leeys 1st Gear September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 Hi guys,First time car owner here,my car is a 9 year old toyota corolla fielder,its a opc car with 34k mileageTrying to check my timing belt,I saw that on tbe internet that a timing belt is black color but this belt looks brown colorWould like to get your advice if this is my timing belt? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leeys 1st Gear September 25, 2016 Author Share September 25, 2016 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 no Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 Timing belt is inside the engine, usually covered by a plastic box. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 Timing belt is inside the engine, usually covered by a plastic box.I did a quick Googling it seems the Fielder has timing chain instead of belt. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leeys 1st Gear September 25, 2016 Author Share September 25, 2016 (edited) I did a quick Googling it seems the Fielder has timing chain instead of belt. My fielder is a 2007 one,i am not sure if its belt or chain Edited September 25, 2016 by leeys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 That one you show is serpentine belt. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leeys 1st Gear September 25, 2016 Author Share September 25, 2016 That one you show is serpentine belt.Ah i suspected it was serpentine belt,as i couldnt find any teeth on the inside and it doesnt seem like a timing belt any idea if i could check my fielder is timing belt or chain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 1NZ engine on timing chain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 Since 2000, Toyota on Chain lor. I did a quick Googlingit seems the Fielder has timing chain instead of belt. No need to worry de. Chain will out last the car lor As for the Sepertine belt photo you shown, check for breakage every 100kkm. or Now and then when free. Change if necessary I ownself change at about 150kkm lor ...... no breakage .......... For the stake for cheap DIY. Hi guys,First time car owner here,my car is a 9 year old toyota corolla fielder,its a opc car with 34k mileageTrying to check my timing belt,I saw that on tbe internet that a timing belt is black color but this belt looks brown colorWould like to get your advice if this is my timing belt? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leeys 1st Gear September 25, 2016 Author Share September 25, 2016 1NZ engine on timing chain.my car engine is VVT-I Since 2000, Toyota on Chain lor. No need to worry de. Chain will out last the car lor As for the Sepertine belt photo you shown, check for breakage every 100kkm. or Now and then when free. Change if necessary I ownself change at about 150kkm lor ...... no breakage .......... For the stake for cheap DIY. That means its safe to assume my 2007 fielder is a timing chain? I really hope its a timing chain,timing belt seems really troublesome Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 only 34k mileage, dont bother lah 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leeys 1st Gear September 25, 2016 Author Share September 25, 2016 (edited) only 34k mileage, dont bother lah Yup,just want to be safe Actually I did some research it seems that 1998 Corolla onwards,all Corolla uses timing chain But I am afraid if that applies to fielder also? Edited September 25, 2016 by leeys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 Yes. Should be ......Their engine have no fancy name ...... only model number like NZZ FEZZ ...... The last time my timing belt broke, on expressway, is 1998 lor. Lucky the valve never got in the way of the piston ..... a Fiat. Borneo Motors SE always like to say then ...... Chain Timing ..... AND bonus ...... No engine break in required. You can floor the engine immediate collect new car ..... sure bo ?? Never try ....... Now all like chain already. Kia, Hyundai .... 2005 1.8L onwards. my car engine is VVT-IThat means its safe to assume my 2007 fielder is a timing chain?I really hope its a timing chain,timing belt seems really troublesome Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leeys 1st Gear September 25, 2016 Author Share September 25, 2016 Thanks Apple and everyone's help,So glad its a timing chain,Less trouble for me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buadongdong Twincharged September 26, 2016 Share September 26, 2016 Wah TS, how did you only managed 34k km in the entire 9yrs you own it? Seems a bit wasted leh.. 9 yrs but most of the time left parking in CP. Most pple hit that figure within 2 yrs wor!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged September 26, 2016 Share September 26, 2016 Wah TS, how did you only managed 34k km in the entire 9yrs you own it? Seems a bit wasted leh.. 9 yrs but most of the time left parking in CP. Most pple hit that figure within 2 yrs wor!! car was probably used to run local errands at the owner's own estate. or is it the case of the odo finishing one cycle and now on the second cycle?!? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
leeys 1st Gear September 26, 2016 Author Share September 26, 2016 Wah TS, how did you only managed 34k km in the entire 9yrs you own it? Seems a bit wasted leh.. 9 yrs but most of the time left parking in CP. Most pple hit that figure within 2 yrs wor!!Brought it from my friend,he rarely drives it,mostly on weekends,only go malaysia once or twice a year car was probably used to run local errands at the owner's own estate. or is it the case of the odo finishing one cycle and now on the second cycle?!? haha no la,odo has never been changed before ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...