_prince

On 11/11/2016 at 1:10 AM, Othello said:

should be Hotel Pheonix

Ya Ya Correct!

On 11/11/2016 at 1:11 AM, Cypress said:

Phoenix Hotel at the demolished Specialist Centre where John Little was there.

Yes!  Correct!  I old liao suddenly cannot recall.  Wahahahahahaha.

I love going to the John Little there.

On 11/11/2016 at 1:10 AM, Blueray said:

Hotel Phoenix.

Ya!  Thanks!

On 11/11/2016 at 1:05 AM, Dleodleo said:

I only remember that we have to put a monthly label in front of the windscreen (around S$60 per month) when we enter CBD.      Policeman stationed at the a location to spot check.

Wah, busy the last few days, now then see this thread...

Those days it was called the Restricted Zone (RZ).

Outside the RZs, about 200 m away, there will be a booth selling the RZ labels for that day. Need to pay a fee if your car didn't have 4 pax in it. Got many people will be around there to help to make up the numbers to enter the RZ. The lady TPs (or just police) will be after the RZ line to check and note down numbers of cars without the label and dun have 4 pax...

Before ERP parking at carparks, there were

those semi-auto ones that need to insert cash card into readers at exit.

Before that, got coupon parking (now still have).

And before that, all the HDB/URA carparks got a booth near the entrance, and got auntie there collect carpark $$ one. Created employment...

How many drivers here remember that?

Those days, i was only a kid sitting in my father's car/van. Haven't gotten my license yet...

On 11/11/2016 at 12:27 AM, Othello said:

now dun have liao ? Lee still ard mah ..... Peninsula basement used to have several jeans shops. Before skinny jeans was in, the malays already nailed it in the 90s with Lois ^_^

Peninsula 1st level got 1 Mohammad Ishak jeans shop.....they sell mostly Levis and can bargain. Red tab from $45 and bargain down to $38. Then suddenly Levis became the trend and price skyrocketted. The mats went back to Wrangler and Lois.....

On 11/9/2016 at 1:52 AM, Dleodleo said:

I remember that there's a fashion chain - Lee, Lea girl.

Also many people carrying a giordano sling bag with the words - Don't talk behind my bag

There's also Centrepoint kids, Parkway kids.  I remember Yaohan, Seiyu, Daimaru, printemps,

Centrepoint kids were way b4 Fire ...  :XD:  I think the mods here were once one of those kidz   [grin]

On 11/11/2016 at 1:10 AM, Blueray said:

Hotel Phoenix.

there used to have a disco/pub quite popular duing the 90s  :D  i always go there play pool last time 

On 11/11/2016 at 11:37 AM, Hamburger said:

Fitzpatrick!!!!!!!

The kind of thread that only uncle will comes in.....hahhahah

:secret-laugh:

Fitzpatrick is high class supermarket. Last time we go SILO, coz worker union had vouchers every month to buy groceries.

On 11/12/2016 at 2:36 AM, Ender said:

You heard of Sahara Club?? and this commercial

Haha ya I remember Amco jeans n this nice commercial! Wa u must be uncle like me

On 11/12/2016 at 3:45 AM, BanCoe said:

I still remember another old brand called KILROY and another clothing brand called SELECO jeans ... in fact they were my very first pair of jeans that my parents could afford for me ...... must have cost about $20++ but they lasted me at least 10-15 years

Choice for me was between SELECO and YANE back then in the 70's, Levis was out of reach for sure, even Wrangler, LEE and LEA was also expensive

somehow remember this one too...... was this the one near around Kalang Bahru and later was this one name changed to NTUC?? kind of wondering

Yes, later changed to NTUC.

Kilroy also can remember, now you mentioned it.

There was a time corduroy jeans were popular. Now no one wears them. But Yane wasn't cheap, remember Yane Gold? Gold plated label, instead of leather , sewn to the back of the jeans.

On 11/12/2016 at 3:56 AM, Ender said:

Yes, later changed to NTUC.

Kilroy also can remember, now you mentioned it.

There was a time corduroy jeans were popular. Now no one wears them. But Yane wasn't cheap, remember Yane Gold? Gold plated label, instead of leather , sewn to the back of the jeans.

In fact NTUC old logo had the same similar gear like thingy initially and when they first opened in Marine Parade (opposite site of current one) I used to just look see look see  at the Hi-Fi systems by a local company called Soundesign... cheaper compared to the more renowed Marantz Grundig, Harman Kardon, Macintosh -  but still could not afford it [bigcry]  (the singapore one)  

Yeap there was the fashion of having metals labels  , also some had kind of zig/zag like embossed stitching logo on the back pockets too; Yane (depending on model) was sold by fathers friend but it was still more expensive than the cheaper brands... and bell bottoms was the kind of rage too.....  I guess he wanted to do his own branding to stand out though it was a 100% local company; I remember they used to have the factory behind the Cisco Building in Paya Lebar. HeShe also tried but not too sucessful        

Edited by BanCoe

On 11/11/2016 at 12:03 PM, Eviilusion said:

Peninsula 1st level got 1 Mohammad Ishak jeans shop.....they sell mostly Levis and can bargain. Red tab from $45 and bargain down to $38. Then suddenly Levis became the trend and price skyrocketted. The mats went back to Wrangler and Lois.....

On 11/12/2016 at 4:15 AM, BanCoe said:

Still got lah but more moved to opposite at Excelsior - they have shops that sell like leather boots , hats , belts with lots of metals ; Mat Rockers still got following and want to look cool with the Harley Davidson fakes (or look a like) or look like a cowboy leather jackets

Hahaha.....i had cowboy boots and corduroys too! I even had a cowboy shirt. All bought in Peninsula. There was a Chinese shop selling Raybans and thats where i got my 1st Rayban sunnies back in the 80s. That time mat rocks wear Raybans 2 hide their redden eyes that was a telltale sign of smoking marijuana....