Xers007 Supercharged November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 C...A....N...T...O... CANTO CANTO.... william scorpion and angie ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 On 11/15/2016 at 2:52 AM, Roadrunner2029 said: Malay, Mandarin, Hokkien, Teochew, smlj also must add English words in between every other words. When I was small, people tell me, people who speak English are doctors, lawyers, .. maybe that's why.last week while waiting to have a haircut this malay lady was talking with her children in English! Kns......i think my hokkien is much better than her engrish! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 15, 2016 Share November 15, 2016 On 11/15/2016 at 3:04 AM, Roadrunner2029 said: Susah lah ini mcm.hahaha.....as long as she understood what she said herself can oredy lar..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/15/2016 at 12:35 AM, Adrianli said: My mum also frequent Tekkar Market. I used to follow her there to buy live chicken which they slaughter on the spot for u. But some stuff, only supermarket have. Like frozen food, ice cream. My mum does the weekly marketing at Tekkar market, next door to her workplace, the old KKH. She is a midwife from 1950's till 1988. Those born within these years, sure got kena smack on the bottom by my mum before!!! Ok, then i likely owed it to your mum for being around now... I used to follow my mother around when small too. Chicken slaughter even my downstairs Toa Payoh wet market also had. Choose the chick(en), Cut the throat, put into a can of i think warm water for a while with cover. Then after a min or so take out, the feather v easy to pluck... Had gone to chinatown market (not in the current complex, but on the streets then) too. Got snake, monitor lizard slaughter too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/15/2016 at 1:33 AM, Eviilusion said: kaki bukit was at the other end of Paya Lebar airport but got some relative staying there too! Mine was Jln Hock Chye......there was a cinema named Zenith near the other entrance. Ya....there were many chinese neighbours but most are family friends. My mom can speak hokkien fluently and she still does. My school friends till now are still amazed at her hokkien proficiency and still talk about it during class reunion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/16/2016 at 2:43 AM, Atrecord said: Talking about paya lebar airport, how many had been there and boarded a plane from there before? i did, twice. Once, in pri sch, flew to KL to go genting. Remained the only paid flight i took until i started working. Second time, 10+ yr later, was incidentally also from Paya Lebar - by which time changi was long in operation. Had taken a C-130 from Paya Lebar to Thailand... Still remembered the wall made of mosaic tiles. Very distinct. I took a C-130 from PLA when going for Ex Crescendo too. But never a commercial flight........peasants... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/16/2016 at 2:50 AM, Roadrunner2029 said: I took my first commercial flight out of Paya Lebar Airport. You should ask anyone flew out of Kallang Airport ? Kallang a bit too much lah... i never even been to the airport, except walking past from Nat'l stadium in the past towards kallang MRT... Changi airport was so out of the way. When it was being built, one sunday my father decided to drive his old vw bettle (a company car) to pass by take a look, i think also cos an uncle was just enlisted to NS, and camp was near there, and it was family visit day, so drove there... Those days, only small tracks/roads, no PIE/ECP. He got lost On 11/16/2016 at 3:00 AM, Eviilusion said: I took a C-130 from PLA when going for Ex Crescendo too. But never a commercial flight........peasants... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/15/2016 at 2:16 AM, Roadrunner2029 said: I don't want to blame it on multi-culture society because it has always been a multi-culture society since my great grandfather's days. In Penang, the young people still speak Hokkien to each other and they also speak Mandarin, English and Malay. Yet, our Channel 8 is full of broken Mandarin. Yet, we import so many Malaysians to work in media, service, finance sectors, politics. I recently came across this .. pleasantly surprised that Zoe Tay speaks fluent Teochew, more fluent than English or Mandarin. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PB-AlJiS5o&t=7m16s have veteran teochew ahpek assistance; watch last episode end teasers - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xMgFpSi5cE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/16/2016 at 2:33 AM, Atrecord said: Ok, then i likely owed it to your mum for being around now... I used to follow my mother around when small too. Chicken slaughter even my downstairs Toa Payoh wet market also had. Choose the chick(en), Cut the throat, put into a can of i think warm water for a while with cover. Then after a min or so take out, the feather v easy to pluck... Had gone to chinatown market (not in the current complex, but on the streets then) too. Got snake, monitor lizard slaughter too... Paya Lebar airport has a small food stall selling ICEE at the departure area. It was my first ICEE drink, still have fond memories of that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 (edited) On 11/16/2016 at 3:22 AM, Atrecord said: Kallang a bit too much lah... i never even been to the airport, except walking past from Nat'l stadium in the past towards kallang MRT... Changi airport was so out of the way. When it was being built, one sunday my father decided to drive his old vw bettle (a company car) to pass by take a look, i think also cos an uncle was just enlisted to NS, and camp was near there, and it was family visit day, so drove there... Those days, only small tracks/roads, no PIE/ECP. He got lost Wah you Crescendo'ed too. When was that? i went 3 times, twice active, once reservist... sian arrh... i also peasant lor... had the chance to take plane must be cos my father had lobang to get cheap/free tickets lah. he was a tour guide for a stretch in his career. The ill-fate Concorde. Didn't understand how come it could have flown for so many years if it was unsafe... i went crescendo (86) ones, Lancer twice (86/93) and starlight/highnoon twice (87/95). Crescendo used c130 as we were using a thailand milirary airbase for the flight. Thought the concorde blew because of debris from the plane that had taken off earlier and the debris ruptured its fuel line which caught fire leading to an explosion during take off! Edited November 16, 2016 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/16/2016 at 3:58 AM, Eviilusion said: i went crescendo (86) ones, Lancer twice (86/93) and starlight/highnoon twice (87/95). Crescendo used c130 as we were using a thailand milirary airbase for the flight. Thought the concorde blew because of debris from the plane that had taken off earlier and the debris ruptured its fuel line which caught fire leading to an explosion during take off! ok. You more lao jiao then. I first went crescendo end 88, then end 89 and again in 2001. Missed starlight by a bit, and went wallaby in i think 96. Heng only '88 was C-130, sitting on straps knee to knee with the guy opp, and the dunno technician or someone a few times during the flight need to move from font to back, and vice versa. Everytime he needed to do that, everybody closed the legs, let him step (on the straps) on the opening created. Our SOP ear plugs were put to good use as it was super noisy. Then some parts must put on jacket, some parts felt like taking off shirt... You're right about why it blew. Just googled and apparently the manufacturers did few things after the crash to make any repeat less likely. But biz was bad and they stopped it eventually... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/16/2016 at 3:32 AM, Mason016 said: Paya Lebar airport has a small food stall selling ICEE at the departure area. It was my first ICEE drink, still have fond memories of that. I remember this polar bear mascot. It used to parade around regularly at Thomson Yaohan. Was so terrified of it back then, think I was 2 or 3 then... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/15/2016 at 1:21 AM, Eviilusion said: i still remember the fasting month in kampung. We will make kerosene lamp from milk glass and make holders from the start of the road leading to the kampung till the 1st house. Day time the children will gather and told to catch chicken for making rendang and curry. Of course we will be shown which chicken to catch as they are free roaming and belongs to individual families. We will be given 10-20 cts for each chicken caught......very difficult exercise as the chicken is fast and can fly if cornered! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahseng 5th Gear November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 waseh all jin old bird. This shud be the most fascinating thing in my childhood... then came the gaming consoles like micro genius WAHHAHA 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 OMG... going thru this thread, i suspect some of you actually recognize this. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/16/2016 at 7:53 AM, Atrecord said: ok. You more lao jiao then. I first went crescendo end 88, then end 89 and again in 2001. Missed starlight by a bit, and went wallaby in i think 96. Heng only '88 was C-130, sitting on straps knee to knee with the guy opp, and the dunno technician or someone a few times during the flight need to move from font to back, and vice versa. Everytime he needed to do that, everybody closed the legs, let him step (on the straps) on the opening created. Our SOP ear plugs were put to good use as it was super noisy. Then some parts must put on jacket, some parts felt like taking off shirt... You're right about why it blew. Just googled and apparently the manufacturers did few things after the crash to make any repeat less likely. But biz was bad and they stopped it eventually... ya....they had straps for seat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/16/2016 at 3:32 AM, Mason016 said: Paya Lebar airport has a small food stall selling ICEE at the departure area. It was my first ICEE drink, still have fond memories of that. this was very prominent in the then AMK Emporium (where the current AMK Hub is standing). those were the days where you get pineapple flavored ice! and NTUC was just beside the ICEE store. i remember that stall was selling steamed corn and peanuts too. and a whole bunch of stuff that you only see in pasar malam these days. LoL! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 16, 2016 Share November 16, 2016 On 11/15/2016 at 12:48 AM, Adrianli said: I used to watch in amazement how they de-feather the chicken. They throw the dead chicken into a "top loading washing machine", let it spin a while and out comes a de-feathered chicken. Also the live snakehead fish. They use a wooden club to hammer the fish head. Then the turtle, wait for it to stretch the head out and one chop.............the head roll on the chopping board. When i was in primary school, i used to stand in the Chinatown market downstairs and watch them whack the toman's heads Is slurpee still a thing now? We used to have slurpees while in primary school. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...