Tampines Roof Sunshade collapse

All special offer shoes are like that one

For those serious runners  better to buy from shop with just a basic discount of like 15% only max given usually; not those warehouse type of sale one. 

A few of my friends have bought such special offer items with like over 50-60% off and go out for a walk 1st time (looks very stylo milo) and the sole goes wobbly and like just waiting to be pelled off, similar for soccer shoes too; Or second time you wear the sole comes off

Of course some or many can be lucky with no such effects

I always ask my usual sports shop guys for the last model ( not latest- as its  feedback not cleared up yet ) and ask him very clearly (as they know the codes or the year it was mfg) and if its like within a year then its fine.

Nowadays things have moved too fast unlike the old days the rubber is natural type and not blended with lots of stabilisers/ synthetics and what not  for this comfort & that comfort and what not

But generally the quality of things are really going pretty bad; When you buy brand new it looks good, after a few months all the "wayang starts"  Even car tyres same thing also and batteries (call them non maintainence or what not) In the old days (about 30 years back) i only changed the car battery only like once in 10 years ; nowadays can last 2-3 years seems to be acceptable norm even with everyday daily use   

buying running shoes is like buying tyres for our rides.  Same buying techniques must be applied

OT liao...

But it was unscrupulous of the dealer to still be selling the old shoes (whether it's warehouse sale or not is secondary). According to Saucony USA, they recommend their dealers to leylong if a pair of shoes is not sold within 1.5 yr, cos effectively left ~1.5 yr of good use, after which they dun warranty it anymore (yes, they use the word warranty). 

They had offered to exchange it if it was within 3 yr of manufacture (maybe cos they cared for their reputation), but on checking (the date is found in the shoes) it was already ~5 yr when i complained. As the shoes gave way after about 9 mth of purchase (we father only wore it a few times before that), it means when the dealer sold it at the warehouse sale, it was already ~4 yr old, long after the 'expiry date'!

In the end the singapore dealer offered to glue it back for me, but the bloody glue was useless cos the rubber was disintegrating so can't stick - wasted my time.

So yes, since then, i've been a lot smarter when buying sports shoes - check manufacture date first, regardless of the price. 

I can already imagine the same unscrupulous dealer(s) still selling shoes at original (high) price when it's 1.5-2 year old, leaving the customer with barely a year of use...

i don't know exactly how different manufacturers code their shoes by the mfg date ; I have never bothered to find out too as I trust my sports seller quite well and I have exchanged once a latest New Balance shoes model (did it about 3 years back) and I complained that the old pair was much more comfortable than the new shoes. The new shoes "did not feel like itching to run at all" So I brought back the shoes to my usual guy and usual they will say mfg have no such negative feedback;  But they asked me to go to  NB shop in i12 in Katong and see what happens there and used the treadmill and they gauged something wrong with my gait /pronation.....etc which I said i have no issue wtih and exchanged it for the older model which was 2 years old but just like "made" a year back and even threw in a pair of free socks and refunded me some balance too and later I also checked the previews in overseas markets and many also complained about the cushioning .....etc. Because the dealer can do so much is he said I need to take it up with NB directly with his recommendation to them too look into the matter         

I always buy a few pairs of outgoing Saucony Kinvara on sales from US of A.  I have no problem running with the shoe up to 300km.

A lot of time, it is not quality of the product.  It is how it is stored locally.

.... and alot  of luck too...... some are lucky and some are not ....... depends on the terrain and use .... too many composite materials are created at break neck speed all in the name of technology for speed and comfort..... 

Edited by BanCoe

Waaaa.. must recomm ur cable ties to smrt n hdb now!! Lol..

Actually, I learn from smrt.

If it's good enough for them, it's good enough for me. [laugh]

.... and alot  of luck too...... some are lucky and some are not ....... depends on the terrain and use .... too many composite materials are created at break neck speed all in the name of technology for speed and comfort..... 

I am wearing the pair i bought in April 2014.  As usual, i could clocked up to 300km without any problem.

It is not about luck.  It is about how it is stored.

Why all the fuss?

Nothing a bit of super glue won't solve.

Yeah but that's what it looks like they used in the first place and it must have been the cheap super glue  from those cheapo shops in town centers.

So, in whose court is the ball in now? HDB or TC? Or if it the residents fault again for not trying the cable ties ? Lol...

If it's like HDB or TC at our block they'll pass it back and forth for months before off loading it to someone else.

Maybe weather forcasters for not providing the right weather or the Indons because of the haze.

Actually it's the fault of the sun.

If the sun didn't shine, then there wouldn't be a need for sunshade.

So if there is no sunshade then there is nothing to fall.

So blame it on the sun.

Come clean? If they need to come clean, then many outstanding issues also need to come clean liao, like the train hairline, constant breakdown and now this sunshade. But so far no satisfactory explaining have been explain so far.

Bro. So sorry to correct you. They did gave a satisfactory explanation to explain so far. It is satisfactory because they are satisfied with their own explanation. People feel there is no satisfactory explanation, not because there is no explanation but just that many don't buy (accept) the reason/s given.

I simply cannot understand why so many, and time and time again (already 50 years), people keep asking them to come clean. At each and every general election, the ruling party is given the mandate to continue what they have had been doing. So we need to stop complaining and ask ourselves ..... shouldn't we come clean with our own conscious.  We, with our hands and pen, created this/these situation/s. We should respect the overwhelming majority decision/wishes.

For me, at the end of the day, each of us have to carry the burden of our responsibility on who or what we choose. No number of cable ties are going to help us.

I am still using an old old old National brand fridge . Remember this was bought new when I was in primary school. That's almost 30 years ago

Feel really bad and sorry for your fridge. You want to retire on time so does the fridge. What you do, keep pushing the goal post or keep changing the goal post retirement position for the fridge.

the only 'positive ' news about this incident is that the fallen off sun shade was 'tahan ' by the sun shade below and did not drop down and no one was hurt. 

many of out building have such sun shade feature, are they all the same type of design ? looks like just ' stick / paste ' onto the exterior of the building. 

Exactly if you look closely at the area where it broke off I cannot see any re-bars !!!

These are classified as cantilevers and should have rebars to hold the to the main structure/building.

So, in whose court is the ball in now? HDB or TC? Or if it the residents fault again for not trying the cable ties ? Lol...

Both will meet together, run through the checklist from top to bottom.

See who's the weakest link and he gets the blame.

The way I see it, both HDB and TC will be free of any blame, even when some unfortunate souls got crushed by it. They'll tell you no blame culture.

Then ...

Blame on the architect or draftsman

Blame on the skills of the bangala

Blame on the bonding material

Blame on the birds for resting and shitting on it

Blame on the company that bidded for it

Blame on the software used to design the sunshade

Blame on the calculator and produced the wrong load calculations

Blame on the high price of steel, so have to minimise the use on more longer re-bar

Blame on the site supervisor

Blame on the site engineer

Blame on the bangala workers who installed it.

Blame on the pre-cast company for not building according to specifications coz it is 10 grams heavier than designed

Blame on the kaypoh witnesses for creating panic

Blame the weather for hot and cold climate

Blame on wrong colour of paint used

Blame on the pilots taking off and landing at Changi Airport for causing the vibrations

Blame on the opposition for not working hard enough to win the ward. Then can openly declare they never do proper maintenance

Blame on the residents for not voting opposition in.

Blame on the resident for not informing <whichever gov agencies> when cracks appeared

Blame on the resident again for unauthorised fixtures on internal wall. The drilling caused vibrations and loosen the sunshade.

Blame on the residents for making such a big whooha

Blame on the residents for complaining west sun getting to their unit and ask for the sunshade

Blame on the residents who voted for the IUP

Blame on the residents who make noise when drilling is done

And the last, blame on the resident again for staying in that unit.

Pick any few of the above.

Case closed. Scrapgoat found.

Exactly if you look closely at the area where it broke off I cannot see any re-bars !!!

These are classified as cantilevers and should have rebars to hold the to the main structure/building.

Yup.

So not only the contractor to blame but the Supervisor as well who must some where have signed it off.

They better quickly check all the other sunshades because I find it hard to believe that this is the only one without the reinforcement.

Both will meet together, run through the checklist from top to bottom.

See who's the weakest link and he gets the blame.

The way I see it, both HDB and TC will be free of any blame, even when some unfortunate souls got crushed by it. They'll tell you no blame culture.

Then ...

Blame on the architect or draftsman

Blame on the skills of the bangala

Blame on the bonding material

Blame on the birds for resting and shitting on it

Blame on the company that bidded for it

Blame on the software used to design the sunshade

Blame on the calculator and produced the wrong load calculations

Blame on the high price of steel, so have to minimise the use on more longer re-bar

Blame on the site supervisor

Blame on the site engineer

Blame on the bangala workers who installed it.

Blame on the pre-cast company for not building according to specifications coz it is 10 grams heavier than designed

Blame on the kaypoh witnesses for creating panic

Blame the weather for hot and cold climate

Blame on wrong colour of paint used

Blame on the pilots taking off and landing at Changi Airport for causing the vibrations

Blame on the opposition for not working hard enough to win the ward. Then can openly declare they never do proper maintenance

Blame on the residents for not voting opposition in.

Blame on the resident for not informing <whichever gov agencies> when cracks appeared

Blame on the resident again for unauthorised fixtures on internal wall. The drilling caused vibrations and loosen the sunshade.

Blame on the residents for making such a big whooha

Blame on the residents for complaining west sun getting to their unit and ask for the sunshade

Blame on the residents who voted for the IUP

Blame on the residents who make noise when drilling is done

And the last, blame on the resident again for staying in that unit.

Pick any few of the above.

Case closed. Scrapgoat found.

Blame it on AHTC

after seeing this ... i'm worry for all the new development GIGANTIC balcony ...

can they hold up ... especially those in 20-30-40 floors? [sly][sweatdrop]

Not only the giant balconies....the MCE tunnel under reclaimed and the massive number of buildings on reclaimed land is always a concern. We don't really know enough about how much load reclaimed land can take when a strong earthquake in Sumatra strikes.  Good luck to us when that happens. All the authorities can say will be    "act of god" .....

Buy from SAF e-mart safest. Got dates!

i don't know exactly how different manufacturers code their shoes by the mfg date ; I have never bothered to find out too as I trust my sports seller quite well and I have exchanged once a latest New Balance shoes model (did it about 3 years back) and I complained that the old pair was much more comfortable than the new shoes. The new shoes "did not feel like itching to run at all" So I brought back the shoes to my usual guy and usual they will say mfg have no such negative feedback;  But they asked me to go to  NB shop in i12 in Katong and see what happens there and used the treadmill and they gauged something wrong with my gait /pronation.....etc which I said i have no issue wtih and exchanged it for the older model which was 2 years old but just like "made" a year back and even threw in a pair of free socks and refunded me some balance too and later I also checked the previews in overseas markets and many also complained about the cushioning .....etc. Because the dealer can do so much is he said I need to take it up with NB directly with his recommendation to them too look into the matter         

Buy from SAF e-mart safest. Got dates!

Yes. For those that just want a pair of sports shoes and don't really care about the brand, this is the cheapest option. Speaking of emart, their online stall has been down for months. Wtf are they doing?

Yup.

So not only the contractor to blame but the Supervisor as well who must some where have signed it off.

They better quickly check all the other sunshades because I find it hard to believe that this is the only one without the reinforcement.

Would those whom signed off (since someone said that the block is like 30 years old) be still around in this world today?? Even if he is,  he might be holding a PG card by now .

Blame on (the lack of) consumer protection laws in Singapore. Old stock are cleared out very quickly in the US, those that cannot be cleared are exported to Asia where warranty is not warranted .. [laugh]

I think the old stocks are those left on the shelves here in the IMMs, Takas, Vivos, etc. or in the warehouse of the distributor, then after >2-3 yr they still sell...

got authorities to check on expired food, but no equivalent to check on this type of expiring/expired merchandise...

wah, serious sportsman or very rich man spotted  [laugh]

My most expensive (taking in account inflation) pair of jogging shoes is probably a pair of Brooks Chariot i bought >2 decades ago at offer price of $49. Had won a few IPPT awards wearing it so ROI was decent  [:p]

Had always hunted for bargains so even recent years only bought shoes around $50-70 max. No dedicated sports seller and I'm sure they won't entertain complaints about comfort etc...

Oh, on the mfg date, only selected (established) brands include it. It's found on the 'tongue' of the shoes, hidden among the 'Made in xxx', and other dunno what rubbish wordings.