Nolicense Turbocharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 2 coffin space would probably be enough. 1 coffin can liao.. can spoon when you are dead.. no spooning when alive hor... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 Those words speaks a lot of her character. I will pity her hubby for what she said as most prob they have never experimented beyond the bedroom and most probably beyond the bed....! what a pity ... Maybe they should try it in a Alphard........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 if Parenthood Priority Scheme was the only topic then maybe most here have taken the topic out of context. but the underlying intention of the scheme and more of the published deserve comment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 what a pity ... Maybe they should try it in a Alphard........ Lets hope its not a moving Alphard... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 if she is making the speech as a academic lecturer or non-partisan speaker, whereby she gotten 90% of her speech contents correct, she would have my endorsement and support instead. this is clearly not a case of readers being difficult or missing the woods for the trees. Ahhhh........ .......... Uni hostel ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 you seem to be swinging towards the notion that readers are being difficult. you must not forget she is a politician and a minister. as a minister she need to get the message across to get the buy-in from the constituents. once she makes such a stupid statement,the message would have failed in getting across and she has failed in her objective and duties. as a politician, she could have done much better not saying that to get into the bad books of people. i dont think i miss the message (i already told you i can agree with you and her comments at 90% of them) nor is being difficult. she directly equated people's concern about starting a family as a an act of sex which is mostly spontaneous and enjoyable. it demeans the effort and sacrifice of setting up a home and the family as equivalent to sex which we hardly can call a sacrifice. or as another forumer put it, you only need a small space to have sexual flings but you need much bigger one to procreate and set up a family. by so saying, she had missed the gist of the argument and offended the people who are pro family. whether she is frivolous (in thinking she can get away with such lowly and misguided sidestep and act of trying to confuse) or she is stupid enough to think the requests came about as a need for sex than setting up a family, both doesn't reflect well on her as a minister and a politician. if she is making the speech as a academic lecturer or non-partisan speaker, whereby she gotten 90% of her speech contents correct, she would have my endorsement and support instead. this is clearly not a case of readers being difficult or missing the woods for the trees. I suppose a sentence (in this case "You need a very small space to have sex") can be read in as many number of ways as there are readers. Whether one interpretation is by more or less difficult readers, I make no judgment, it is just different readers with different opinions, as is the case between you and me.) To you it is a "stupid statement", she has "failed in her objective and duties", she could have "done better not saying that to get into the bad books of people", that it "demeans" the effort and sacrifice of starting a home and family, that she is "frivolous", she has "missed the gist of the argument", she is "stupid enough to think the requests came about as a need for sex than setting up a family", that it "doesn't reflect well on her as a minister and politician" and "offended" pro family people. She is a mother too. I am pro family. I think having a family and being parents are wonderful and noble callings. But I am not offended. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 She is not telling people to copulate first then plan for a flat. She is telling people that if you are expecting/have a child, you will have priority when applying for a flat. Otherwise as a couple who are not expecting/do not have a child, then you don't get priority. And you are right, the difference is priority and even with priority you are not assured of getting a flat, it is possible (at least I understand it to be possible) that someone who does not have priority (eg. a couple with no kid yet) will still secure a flat over another couple with/expecting a child in the same flat cluster. It is not the statement that does not make sense. It is all the shadows seen in it that do not. chill bro....we understood the gist of statements but that last one liner is the bombshell! Maybe she meant it as a joke but the joke turned out like some of the jokes in mcf.....crude and crass. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 you know, among all the hoo-har in that silly statement she made, what i am most concerned about? the MND picking it up and say, hey~~! you dun need a lot of space to have sex. that means we an build our flats smaller! that means more units for the same space area of the current block! woo~hoot~~~~!!!! really face palm! then again, i am being over sensitive and thinking too far ahead. or am i? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 chill bro....we understood the gist of statements but that last one liner is the bombshell! Maybe she meant it as a joke but the joke turned out like some of the jokes in mcf.....crude and crass. maybe the trend is to do a Trump or Duterte statement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 (edited) I suppose a sentence (in this case "You need a very small space to have sex") can be read in as many number of ways as there are readers. Whether one interpretation is by more or less difficult readers, I make no judgment, it is just different readers with different opinions, as is the case between you and me.) To you it is a "stupid statement", she has "failed in her objective and duties", she could have "done better not saying that to get into the bad books of people", that it "demeans" the effort and sacrifice of starting a home and family, that she is "frivolous", she has "missed the gist of the argument", she is "stupid enough to think the requests came about as a need for sex than setting up a family", that it "doesn't reflect well on her as a minister and politician" and "offended" pro family people. She is a mother too. I am pro family. I think having a family and being parents are wonderful and noble callings. But I am not offended. Whether one interpretation is by more or less difficult readers, I make no judgment, it is just different readers with different opinions, as is the case between you and me.) to make a comment, one must have a stand. whether a stand is equal to a judgement, i don't know although i don't agree i am passing a judgement. but what you deemed a judgement may just be a stand to me. a fundamental difference whether it tantamounts to being judgemental is whether the comments made is on the matter or the person. if we don't ever want to comment there will be no internet forum discussion to start with. so why should we be discussing here if everyone is advocated to shy away from commenting? there is nothing fundamentally wrong about having a stand and making a comment. "She is a mother too. I am pro family. I think having a family and being parents are wonderful and noble callings. But I am not offended." i said she offended pro-family members but i didn't say she is anti-family or ALL pro-family members will be offended Edited October 12, 2016 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 maybe the trend is to do a Trump or Duterte statement maybe she will be running for President or Prime Minister in the near future. Trump, Duterte and Josephine trying to out speak each other...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 to make a comment, one must have a stand. whether a stand is equal to a judgement, i don't know although i don't agree i am passing a judgement. but what you deemed a judgement may just be a stand to me. a fundamental difference whether it tantamounts to being judgemental is whether the comments made is on the matter or the person. if we don't ever want to comment there will be no internet forum discussion to start with. so why would we be discussing here if everyone shy away from commenting? i said she offended pro-family members but i didn't say she is anti-family or ALL pro-family members will be offended I am fine with whatever term you prefer, whether stand or judgement or view or opinion or comment or thinking or perspective or reading or interpretation or understanding. I think you said she offended "the people who are pro family". Presumably she is one of "the people who are pro family" and I would like to think that I am also one of "the people who are pro family". I am saying I am not offended and I am inferring, by her being a mother too, that she is "pro family". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 to make a comment, one must have a stand. whether a stand is equal to a judgement, i don't know although i don't agree i am passing a judgement. but what you deemed a judgement may just be a stand to me. a fundamental difference whether it tantamounts to being judgemental is whether the comments made is on the matter or the person. if we don't ever want to comment there will be no internet forum discussion to start with. so why should we be discussing here if everyone is advocated to shy away from commenting? there is nothing fundamentally wrong about having a stand and making a comment. i said she offended pro-family members but i didn't say she is anti-family or ALL pro-family members will be offended wah...bro....you a lawyer? You sure sound like one! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 Really facepalm to read such reply from minister..... :-( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 I think you said she offended "the people who are pro family". Presumably she is one of "the people who are pro family" and I would like to think that I am also one of "the people who are pro family". I am saying I am not offended and I am inferring, by her being a mother too, that she is "pro family". my previous reply of but i didn't say ALL pro-family members will be offended already addresses your latest point. she is pro-family doesn't mean she can make avoid comments that rile other pro-family members. a good mathematician doesn't mean he is good at talking and teaching mathematics. wah...bro....you a lawyer? You sure sound like one! watch and learn too much from serials.........haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 my previous reply of already addresses your latest point. she is pro-family doesn't mean she can make avoid comments that rile other pro-family members. a good mathematician doesn't mean he is good at talking and teaching mathematics. watch and learn too much from serials.........haha I see...learning from the master... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 Trying not to make jokes, so I will be serious... This ministar clearly doesn't know the ground well. Really too much of an elitist mindset already. First of all yes you can have sex anytime anyplace. But raising a kid is different. Because of Asian values (plus HDB's rules on buying house), most of us live with our parents until married. Some even continue to do so after. So you imagine la. One house, got parents, you, your partner, then maybe siblings and grandparents also. Where got room? Even jumbo 5-room flat also not enough. You still want to add a child? You staying Trump Tower is it? You can of course make do and squeeze, but it's not going to be easy. Do we want to go back to those days where we got 10 people living under one roof? Ridiculous right? Other countries, people 18 years old already can go out get their own place already (rent or buy cheaply). Of course they can go out and find partner and have sex and have babies lah. Bodoh la this ministar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
acetron 2nd Gear October 12, 2016 Share October 12, 2016 (edited) i think she had it all mixed up. Most people want to have sex but without having babies, otherwise the streets will be full of babies. if they want to have babies, they make love. At the height of the pleasure, there comes a gift.... But honestly, she is quite correct. You don't need a big space to have sex, if you are skillful, standing room will do... lol Edited October 12, 2016 by acetron ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...