Recommend a book to a fellow reader

Lala81

On 9/22/2016 at 6:57 AM, Lala81 said:

@Tianmo 's version will have a lot of  .... ..... .. ..... ... ... not worth the $ to print  [:p]

Dont worry................I will set up a "panel" to read through..........investigate...........audit..........correct..............remove...........do whatever necessary before we send for printing............... [laugh]  [laugh] 

but hor...................with all those "......................"..............it makes the book thicker.............gives the impression that is value for money............. [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]  

On 9/23/2016 at 12:50 AM, Mason016 said:

I started flipping through Tintin, and Asterix and Obelix in secondary school!  Sad ah!  I LOVE Asterix, Obelix and Getafix.  [thumbsup]

Shucks I feel old! :a-happy:  [laugh]

these are classics.

I have the PDFs/JPEG files somewhere in my old pc.

I started flipping through Tintin, and Asterix and Obelix in secondary school!  Sad ah!  I LOVE Asterix, Obelix and Getafix.  [thumbsup]

I have love to read asterix and tintin as well ... (i bought them all when I started working).

Nobody reads Michael Crichton?  it's a pity he passed on in year 2008.

He has an alternate pen name " John Lange" which he uses when he was younger  and if you are interested , the books under his pen name can be found in our libraries.

On 9/22/2016 at 2:30 PM, Blueray said:

oh, actually I did not know of Jack Reacher books until the movie. Too bad no Rosamund Pike in Part 2.

for eg .... Harold Robbins ? [:p]

No leh, like famous 5, secret 7, singapore ghost stories etc :D

Black beauty is an excellent read, still remember until now must have read it at least 3 times

On 9/23/2016 at 2:52 AM, Pinobii said:

Black beauty is an excellent read, still remember until now must have read it at least 3 times

Black beauty i have this quite beautifully illustrated picture book. 

Robinson Crusoe also.

On 9/23/2016 at 2:52 AM, Pinobii said:

Hmm? No Alfred Hitchcock and the three investigators?

6939.jpg

hahah yeah, i was trying to recall what this series was called!

On 9/23/2016 at 3:13 AM, Mason016 said:

6939.jpg

On 9/23/2016 at 3:24 AM, Lala81 said:

hahah yeah, i was trying to recall what this series was called!

Written on the cover.. 'The 3 investigator'  I remember one character has a sci fi name, Jupiter Jones..

On 9/23/2016 at 3:58 AM, Ender said:

Written on the cover.. 'The 3 investigator'  I remember one character has a sci fi name, Jupiter Jones..

haha i meant i was trying to recall the "3 xxxxxxx" after pinobii mentioned secret seven, famous five.

I knew there was another such mystery series  [;)]

On 9/23/2016 at 4:59 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

瓊瑤 all very mushy. 三毛 more philosophy.

But i do watch some of the 瓊瑤 drama series. Lol.

On 9/23/2016 at 6:22 AM, 13177 said:

But i do watch some of the 瓊瑤 drama series. Lol.

horrors of all horrors  [shocked]  :wacko:  [dead]

last time only 1 tv set in the house, i usually will do something else while my sis and my parents watch

6939.jpg

Ah...forgot about this title but do rem this picture, keke

Was a bookworm last time, love reading

On 9/23/2016 at 6:25 AM, Lala81 said:

horrors of all horrors  [shocked]  :wacko:  [dead]

last time only 1 tv set in the house, i usually will do something else while my sis and my parents watch

You mean 瓊瑤 drama is horrors? Lol.

You must have grown up to be a fine connoisseur of lines and curves.   [laugh]

I read those too! No money to buy last time so I read them at bookstores. Sometimes borrow from library too but difficult to find coz always out on loan.

On 9/23/2016 at 2:45 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Your favorite this one ? [laugh] [laugh]

20121025152209_42748.jpg

Just like 古龙, 瓊瑤 story books cannot read too much.

6939.jpg

What hardy boys lah, famous five, secret 7 lah, all these are our usual favourites last time. 

What you like to read is quite personal.

I like Michael Connelly and John Connolly,

Read them all.

Then Lee Child is great.

And if you like historic sailing war novels then Patrick O'Brien.

All those 4 authors do series and all are in the libraries here.

As are the Bernard Cornwell 'Sharpe' novels.

Mind you you have to have spare time. [laugh]

On 9/26/2016 at 1:21 AM, Blueray said:

I read the first 3 and then stopped. Felt the story was getting too complicated for simple young me then. 

Pretty boring actually. The first book was still good enough to wade through. The rest i won't bother.

On 9/24/2016 at 9:16 PM, Neutrino said:

What you like to read is quite personal.

I like Michael Connelly and John Connolly,

Read them all.

Then Lee Child is great.

And if you like historic sailing war novels then Patrick O'Brien.

All those 4 authors do series and all are in the libraries here.

As are the Bernard Cornwell 'Sharpe' novels.

Mind you you have to have spare time. [laugh]

Waiting for book 23 from lee child.