COE Bidding - 1st Round of October 2016

Carbon82

On 10/1/2016 at 3:58 PM, linyanan said:

Cat A drops $1k as market continues to soften (unemployment, bankruptcy, poor business outlook....)

Huat ah!!!

Be careful what one wish for.. many times the wish will come true for the one who wish for it..cat a coe drop $1K,unemployment, bankruptcy,...

Just my take. 

If you are in the market for new cars and yet to decide on the purchase, your wish is for COE to drop, so that car dealers will adjust the price downwards and you sign the dotted line.

However, if you have booked a car, and your dealer is in the COE bidding process for your car, then you don't wish the COE to drop. Rather, you wish it goes UP!. Reason been that it will have a higher paper value. 

Just my take. You may disagree. 

there are no significant coe drop in last 2 round (CatA), most of the dealer didnt adjust price so much, worried the coe bounce back again, there have no attractive prices to go in. i predict  bid received for cat A not more than last round.

Cat A - $48K

Cat B - $51K

Economy is bad and that is factual even the government Cannot denial.

Somehow there are sectors that hope COE will goes up. I am not sure why even if they are sale agents. Isn't lower COE easier to sell?

Of course if Coe goes up can bring our economy to above 4% GDP I support also lah.

Looking at some of the threads where bros are trying to eke out the last price reduction by sacrificing safety functions, leather seats and others, there are some who are at the border of their budgets in getting a car.

With the economy not performing well, those who are wishing the economy tanks, beware ... You may think you are not affected and hence will reap the benefits of any Coe drop, but you might be the one losing your job.

So approach car buying with caution. A 100k car actually can cost up to 200k over ten years..

• Dislike 1

On 10/3/2016 at 8:33 AM, therock said:

Looking at some of the threads where bros are trying to eke out the last price reduction by sacrificing safety functions, leather seats and others, there are some who are at the border of their budgets in getting a car.

With the economy not performing well, those who are wishing the economy tanks, beware ... You may think you are not affected and hence will reap the benefits of any Coe drop, but you might be the one losing your job.

So approach car buying with caution. A 100k car actually can cost up to 200k over ten years..

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/high-costs-of-owning-car-a-drawback

For the last bidding, quota was 2000, and bids received for cat a only 2600. Demand seems very low and if uber and grab do not participate, the Coe price may come off by quite a bit.

On 10/3/2016 at 10:42 AM, AhChong said:

For the last bidding, quota was 2000, and bids received for cat a only 2600. Demand seems very low and if uber and grab do not participate, the Coe price may come off by quite a bit.

Agree somewhat. The bids received has got to be the most worrying. What more with ug reducing their own ezposure.

But I don't think below 40k la for CAT A even 6 months down the road. But obviously won't be above 50k also.

On 10/3/2016 at 11:14 AM, Rooney3 said:

Agree somewhat. The bids received has got to be the most worrying. What more with ug reducing their own ezposure.

But I don't think below 40k la for CAT A even 6 months down the road. But obviously won't be above 50k also.

Agree for cat A, 45k to 48k is possible

On 10/3/2016 at 8:33 AM, therock said:

In addition, many are displaying advertising signage on their cars to earn that extra few hundred bucks per month.

Saw a number oredi - their cars very glary leh, with all the adverts screaming for attention!

On 10/1/2016 at 3:38 PM, GohLaiChye said:

Cat A - $48K - down, cos I am going to book my car, haha

Cat B - $55K

Cat A : 65k up 15k cos I already got mine :-)

Cat B : 15k down 40k so I can buy another one !

A certain car rental company booked 1,000 Attrage, and 500 Lancer. Cars bought in bulk, without COE. Company bids COE themselves.

So your guess is as good as mine, on where COE prices are headed.

On 10/3/2016 at 3:58 PM, Vinceng said:

A certain car rental company booked 1,000 Attrage, and 500 Lancer. Cars bought in bulk, without COE. Company bids COE themselves.

So your guess is as good as mine, on where COE prices are headed.

Omg....

where u get this info from??

So the rest of us, should just rent from this certain car rental company? LCR?

It depends on how many COEs they decide to bid for at each round right? to slowly gather enough...

But 1500 cars, maybe 3 bids can finish liao mah.. assuming abt 2000 COEs at each bid.