Tampines Roof Sunshade collapse

My comments:

(a) Why TC was asked to be responsible is puzzling because HDB should be the one checking their own site records and also to check on other blocks built under the same contract with such sunshades. Thereafter check other contracts in the same precinct.

(b) The main contractor, HDB QP (C&S), SE and COWs then responsible for approving the works will likely be questioned in the investigation of this incident.   

Troubling as there were a spate of such incidents happening lately e.g. row of a/c ledge supporting compressors collapsed not too long ago, a HDB façade fell off its mounting & a HDB shelter collapsed after being knocked by a lorry. 

Remember when there was a outcry when the govt said that if you found unexploded bombs, you must ownself make arrangements to remove it? They later U Turn and say that just inform police.

Hopefully same will happen, its senseless to say TC ownself settle.

Don't be surprised if they were ripped off.

I think it's properly the nuts that were ripped off.

The bolts remained buried in the ground.

Bolts maybe from China. No kidding, in the early days when my old company first used them, they were well known for skimping on alloys. If the bolts were same batch, all will have same weakness. Those who happily accepted cheaper china-made alternatives in the early 2000s will have same stories.

I feel we should do a full investigation how this happen. Then trace back who is responsible for this installation and people certifying it.

Then look at buildings with similar installation and get to the bottom. Don't wait for accident to happen. This is not wear and tear.

HDB flats were build to last 99 yrs....

So.........

ten years, sprawling ceiling concrete drop...

thirty years, sun-shade drop.....

sixty years, retaining wall drop....

ninety years, everything drops ... [knife]

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

Bolts maybe from China. No kidding, in the early days when my old company first used them, they were well known for skimping on alloys. If the bolts were same batch, all will have same weakness. Those who happily accepted cheaper china-made alternatives in the early 2000s will have same stories.

Yeap, possible usage of cheap bolts that don't meet the strength required.

But I don't pretend to know the building industry. [:p]

Nowadays everything is about low cost, you just don't know how many use "shoddy" material.

Don't be surprised if they were ripped off.

I think it's properly the nuts that were ripped off.

The bolts remained buried in the ground.

i dun think its possible the bolt remain in the ground ??  from the photo the plate seem intact

for the plate to remain intact and bolt to struck in the ground, mean the 4 bolt, the head got to physically pull out.

i not pro dun know the exact term, ( if u can picture wat i mean )

high chance they put wrong size, or never even put?? lol

even if china make bolt quality got bad until that bad meh?

i dun think its possible the bolt remain in the ground ?? from the photo the plate seem intact

for the plate to remain intact and bolt to struck in the ground, mean the 4 bolt, the head got to physically pull out.

Anchor bolts are mounted on the ground, so the male threads are facing up, the thing holding on to the base plate are the nuts. Usually for lamp post I see they put 2 nuts to secure each bolt though.

The head you referring to is the hexagonal head right? Anchor bolts doesn't have them.

i dun think its possible the bolt remain in the ground ??  from the photo the plate seem intact

My observation is that most outdoor structures have the bolts in the ground.

It's like an inverted bolt with the head on the ground and the threaded portion sticking out.

However, I do not if they are regular bolts with head or just threaded studs sticking out.

The structure with the mounting holes are then placed over the threaded portion and the nuts placed over them to lock them down.

So in case of falling structure, the first thing it pulls out is probably the nuts, and this is due to leverage.

Acting as a giant lever, it will pull out whatever is holding it down.

very worrying nowadays stuffs aren't lasting or even fail earlier than expected, from appliances to machines to residences.

thinking how lasting my next ride will be before repairs...

Not true actually... There are still products that are quite lasting. Just take for example, my house washing machine already used for 7 yrs and still going strong. My house aircon used for about 5yrs plus, aircon still very cold. Oh Ya about the toilet bowl, used for more then 15yrs still work very well, the toilet bowl still feel very solid. The only thing that we changed is the flashing button.

Of coz I also had bought item that is not lasting, just give an example, the previous washing machine only last for 2yrs and spoil lao, so bought new one which as above mentioned last about 7yrs already.

Edited by Yewheng

Dear residents,

As this incident happened in a white-coloured GRC, we are pleased to announce that the NBC (No Blame Culture) clause is now in effect immediately. As such, you may be happy to know that there is no action required on your part to follow up on any matters relating to accountability since there is none to begin with.

Thank you for your kindest attention.

Yours sincerely,

Tampenis Town Council

13i12t.jpg

Edited by Jellandross

Chances are it shear off nicely such that it is flushed with the wall surface.. can't tell from the picture though..

Cannot be no anchor bolts.. i used to be in the construction industry.. even temporary steel structures, the various govt agencies will ask for anchor bolts along with all the calculations endorsed by Civil PE.. Let alone permanent structures like the shelter 

Thanks, Then someone must come clean, for both the shelters and the sun shard now.. somewhere something is not adding up.. If the contractor already kaput, will HDB be the party to carry the responsibility now? I think HDB is the principal for the flats and the contractor is just merely building it to HDB specs and HDB will do user acceptance checks before release to the public? Sorry, noob engrg ques again.... [lipsrsealed]

Come clean? If they need to come clean, then many outstanding issues also need to come clean liao, like the train hairline, constant breakdown and now this sunshade. But so far no satisfactory explaining have been explain so far.

Not true actually... There are still products that are quite lasting. Just take for example, my house washing machine already used for 7 yrs and still going strong. My house aircon used for about 5yrs plus, aircon still very cold. Oh Ya about the toilet bowl, used for more then 15yrs still work very well, the toilet bowl still feel very solid. The only thing that we changed is the flashing button.

Of coz I also had bought item that is not lasting, just give an example, the previous washing machine only last for 2yrs and spoil lao, so bought new one which as above mentioned last about 7yrs already.

I am still using an old old old National brand fridge . Remember this was bought new when I was in primary school. That's almost 30 years ago

You have a 30 years old fridge and still running well?  :o

yep. still running well . a green colored , metal piece of eyesore. but still freezing cold

oh well, sun shade designed and installed 30 years ago. Looks like a part of the gt wall of china.14409616_10154088327197572_2857668801949

This "Art" piece is worth to preserve as an icon to showcase & remind 'workmanship' is important ..... [sly]

Should placed at our National Museum ... [thumbsup]